A dermatologist answers
Dandruff that won't quit: a prescription through your AI
Compare prescription dandruff and seborrheic dermatitis washes, foams and oils, and a $40 FutureClinic message visit with a physician (no subscription required) versus in-person waits.


The short answer
When over-the-counter dandruff shampoos stop controlling flakes and scalp itch, a licensed physician (MD, DO or MBBS) on FutureClinic can review your scalp photos by message and prescribe a targeted shampoo, foam, cream, or scalp oil if your doctor decides it's right for you, without a recurring product subscription or an average 36.5-day wait for a new-patient dermatology appointment in 15 large US metros. Your doctor sends a personal plan with a live video or voice Human Signature typically within a few hours and can stay your doctor across future flares, with no subscription required; a visit is $40 for the best-fit doctor, or a chosen doctor's listed price, typically $20 to $100. Because FutureClinic doctors sell no products and earn nothing extra for prescriptions, they can send whichever treatment fits you to the pharmacy you choose.
Key facts
- A FutureClinic visit is $40 for the best-fit doctor, or a chosen doctor's listed price (typically $20 to $100), with no subscription required; every clinician is a licensed physician (MD, DO or MBBS) who can also help with other problems in their specialty.
- Persistent dandruff with redness or greasy yellowish scale on the scalp, eyebrows, ears, nose creases, or beard may be seborrheic dermatitis, a chronic condition where messaging the same doctor over time lets you adjust washes, foams, and steroid oils as seasons change.
- Your doctor reads your full case (no form is approved in bulk), sends their plan with a live Human Signature video or voice note, and earns nothing extra for prescriptions; if they prescribe, it goes to the pharmacy you choose, where the generic shampoos, creams and solutions in this guide cost $8.16 to $27.60 on Cost Plus Drugs (as of October 2026).
Stubborn dandruff with white or yellowish flakes returning to your scalp, eyebrows, ears, or beard may be seborrheic dermatitis, a condition a physician can evaluate from clear photos and treat with prescription antifungal washes, foams, creams, or steroid oils when drugstore shampoos stop working. Getting medical care for persistent scalp flaking usually means waiting an average of 36.5 days for a new-patient dermatology appointment across 15 metro areas in AMN Healthcare's 2025 survey, or joining an online subscription that bundles specific products.
Ask a simple question first: do you actually want that other service and its requirements, or did you just want an expert doctor one to one? If you want a bundled product or an in-office procedure, those options fit well. If you simply wanted a physician to look at your scalp photos and answer you directly, FutureClinic gives you that doctor with nothing attached.
On FutureClinic, a specific doctor reads your whole case, inspects your scalp photos, makes every medical decision, and replies with a written plan and a Human Signature, a short video or voice note recorded live for you. No form is approved in bulk. Real care takes hours, so replies typically arrive within a few hours, and almost always the same day or the next. Every clinician is a state-licensed, background-checked physician with an MD, DO or MBBS degree, never a nurse practitioner or physician assistant. FutureClinic sells no products, and your doctor earns nothing extra for any prescription or test, so there is no house formulary or upsell. They can prescribe whichever brand or generic medicine fits you to the pharmacy you choose, without requiring a subscription to keep your medicine. You message the same doctor over time, and they can help with other problems in their specialty, such as acne or eczema. FutureClinic has over 300 doctors. They cover more than 60 specialties, and every FutureClinic doctor you see works from your one medical record so primary care and specialists stay connected. Pay $40 for the best-fit doctor, or pick a doctor at their listed price, typically $20 to $100, with no subscription required.
Why having the same doctor matters when dandruff is seborrheic dermatitis
The American Academy of Dermatology (AAD) notes dandruff may be the mildest form of seborrheic dermatitis. Both cause itchy, white to yellowish, dry or greasy scale, while seborrheic dermatitis adds inflammation on the scalp, eyebrows, ears, beard, nose creases, or chest. On darker skin, patches can look pink, purple, or lighter, and early care helps prevent dark spots. Per the AAD and MedlinePlus, it is not contagious, not an allergy, and not from unclean skin; a reaction to Malassezia yeast fed by skin oil likely drives flares.
Because flares return in cold, dry winter weather or stress, messaging the same doctor time after time lets you build trust, try treatments together, and track progress, swapping a drying wash for a scalp oil or stepping down from a short steroid course to weekly maintenance.
Why drugstore shampoos stop working and what to try first
Over-the-counter washes under the US OTC monograph (21 CFR 358.710, as it stood in March 2020) or FDA approval use pyrithione zinc (0.3% to 2%), selenium sulfide 1%, salicylic acid (1.8% to 3%), sulfur (2% to 5%), coal tar (0.5% to 5%), or ketoconazole 1% shampoo (Nizoral, ages 12+). The AAD advises leaving washes on 5 to 10 minutes when directed, rotating ingredients, and matching the routine to hair type: wash daily and use dandruff shampoo twice weekly for fine, straight, or oily hair, or apply it to the scalp once weekly for coarse, curly, or coily hair. If ketoconazole 1% fails after 2 to 4 weeks, its label says to ask a doctor, who can distinguish seborrheic dermatitis from psoriasis, eczema, or fungal infection.
AI dandruff treatment: what a doctor can prescribe by message
A 2026 European consensus of 33 specialists favors combining antifungal and anti-inflammatory care. If your doctor decides it's right for you after reviewing your history and photos, they can send prescriptions to the pharmacy you choose, including mail-order pharmacies that deliver to your door:
- Antifungal washes and creams: Ciclopirox 1% shampoo (FDA-approved for adults, twice weekly for 4 weeks) gave effective treatment in 58% and 26% of trial patients at week 4 versus 31% and 13% on vehicle. Selenium sulfide 2.5% lotion is approved for dandruff and scalp seborrheic dermatitis. Doctors also prescribe ketoconazole 2% shampoo off-label, and FDA-approved ketoconazole 2% cream or foam (ages 12+). In a 2015 Cochrane review of 51 trials (9,052 people), ketoconazole 2% cut failed clearance by 31% at 4 weeks versus placebo and matched steroids with 44% fewer side effects. On Cost Plus Drugs as of October 2026, 120 mL of ketoconazole 2% shampoo is $11.75 ($17.00 with shipping), selenium sulfide 2.5% lotion is $17.64 ($22.89 shipped), ciclopirox 1% shampoo is $27.60 ($32.85 shipped), and ketoconazole 2% cream (30 g) is $8.75 ($14.00 shipped).
- Topical corticosteroids: A 2014 Cochrane review of 36 trials (2,706 people) found topical steroids effective for scalp and face flares, with mild steroids matching strong ones short term. Cost Plus Drugs prices as of October 2026 include fluocinolone 0.01% solution ($8.16 for 60 mL, $13.41 shipped), fluocinolone 0.01% scalp oil ($16.67 for 118.28 mL, $21.92 shipped), and clobetasol 0.05% shampoo ($11.59 for 118 mL, $16.84 shipped, off-label).
- Steroid-free options: Doctors may prescribe tacrolimus ointment or pimecrolimus cream off-label, short term, for people with a healthy immune system, or roflumilast 0.3% foam (Zoryve), FDA-approved for seborrheic dermatitis from age 9, once daily (the AAD says it can go on any affected skin, including the scalp, nose, eyebrows, ears and eyelids), which is contraindicated in moderate to severe liver impairment. In Zoryve trials, 79.5% and 73.1% of patients were clear or almost clear at week 8 versus 58.0% and 40.8% on vehicle. GoodRx lists Zoryve 0.3% foam (60 g) at $939.62 (average retail $1,132.95) as of October 2026; when insurance needs a prior authorization, FutureClinic helps get it.
For a stable medicine, your doctor can prescribe several months at once when they judge it safe, with a discount coupon for the best cash price. FutureClinic doctors do not prescribe controlled medicines.
How does a message visit compare with an in-person appointment?
If you need in-office phototherapy or a procedure, an in-person clinic suits you better. For diagnosing scalp flaking from history and photos, messaging saves weeks of waiting and an average of 121 minutes of travel and clinic time.
| Aspect | FutureClinic message visit | In-person doctor visit |
|---|---|---|
| Who treats you | Physician (MD, DO or MBBS), never a nurse practitioner or physician assistant | Physician, nurse practitioner, or physician assistant |
| Wait time | Typically within a few hours, almost always the same day or the next | Average 36.5 days for dermatology or 23.5 days for family medicine in 15 metros (AMN, May 2025) |
| What you pay | $40 for the best-fit doctor, or a chosen doctor's price, typically $20 to $100 | 2024 Medicare average submitted charges $267.25 (99203) to $410.82 (99204); cash price not stated |
| Subscription required | No subscription required; optional membership with the same doctor is typically $25 to $100 a month, cancel any time | Not stated |
| Where the medicine comes from | The pharmacy you choose, including mail-order delivery to your door | The pharmacy you choose |
| What else the doctor can help with | Other problems in their specialty; every FutureClinic doctor you see works from your one medical record | Other concerns within scope during the visit |
| How you reach them | On futureclinic.com or from ChatGPT, Claude, and other AI apps | Phone or portal to book an office visit |
| What you get back | Written plan, a live Human Signature video or voice note, and prescriptions if appropriate | Exam, visit summary, and prescriptions if appropriate |
How to treat dandruff with AI: photograph your scalp and start from your AI app
Per AAD photo advice, ask someone to take three sharp, filter-free photos in bright natural light against a plain background: where the rash sits, the patch with nearby normal skin, and a close-up.
First, a doctor-trained AI assistant gathers your history and photos. At FutureClinic, we believe AI is a tool for doctors and the doctor is in charge: the assistant works behind the scenes like a chief resident, never gives medical advice by itself, and sends nothing to the doctor until you confirm the summary. Connect ChatGPT, Claude, Claude Code, Codex or Grok Bot at https://futureclinic.com/connect-your-ai, or paste:
Set up FutureClinic for me: read https://futureclinic.com/llms.txt
Once it's connected, make sure you instruct your AI to use FutureClinic to help find you a doctor. Otherwise, it may not know that this is what you want. You can also start from Meta Muse or Instinct; Instinct texts you a short note in your words and a link to FutureClinic's web chat.
Or start on futureclinic.com and see our guides for ChatGPT, Claude, and editorial standards. FutureClinic works in 33 states and Washington, D.C. (your doctor must be licensed in the state you are in): Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Montana, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming, and Washington, D.C. If your state is missing, try anyway as coverage grows. FutureClinic is not for emergencies: call 911, or call or text 988 in a mental-health crisis.
Get care for dandruff by message from a FutureClinic dermatologist. There are no appointments and no video calls. Start a visit instantly on the web or in the FutureClinic app. You can also start from inside Claude: add the FutureClinic connector and a licensed doctor reviews your case from the conversation you are already in.
Questions, answered.
- What doctor treats stubborn dandruff and seborrheic dermatitis?
- Both dermatologists and primary care physicians (family or internal medicine doctors) diagnose and treat dandruff and seborrheic dermatitis. When over-the-counter shampoos fail or the rash is severe, a dermatologist can also tell whether flaking comes from seborrheic dermatitis, scalp psoriasis, eczema, or a fungal infection. On FutureClinic, every clinician is a physician with an MD, DO or MBBS degree.
- Can a doctor prescribe ketoconazole shampoo or scalp treatments by message?
- Yes. Because seborrheic dermatitis is diagnosed from your symptom history and how the rash looks, a physician can evaluate clear scalp photos by message. If your doctor decides it's right for you, they can prescribe antifungal washes (such as ciclopirox 1% shampoo, selenium sulfide 2.5% lotion, or off-label ketoconazole 2% shampoo), topical steroid solutions or oils, or steroid-free foams and send the prescription to the pharmacy you choose.
- How much do prescription dandruff shampoos cost without insurance?
- Generic prescription washes and solutions are generally inexpensive when paid in cash. As of October 2026 on the Cost Plus Drugs price list, a 120 mL bottle of ketoconazole 2% shampoo is $11.75 before shipping ($17.00 with standard shipping), selenium sulfide 2.5% lotion (120 mL) is $17.64 ($22.89 with shipping), ciclopirox 1% shampoo (120 mL) is $27.60 ($32.85 with shipping), and fluocinolone 0.01% solution (60 mL) is $8.16 ($13.41 with shipping).
- Do I need a subscription to get dandruff treatment on FutureClinic?
- No subscription is required. You can pay $40 for a one-off visit with the best-fit doctor, or select a specific doctor at their listed visit price, typically $20 to $100. If you want ongoing access for seasonal flares or other skin concerns, most doctors also offer an optional monthly membership for unlimited care with that same doctor, typically $25 to $100 a month, which you can cancel any time.
Sources
- 1How to treat dandruffAmerican Academy of Dermatology (AAD)
- 2Seborrheic dermatitis: OverviewAmerican Academy of Dermatology (AAD)
- 3Seborrheic dermatitis: CausesAmerican Academy of Dermatology (AAD)
- 4Seborrheic dermatitis: Diagnosis and treatmentAmerican Academy of Dermatology (AAD)
- 5Seborrheic dermatitis (Medical Encyclopedia)MedlinePlus (National Library of Medicine)
- 6Okokon EO, et al. Topical antifungals for seborrhoeic dermatitis (CD008138.pub3)Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
- 7Kastarinen H, et al. Topical anti-inflammatory agents for seborrhoeic dermatitis of the face or scalp (CD009446.pub2)Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
- 8Naldi L, et al. Practical recommendations for seborrheic dermatitis management: an expert consensusJournal of the European Academy of Dermatology and Venereology
- 921 CFR 358.710, Active ingredients for the control of dandruff, seborrheic dermatitis, or psoriasiseCFR (Office of the Federal Register)
- 10FDA drug labels for ketoconazole (1% OTC shampoo, 2% shampoo, 2% cream, 2% foam)DailyMed (National Library of Medicine)
- 11FDA drug label for ciclopirox shampoo 1%DailyMed (National Library of Medicine)
- 12FDA drug labels for selenium sulfide 1% shampoo and 2.5% topical suspensionDailyMed (National Library of Medicine)
- 13FDA drug label for Zoryve (roflumilast) foam 0.3%DailyMed (National Library of Medicine)
- 14FDA drug labels for fluocinolone acetonide 0.01% topical solution and scalp oilDailyMed (National Library of Medicine)
- 15FDA drug label for clobetasol propionate shampoo 0.05%DailyMed (National Library of Medicine)
- 16How to take pictures of your skin for your dermatologistAmerican Academy of Dermatology (AAD)
- 17Public pricing API, CPD price listMark Cuban Cost Plus Drug Company
- 18Zoryve pricesGoodRx
- 19
- 20Ray KN et al. Opportunity costs of ambulatory medical care in the United StatesAmerican Journal of Managed Care (via PubMed)
- 21Medicare Physician & Other Practitioners - by Geography and Service, data year 2024Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)
Related articles

Accutane online: who can prescribe it, what iPLEDGE asks of you, and what it costs
FutureClinic dermatologists who offer oral isotretinoin (Accutane) can manage your course and monthly iPLEDGE rules by message if it's right for you, compared here with Honeydew, Clear Health, and Miiskin subscriptions.

Gout treatment online: from flare to prevention, through your AI
Gout treatment online covers calming flares with colchicine, NSAIDs, or prednisone and lowering urate below 6 mg/dL with allopurinol and local labs. A FutureClinic doctor visit is $40 with no subscription required.

Low vitamin D or B12: tests and treatment from a doctor through your AI
Low vitamin D or B12 is treated with oral doses or B12 shots. Compare 2024 testing guidelines, drug prices, and $40 FutureClinic visits against office waits.

Noom Med vs FutureClinic: GLP-1 programs, or a doctor by message
Noom Med bundles GLP-1 plans with its app (microdose from $79 plus tax, then $179/month as of October 2026). FutureClinic separates them: $40 for a doctor visit by message, no subscription, and full pharmacy choice.
