A dermatologist answers
Accutane online: who can prescribe it, what iPLEDGE asks of you, and what it costs
FutureClinic dermatologists who offer oral isotretinoin (Accutane) can manage your course and monthly iPLEDGE rules by message if it's right for you, compared here with Honeydew, Clear Health, and Miiskin subscriptions.


The short answer
On FutureClinic, dermatologists who offer oral isotretinoin (Accutane) online manage your course and iPLEDGE requirements by message, if they decide it's right for you, and include a Human Signature on your plan. With no subscription required, you can pay $40 for the best-fit doctor, pick a dermatologist at their listed price (typically $20 to $100), or, with most doctors, use an optional membership (typically $25 to $100 a month, cancel any time) with the same doctor. Services like Clear Health or Honeydew are a strong option if you want bundled micro-dose medicine or a company's compounded topical formula, whereas FutureClinic connects you with a dermatologist with nothing attached.
Key facts
- Approved for severe recalcitrant nodular acne after conventional therapy fails, an oral isotretinoin course typically runs four to five months with 30-day dermatologist check-ins; as of October 2026, online Accutane subscriptions cost $50 to $64 a month at Honeydew, $59 a month at Clear Health, and $69 a month at Miiskin.
- On FutureClinic, oral isotretinoin is prescribed only by dermatologists (MD, DO or MBBS) who decide to offer it and manage iPLEDGE by message, and your plan comes with a Human Signature recorded for you by the same doctor.
- Under FDA iPLEDGE updates approved February 9, 2026 (starting November 15, 2026), monthly counseling documentation and the 30-day prescription window end for patients who cannot get pregnant, while FutureClinic visits cost $40 (or typically $20 to $100) and most doctors offer an optional membership, typically $25 to $100 a month.
Oral isotretinoin (Accutane) is the treatment dermatologists often consider when deep, painful acne persists after creams and oral antibiotics. Many online Accutane programs are built around multi-month subscriptions, while FutureClinic lets you message a dermatologist who offers isotretinoin without locking into a plan.
A specific doctor reads your whole case and answers with a Human Signature, a short video or voice note recorded live for you. No form is approved in bulk.
On FutureClinic, oral isotretinoin is prescribed only by dermatologists, and each decides whether to offer it. Those who do manage your course and iPLEDGE by message, if your doctor decides it's right for you. You keep the same doctor over time, and they can help with other problems in their specialty, like rosacea, eczema, or hair loss. You can also see FutureClinic specialists in other fields, and every FutureClinic doctor you see works from one medical record.
What does having the same doctor over months mean for Accutane?
The American Academy of Dermatology (AAD) states that isotretinoin patients see their dermatologist every 30 days, in person or by telemedicine, across a four-to-five-month course. Messaging the same doctor time after time, however long in between, builds trust and lets you try treatments together and track progress:
- Stepping up care: If you need conventional therapy first, the same doctor can start a topical retinoid with benzoyl peroxide, add an oral antibiotic alongside a topical treatment, swap a cream that irritates, or add a second product if there is no improvement after four to six weeks.
- Adjusting doses and labs: On isotretinoin, if your doctor decides it's right for you, your dermatologist compares monthly photos, adjusts your weight-based dose, and reads lipids and liver tests against baseline.
Your doctor's only incentive is to help you. FutureClinic sells no medicine, and your doctor earns nothing extra for any prescription or test, so they never upsell a medicine or lab panel. You never stay subscribed to keep your medicine, and they can prescribe any brand or generic medicine to the pharmacy you choose, with no house formulary (controlled medicines excepted).
Who can prescribe Accutane online and when is it used?
Per the Absorica (isotretinoin) label updated August 2026, oral isotretinoin is approved for severe recalcitrant nodular acne in non-pregnant patients 12 and older after conventional therapy, including oral antibiotics, fails. The AAD says deep, painful, or scarring acne needs a dermatologist.
At FutureClinic, care comes from physicians only (MD, DO or MBBS), state-licensed and background-checked; never a nurse practitioner or physician assistant. FutureClinic has over 300 doctors. They span more than 60 specialties. Only FutureClinic dermatologists prescribe isotretinoin, and each decides whether to offer it.
How online skin services staff care, as of October 2026:
- Honeydew: FAQ lists "licensed dermatologists, dermatology physician assistants, or dermatology nurse practitioners."
- Clear Health: FAQ says "only board-certified dermatologists practice on our platform, not NPs or PAs," and "at times you might be evaluated by a different dermatologist."
- Miiskin: Independent, board-certified dermatologists (FAQ says two prescribe isotretinoin; Accutane page names four).
- Curology and Nurx: No oral isotretinoin.
What iPLEDGE asks of you each month
FutureClinic doctors do not prescribe controlled medicines (stimulants, benzodiazepines, opioids, testosterone, phentermine). Oral isotretinoin is not controlled (DailyMed: "DEA Schedule: None"), and because its boxed warning cites life-threatening birth defects, all FDA-approved isotretinoin products use the iPLEDGE REMS program. When a dermatologist manages isotretinoin by message, if your doctor decides it's right for you, iPLEDGE and label rules cover:
- Dosing: Absorica's label lists 0.5 to 1 mg/kg/day for 15 to 20 weeks (AAD: four to five months; clearance can be permanent for some; a second course waits at least eight weeks).
- Labs: Absorica's label requires baseline fasting lipids and liver tests. FutureClinic doctors order labs at discounted prices.
- Pregnancy tests: The FDA requires pre-treatment tests in a medical setting, and since October 2023 allows home tests during and after treatment if the prescriber agrees (as of October 2026, Honeydew requires two at a lab/office first; Miiskin requires one in a clinic).
- Monthly check-ins: Under FDA changes approved February 9, 2026 (starting November 15, 2026), monthly counseling documentation and the 30-day prescription window end for patients who cannot get pregnant.
What online Accutane costs: FutureClinic vs Honeydew, Clear Health, and Miiskin
FutureClinic has no subscription required. Pay $40 for the best-fit doctor, or pick a dermatologist at their listed price, typically $20 to $100. Most FutureClinic doctors also offer an optional membership, typically $25 to $100 a month for unlimited care with that doctor, cancel any time (a one-off visit fee counts toward a membership if you join after).
For a stable non-isotretinoin medicine, a low monthly fee elsewhere assumes you stay subscribed to keep getting refills. On FutureClinic, your doctor can prescribe several months of a stable medicine at once when they judge it safe, to the pharmacy you choose (including mail-order pharmacies that deliver to your door), with a cash discount coupon or through your pharmacy insurance, plus prior authorization help. On Cost Plus Drugs as of October 2026 (plus $5.25 shipping), tretinoin 0.025% cream (20 g) is $14.17 and doxycycline hyclate 100 mg (30 tablets) is $6.60.
Competitor isotretinoin prices as of October 2026:
- Honeydew: Free first consult; Accutane Membership $64/month (three-month minimum; $26 penalty), $57/month ($229/four months), or $50/month annually ($299/year plus $25/month). Medicine and labs extra: cash $30 to $50/box (FAQ: ~$65), or as low as $0 with insurance.
- Clear Health: Standard Accutane $59/month or $275/six months (includes month one's medicine); micro-dose $59 month one then $115/month with medicine; topical Isoclear needs no iPLEDGE.
- Miiskin: $69/month subscription; medicine, labs, and pregnancy tests extra.
Where another service suits you better: Honeydew offers video visits within 48 hours and a $25/month Basic annual plan ($299/year) for non-Accutane care, and Clear Health and Honeydew offer compounded formulas or bundled micro-dose pricing. On FutureClinic, your doctor replies typically within a few hours, almost always the same day or the next, because real care takes hours, not seconds.
Before choosing a program, ask yourself: did you want an online Accutane subscription and its multi-month commitments, or did you simply want a dermatologist of your own to manage your course? When all you wanted was an expert physician with nothing attached, FutureClinic lets you message that same doctor with no subscription required.
| Feature | Honeydew | A dermatologist in person | FutureClinic |
|---|---|---|---|
| Who treats you | Dermatologists, PAs, or NPs | Dermatologist in office | Physicians only (MD, DO or MBBS); dermatologists only for isotretinoin |
| What you pay (as of October 2026) | Free 1st consult; Accutane $50-$64/mo; Basic $25-$39/mo; meds/labs extra | Not stated | $40 best-fit doctor, or listed price, typically $20 to $100; with most doctors, an optional membership, typically $25 to $100/mo |
| Subscription required? | Yes (3-mo min on monthly) | Not stated | No subscription required |
| Where the medicine comes from | Local or shipped; cash $30-$50/box (FAQ: ~$65), or as low as $0 with insurance | Not stated | The pharmacy you choose (local or mail-order), with coupon or insurance |
| What else the doctor can help with | Medical dermatology only | Office dermatology and procedures | Other problems in their specialty; every FutureClinic doctor you see works from your one medical record |
| How you reach them | Online form, photos, video | Office visits | By message on futureclinic.com or from your AI app |
| What you get back | Plan, iPLEDGE and prior auth help | Exam and plan | Plan from the same doctor with Human Signature, iPLEDGE and prior auth help |
Messaging a FutureClinic dermatologist about Accutane from your AI app
First, an AI assistant trained by your doctor asks about your history, medicines, past treatments, and photos (AAD tips: remove makeup, use bright natural light and a plain background with filters off, and take overview, comparison, and close-up shots). You confirm a summary before the doctor sees it.
At FutureClinic, we believe AI is a tool for doctors, and the doctor is in charge of every case. Most health problems have nuance and need one-to-one attention, and only an expert knows when an AI has made a mistake or is heading to the wrong answer. FutureClinic's AI works behind the scenes like a chief resident and never gives medical advice by itself.
FutureClinic works from the AI app you already use, including ChatGPT, Claude, Claude Code, Codex, Grok Bot, Meta Muse, and Instinct. Start on futureclinic.com in any browser, or visit https://futureclinic.com/connect-your-ai to start from your AI app, where you can also use this setup line:
Set up FutureClinic for me: read https://futureclinic.com/llms.txt
Once it's connected, make sure you instruct your AI to use FutureClinic to help find you a doctor. Otherwise, it may not know that this is what you want.
FutureClinic works in 33 states and Washington, D.C., with a doctor licensed in your state: Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Montana, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming, and Washington, D.C. If you don't see your state, try anyway.
FutureClinic is not for emergencies: call 911 in an emergency, or call or text 988 in a mental-health crisis.
Get care for acne by message from a FutureClinic dermatologist. There are no appointments and no video calls. Start a visit instantly on the web or in the FutureClinic app. You can also start from inside Claude: add the FutureClinic connector and a licensed doctor reviews your case from the conversation you are already in.
Questions, answered.
- Can any doctor on FutureClinic prescribe Accutane (isotretinoin)?
- No. While every clinician on FutureClinic is a licensed physician (MD, DO or MBBS), oral isotretinoin is prescribed only by dermatologists on FutureClinic, and each dermatologist decides whether to offer it. Those who do manage the full treatment and iPLEDGE requirements by message, if your doctor decides it's right for you.
- Can I use home pregnancy tests for iPLEDGE during online isotretinoin care?
- According to the FDA, pre-treatment pregnancy tests must be done in a medical setting such as a laboratory or doctor's office. Since October 2023, the FDA does not object to prescribers allowing home pregnancy tests during and after treatment.
- What changes in iPLEDGE on November 15, 2026?
- Under changes the FDA approved on February 9, 2026 and scheduled to begin on November 15, 2026, monthly counseling documentation and the strict 30-day prescription fill window end for patients who cannot become pregnant.
- Do I need a subscription on FutureClinic for monthly Accutane check-ins?
- No subscription is required on FutureClinic, and your doctor sells no medicine and earns nothing extra for any prescription or test. You can pay per visit ($40 for the best-fit doctor, or a chosen doctor's listed price, typically $20 to $100), or, with most doctors, join an optional membership with your dermatologist (typically $25 to $100 a month, cancel any time) for unlimited care with that same doctor during your course.
Sources
- 1Isotretinoin: OverviewAmerican Academy of Dermatology (AAD)
- 2Isotretinoin: FAQsAmerican Academy of Dermatology (AAD)
- 3
- 4Absorica / Absorica LD (isotretinoin) labelDailyMed (NLM)
- 5Adult acne treatment dermatologists recommendAmerican Academy of Dermatology (AAD)
- 6How to take pictures of your skin for your dermatologistAmerican Academy of Dermatology (AAD)
- 7Cost Plus Drugs pricing API price listMark Cuban Cost Plus Drug Company
- 8Honeydew PricingHoneydew
- 9Honeydew Accutane TreatmentHoneydew
- 10Honeydew FAQHoneydew
- 11Clear Health AccutaneClear Health
- 12
Related articles

Dandruff that won't quit: a prescription through your AI
Compare prescription dandruff and seborrheic dermatitis washes, foams and oils, and a $40 FutureClinic message visit with a physician (no subscription required) versus in-person waits.

Gout treatment online: from flare to prevention, through your AI
Gout treatment online covers calming flares with colchicine, NSAIDs, or prednisone and lowering urate below 6 mg/dL with allopurinol and local labs. A FutureClinic doctor visit is $40 with no subscription required.

Low vitamin D or B12: tests and treatment from a doctor through your AI
Low vitamin D or B12 is treated with oral doses or B12 shots. Compare 2024 testing guidelines, drug prices, and $40 FutureClinic visits against office waits.

Noom Med vs FutureClinic: GLP-1 programs, or a doctor by message
Noom Med bundles GLP-1 plans with its app (microdose from $79 plus tax, then $179/month as of October 2026). FutureClinic separates them: $40 for a doctor visit by message, no subscription, and full pharmacy choice.
