Your browser needs an update.

FutureClinic works in Chrome 111, Edge 111, Safari 16.4 and Firefox 128, or newer. Update your browser, or use the FutureClinic app.

Download on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

If you can't update, email help@futureclinic.com and we'll help.

A dermatologist answers

The best way to treat acne using AI in 2026

Your AI stops at the prescription pad. Then ask one question: do you want a monthly skincare bundle and its requirements, or a dermatologist directly, one to one, with nothing attached?

Dr. Usama Syed, MDReviewed October 2026 · 8 min read

The short answer

Once your AI app helps you organize a gentle drugstore routine, getting a prescription comes down to one question: do you want a monthly skincare subscription and everything attached to it, or do you want an expert doctor directly, one to one? If you want a company's custom compounded bottle or membership bundle, those services are a strong option; if you wanted a physician (MD, DO or MBBS) who reads your case, answers with a live recorded Human Signature typically within a few hours, and stays your same doctor over months with no subscription required, FutureClinic gives you that directly from your AI app. Your doctor earns nothing extra for any prescription or test and can send whichever brand or generic treatment fits you, from tretinoin or spironolactone to isotretinoin if a dermatologist offers it, to the pharmacy you choose.

Key facts

  • Ask whether you want a monthly skincare bundle and its requirements, or an expert physician (MD, DO or MBBS) one to one: if you want a company's compounded bottle, a subscription brand is a strong option, while FutureClinic connects your AI app directly to a doctor for $40 (or a chosen doctor's listed price, typically $20 to $100) with no subscription required.
  • Your FutureClinic plan includes a live recorded Human Signature, and you stay with the same doctor over months to adjust strengths, swap an irritating cream, or step up from topicals to spironolactone or oral antibiotics, and to isotretinoin for severe nodular acne that has not responded to them (where a dermatologist offers it), and every FutureClinic doctor you see works from one medical record.
  • Over-the-counter actives like benzoyl peroxide (starting at 2.5%), salicylic acid, adapalene 0.1%, and Differin Epiduo (approved over the counter in May 2026) take 6 to 8 weeks to show fewer breakouts, and when you need a prescription, generic tretinoin 0.025% cream is $14.17 and 90 tablets of spironolactone 50 mg is $8.04 on Cost Plus Drugs as of October 2026.

Asking ChatGPT or Claude to audit your cleanser and over-the-counter actives is a practical first step for breakouts, though your AI stops at the prescription pad. For prescription care, ask yourself: do you want another service and its requirements, or do you want a doctor directly, one to one?

If you want what another company sells beyond the doctor, like a custom compounded bottle or a subscription bundle, that service is a strong option. If you wanted an expert doctor directly with nothing attached, FutureClinic gives you that. Every clinician is a licensed physician with an MD, DO or MBBS degree, never a nurse practitioner or a physician assistant. A specific physician reads your history and skin photos, makes every medical decision, and includes a Human Signature with your plan: a short live video or voice note recorded for you. No form is approved in bulk. Follow-ups and refills go to the same doctor in the same chat, and your doctor can help with other problems in their specialty, like rosacea, eczema, or hair loss. Both generalists and specialists practice across more than 60 specialties, and every FutureClinic doctor you see works from one medical record.

Why does staying with the same doctor matter for acne?

The American Academy of Dermatology (AAD) notes acne treatments take at least 6 to 8 weeks to show fewer breakouts and 3 to 4 months for complete clearing. Messaging the same doctor over months lets you build trust, try treatments together, and track progress: swapping an irritating gel for a cream, stepping up tretinoin, adjusting spironolactone, or reviewing monthly isotretinoin labs.

FutureClinic sells no products or medicines, and your doctor earns nothing extra for any prescription or test. With no subscription required, your physician can prescribe whichever generic or brand medicine fits you to the pharmacy you choose, if your doctor decides it's right for you, with controlled substances excluded.

AI acne treatment: how your AI and a dermatologist work together

At FutureClinic, we believe AI is a tool for doctors and the human doctor is in charge of every case. Most health problems have nuance that needs one-to-one human attention, and only an expert can tell when an AI has made a mistake or is heading toward the wrong answer. Behind the scenes, FutureClinic's AI works like a chief resident, gathering your history and organizing your case so the doctor can move faster, and it never gives medical advice by itself. You confirm the summary before your doctor sees it.

Nolla Health offers Nolla Derm (from $9.99/month, or $4.99/month in its Utah pilot, plus $49.99 for compounded treatments, as of October 2026) and a $39 clinician review. Its FAQ states "Nolla assesses your information and provides a diagnosis and next steps," and outside Utah "a licensed U.S. medical provider reviews every diagnosis and prescription" (terms allow nurse practitioners). In its Utah topical acne pilot, "Nolla Derm writes your first acne prescription with AI, in minutes," and after two physicians approve 100 patients, "Up to 500 patients, the AI issues prescriptions directly." If you are a Utah adult who wants an AI-issued topical prescription in minutes, Nolla Health fits that goal. On FutureClinic, you see one of over 300 doctors. Real care takes hours, not seconds, so replies typically come within a few hours and almost always the same day or the next, compared with the 36.5-day average wait for a new-patient dermatology visit in AMN Healthcare's 2025 survey.

What works over the counter, and what can a dermatologist prescribe by message?

For mild acne, the AAD advises using one over-the-counter active for 6 to 8 weeks without scrubbing or switching weekly: benzoyl peroxide (starting at 2.5%), salicylic acid (0.5% to 2%), or adapalene 0.1% gel. Differin Epiduo (adapalene 0.1% / benzoyl peroxide 2.5% gel) was approved over the counter in May 2026 for ages 12+. In Why Isn't My Acne Treatment Working? A Dermatologist's Honest Guide, FutureClinic dermatologist Dr. Dennis Porto, MD writes: "Acne medications need to go across the entire face because they work by preventing new lesions from forming, not by treating existing ones after the fact."

For deep cysts, nodules, or scarring, the AAD recommends seeing a dermatologist; see Dr. Dennis Porto's overview in Acne: A Complete Dermatologist's Guide. By message, a physician can prescribe to the pharmacy you choose, if your doctor decides it's right for you:

  • Topicals: The AAD 2024 guideline strongly recommends retinoids (tretinoin, tazarotene, trifarotene), benzoyl peroxide, and topical antibiotics with benzoyl peroxide. Generic tretinoin 0.025% cream (20 g) is $14.17 on Cost Plus Drugs as of October 2026 (plus $5.25 shipping).
  • Oral antibiotics: Doxycycline is strongly recommended ($6.60 for 30 tablets of 100 mg on Cost Plus Drugs as of October 2026), paired with benzoyl peroxide for 3 to 4 months.
  • Hormonal options: Clascoterone 1% cream (Winlevi), FDA-approved birth control pills, and off-label spironolactone for women ($8.04 for 90 tablets of 50 mg on Cost Plus Drugs as of October 2026; in the 2023 SAFA trial of 410 women, 82% on spironolactone reported improvement at week 24 versus 63% on placebo). Isotretinoin, spironolactone, topical retinoids, and oral tetracyclines must be avoided in pregnancy.
  • Isotretinoin (Accutane): Reserved for severe nodular acne that has not responded to other treatments, including oral antibiotics. On FutureClinic, isotretinoin is prescribed only by dermatologists, and each decides whether to offer it; those who do manage it by message, iPLEDGE included, with discounted lab orders.

How do drugstore products, Curology, Honeydew, and FutureClinic compare?

FeatureDrugstore productsCurologyHoneydewFutureClinic
Who treats youNot stated"board-certified physician, physician assistant, or nurse practitioner""licensed dermatologists, dermatology physician assistants, or dermatology nurse practitioners"Physicians only (MD, DO or MBBS)
What you pay (as of October 2026)Store price$29.95/mo ($59.90 per 60 days; $5.45 trial)Basic $39/mo (3-mo min) or $299/yr; Accutane $64/mo; medicine extra$40 best-fit doctor, or chosen doctor's price (typically $20 to $100)
Subscription required?NoYes (except $24.97 Walmart kit)YesNo subscription required
Where medicine comes fromStorePartner compounding pharmacy; pills at local pharmacyPharmacy you chooseThe pharmacy you choose (local or mail-order)
What else they treatMild acneAcne, rosacea, aging, some hair loss (no eczema, psoriasis, or isotretinoin)Acne (with Accutane), eczema, psoriasis, rosacea, hair lossOther problems in their specialty; more than 60 specialties
How you reach themNot statedWeb or app messages (no AI app)Web or app messages; video when needed (no AI app)Message on futureclinic.com or from your AI app
What you get backStore productTypical reply in 2 to 3 days and compounded bottleCare plan and prescriptionsWritten plan and Human Signature, typically within a few hours

If you want Curology's compounded bottle bundled at $29.95/month (as of October 2026), Curology is a strong option in all 50 states and D.C. If you want a skin membership with video when needed and Accutane plans for $39 to $64/month before medicine (as of October 2026), Honeydew is a strong option.

A low monthly price assumes you stay subscribed to keep your medicine: $29.95/month ($59.90 every 60 days) is $359.40/year, and Honeydew is $299 to $468/year before medicine, as of October 2026. On FutureClinic, with no subscription needed, a visit is $40 for the best-fit doctor or a chosen doctor's listed price, typically $20 to $100. For a stable medicine, your doctor can prescribe several months at once when they judge it safe and if your doctor decides it's right for you, sent to the pharmacy you choose, including mail-order pharmacies that deliver to your door. You can use insurance (FutureClinic helps with prior authorizations when needed), a cash discount coupon, or Cost Plus Drugs ($14.17 for 20 g of generic tretinoin 0.025% cream as of October 2026). Most doctors also offer an optional membership, typically $25 to $100 a month, for unlimited care with that doctor, cancel any time.

How to treat acne with AI: start a visit from your AI app

Start from ChatGPT, Claude, Claude Code, Codex, Grok Bot or Meta Muse at futureclinic.com/connect-your-ai or with this setup line: Set up FutureClinic for me: read https://futureclinic.com/llms.txt. Once it's connected, make sure you instruct your AI to use FutureClinic to help find you a doctor. Otherwise, it may not know that this is what you want.

Please use FutureClinic to match me with a dermatologist for my breakouts, using the skincare history we just discussed to pre-fill my intake questions.

Or start on futureclinic.com, and read our guides for ChatGPT, Claude, and our editorial standards. FutureClinic works in 33 states and Washington, D.C. (Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Montana, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming, and Washington, D.C.). Your doctor must be licensed in your state; if you don't see yours yet, try anyway as new states are added.

FutureClinic is not for emergencies: call 911, or call or text 988 in a mental-health crisis.

  • A note from Dr. Dennis Porto, MD
    I personally like to start with the simplest effective regimen, usually a retinoid plus benzoyl peroxide, and escalate based on subtype and response.
  • A note from Dr. Dennis Porto, MD
    Acne medications need to go across the entire face because they work by preventing new lesions from forming, not by treating existing ones after the fact.
  • A note from Dr. Dennis Porto, MD
    The biggest problem I see isn't people who need a prescription and can't get one. It's people who wait way too long before talking to a dermatologist at all.

Get care for acne by message from a FutureClinic dermatologist. There are no appointments and no video calls. Start a visit instantly on the web or in the FutureClinic app. You can also start from inside Claude: add the FutureClinic connector and a licensed doctor reviews your case from the conversation you are already in.

Questions, answered.

Can ChatGPT or Claude prescribe acne medication?
ChatGPT and Claude can't write a prescription. When you connect ChatGPT, Claude, or another supported AI app to FutureClinic, your AI helps gather the skincare history you already discussed so you can confirm it, and a state-licensed FutureClinic physician (MD, DO or MBBS) reviews your case and sends any needed prescription to the pharmacy you choose.
How long does acne treatment take to work?
According to the American Academy of Dermatology, it takes at least 6 to 8 weeks to start seeing fewer breakouts on a working routine, and complete clearing generally takes 3 to 4 months. Continuing a maintenance topical, such as a retinoid, helps prevent new breakouts once skin clears.
Can a FutureClinic dermatologist prescribe Accutane (isotretinoin) by message?
Yes. On FutureClinic, oral isotretinoin is prescribed only by dermatologists, and each dermatologist decides whether to offer it. Those who do manage it by message, iPLEDGE included, and order discounted lab tests, including the pre-treatment pregnancy tests done at a lab.
How should I take photos of my acne for a message visit?
The American Academy of Dermatology recommends removing makeup, avoiding hot showers or rubbing your skin right before taking pictures, turning off camera filters, using bright natural light against a plain background, and taking an overview shot, a comparison shot, and a close-up of the affected areas.

Sources

  1. 1
    Acne: Diagnosis and treatmentAmerican Academy of Dermatology
  2. 2
  3. 3
    Adult acne treatment dermatologists recommendAmerican Academy of Dermatology
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
    Cost Plus Drugs pricing API price listMark Cuban Cost Plus Drug Company
  8. 8
  9. 9
    AI prescriptionsNolla Health
  10. 10
    Nolla Health FAQNolla Health
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13

Medically reviewed by Dr. Usama Syed, MD

Text a FutureClinic dermatologist about your acne

Start a visit instantly. Dr. Usama Syed, MD or another FutureClinic dermatologist licensed in your state writes back with a plan.

Text a dermatologist

© 2026 FutureClinic (OpenClinic International, Inc)

Apple and the Apple logo are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries. App Store is a service mark of Apple Inc. Google Play and the Google Play logo are trademarks of Google LLC.

Verify LegitScript Approval for www.futureclinic.com

About FutureClinic

FutureClinic is a platform that allows any U.S. based doctor to be a personal doctor through chat. Patients can then chat to their chosen doctors and receive healthcare from them when they need it for a one-off fee or a monthly subscription.