A doctor answers
Lotus Health AI vs FutureClinic: a free AI doctor, or a doctor-led visit
Lotus Health AI vs FutureClinic compares a free California iOS app where an AI doctor gives advice and clinicians sign off with a $40 visit where a human physician reads your case and writes your plan.


The short answer
Lotus Health AI provides free 24/7 AI primary care on iOS in California with record aggregation, where an AI doctor gives advice and clinicians sign off, while FutureClinic lets you message a state-licensed MD, DO or MBBS physician for $40 with no subscription required. Your FutureClinic doctor reads your whole case, records a live Human Signature video or voice note, and stays in the same chat over time across 33 states and Washington, D.C.
Key facts
- As of October 2026, Lotus Health AI offers free 24/7 asynchronous primary care on iOS for adults (18+) physically located in California, where its AI gives advice and its Cortex agent drafts prescriptions, labs, and messages for clinicians to review and sign off on.
- On FutureClinic, a human physician with an MD, DO or MBBS degree leads every case and sends a live-recorded Human Signature video or voice note, for $40 for the best-fit doctor or typically $20 to $100 for a chosen doctor, with no subscription required.
- You can message the same doctor time after time, directly from ChatGPT, Claude, or your browser; FutureClinic's over 300 doctors, across more than 60 specialties in 33 states and Washington, D.C., earn nothing extra for prescriptions or tests, and every FutureClinic doctor you see works from one medical record.
Lotus Health AI is a free California iOS app where an AI gives advice and clinicians sign off, while on FutureClinic a human physician leads every case.
No form is approved in bulk: a specific doctor reads your whole case and answers you with a written plan and a Human Signature, a live-recorded video or voice note. Because you can message the same doctor time after time in one chat, you can build trust and adjust care over months, whether tweaking a dose, swapping an irritating cream, comparing new labs with last year's, or stepping treatment up or down. Your doctor can also help with other problems in their specialty, and every FutureClinic doctor you see works from one medical record.
Who directs your care: an AI doctor or a human physician?
We believe AI is a tool for doctors, and the doctor is in charge of every case. Most health problems have nuance requiring one-to-one attention, and only an expert can tell when an AI has made a mistake or is heading to the wrong answer. On FutureClinic, the AI works behind the scenes like a chief resident: an assistant trained by your doctor gathers your history, medicines, and photos before you confirm a summary, and it never gives medical advice by itself. Your doctor makes every decision and writes your plan.
Lotus Health AI takes the other path. As of October 2026, Lotus calls itself "an AI doctor powered by real doctors" that is "Ready to diagnose and prescribe." In TechCrunch (February 3, 2026), founder and CEO KJ Dhaliwal said: "AI is giving the advice, but the real doctors are actually signing off on it."
Lotus's Cortex agent drafts prescriptions, labs, and messages. On the Boundless Life podcast (July 16, 2026, at 18:27 and 20:41), Dhaliwal said "the physician is there to review what the AI is coming up with and sign off on it" in "about two minutes" for a 10x productivity gain. In a February 12, 2026 Lotus YouTube clip (at 0:22), he described that 10x gain as one doctor with a 20,000-patient panel. On the Iron Foundry podcast (October 14, 2026, at 42:07), asked if the doctor is there mainly for legal approval, he said "mostly from a patient safety perspective and a regulatory perspective, yes, that's why the physician is there," plus "an element of trust and humanity." In Lotus's asynchronous primary care study (1,678 AI actions, 244 patients), clinicians approved 98% of proposals reaching a verdict, while prescriptions had "the highest rejection rate at 10.2%."
How Lotus Health AI and FutureClinic compare
| Feature | Lotus Health AI | FutureClinic |
|---|---|---|
| Who treats you | AI doctor; "board-certified physicians" and "state-licensed clinicians" sign off | Over 300 doctors; MD, DO or MBBS only |
| Specialists | Not stated | More than 60 specialties |
| Scope | Asynchronous primary care | Other problems in their specialty; every FutureClinic doctor you see works from your one medical record |
| Price (as of Oct 2026) | Free (sponsor revenue planned) | $40 best-fit, or typically $20 to $100 chosen doctor |
| Subscription | Not required | No subscription required; optional membership typically $25 to $100/mo |
| Medicine | Clinician approves; pharmacy rules not stated | The pharmacy you choose, including mail-order |
| Access | iOS app only (no MCP) | Web or your AI app |
| Reply | AI advice; clinician sign-off (7.6-hour median in study) | Doctor's plan and Human Signature, typically within a few hours |
| Where | California only, iOS (18+) | 33 states and Washington, D.C. |
Primary care clinicians vs over 300 doctors across specialties
On its physicians page as of October 2026, Lotus says "Meet our medical team of board-certified physicians," and its FAQ says "state-licensed clinicians" are "looped into your case when medical advice is needed." Specialties and clinician continuity are not stated.
FutureClinic has over 300 doctors across the US. You can message generalists and specialists across more than 60 specialties. Every clinician is a state-licensed, background-checked, verified physician with an MD, DO or MBBS degree, never a nurse practitioner or physician assistant. A dermatologist treating hair loss can also treat acne or eczema, and dermatologists who offer isotretinoin (Accutane) manage it by message, iPLEDGE included.
How prices, incentives, and prescriptions compare
As of October 2026, Lotus Health AI is free and requires no insurance, planning sponsor revenue. On FutureClinic, with no subscription required, pay $40 for the best-fit doctor or pick a doctor at their listed price, typically $20 to $100. Most doctors offer an optional membership, typically $25 to $100 a month (up to 100 responses monthly by law), for unlimited care with that doctor, cancel any time, and your visit fee counts toward joining.
FutureClinic sells no products, and your doctor earns nothing extra for any prescription or test. With no house formulary, your physician can prescribe any brand or generic medicine if your doctor decides it's right for you, with no subscription needed for refills. Prescriptions go to the pharmacy you choose, including mail-order pharmacies that deliver to your door, with a cash discount coupon and prior-authorization help when insurance needs one. Doctors can prescribe several months of a stable medicine when safe and order discounted labs (no controlled medicines).
Who Lotus Health AI suits better, and what FutureClinic does instead
Lotus Health AI suits adults (18+) on iOS in California wanting free 24/7 AI chat in 50 languages, record and wearable aggregation, and clinician sign-off. Though February 2026 press noted 50-state licensing, Lotus's FAQ as of October 2026 says care is "only to patients who are physically located in the State of California." For a human physician writing your plan across 33 states and Washington, D.C., FutureClinic replies typically within a few hours, almost always the same day or the next, as real care takes hours, not seconds. On the US App Store as of October 26, 2026, FutureClinic is rated 4.8 out of 5 from 40 ratings, beside Lotus Health AI at 4.4 out of 5 from 189 ratings.
Did you want a California-only iOS app where an AI drafts your care for a clinician to sign off on, or did you want a human physician of your own to read your case and write your plan? If you want Lotus Health AI's free 24/7 AI primary care app, it is a strong option, and if you wanted an expert doctor with nothing attached, FutureClinic is built for that.
Messaging a FutureClinic physician across 33 states from your AI app
FutureClinic serves 33 states and Washington, D.C. with doctors licensed in your state: Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Montana, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming, and Washington, D.C. If you don't see your state, try anyway.
Lotus Health AI has no MCP server or AI-app access as of October 2026. FutureClinic works from ChatGPT, Claude, Claude Code, Codex, Grok Bot, Meta Muse, and Instinct, bringing your AI's context into intake. Start at futureclinic.com/connect-your-ai, or send your AI:
Set up FutureClinic for me: read https://futureclinic.com/llms.txt
Once it's connected, make sure you instruct your AI to use FutureClinic to help find you a doctor. Otherwise, it may not know that this is what you want.
Or visit futureclinic.com and our editorial standards. FutureClinic is not for emergencies: call 911, or call or text 988 in a mental-health crisis.
Get care by message from a FutureClinic doctor. There are no appointments and no video calls. Start a visit instantly on the web or in the FutureClinic app. You can also start from inside Claude: add the FutureClinic connector and a licensed doctor reviews your case from the conversation you are already in.
Questions, answered.
- Should I choose Lotus Health AI or a one-to-one doctor on FutureClinic?
- It comes down to what you want: if you are an adult on iOS physically located in California who wants a free 24/7 AI doctor that aggregates records and drafts care for clinicians to sign off on, Lotus Health AI is a strong option. If what you actually wanted was direct, one-to-one care from a human MD, DO or MBBS physician who reads your case, writes your plan, and stays in the same chat over time with nothing attached, FutureClinic is built for that.
- Is Lotus Health AI really free, and where is it available?
- Yes. As of October 2026, Lotus Health AI offers primary care at no cost to patients and does not require insurance, planning to earn revenue from sponsors who contribute clinically reviewed content. According to its FAQ, care is available only to patients physically located in California; its terms require users to be 18 or older, and the app is iOS only.
- How much does a FutureClinic visit cost, and how do prescriptions work?
- A FutureClinic visit costs $40 for the best-fit doctor in the clinic, or typically $20 to $100 when you choose a specific doctor, with no subscription required. Your doctor earns nothing extra for any prescription or test and has no house formulary. If your doctor decides it's right for you, they can send any brand or generic medicine to the pharmacy you choose, including mail-order delivery, and can prescribe several months at once for a stable medicine when they judge it safe.
- Can I use Lotus Health AI or FutureClinic inside ChatGPT or Claude?
- As of October 2026, Lotus Health AI works through its own iOS app and has no MCP server or integration with outside AI assistants. FutureClinic works from the AI app you already use, including ChatGPT, Claude, Claude Code, Codex, Grok Bot, Meta Muse, and Instinct (see https://futureclinic.com/connect-your-ai), so your AI's context comes with you before a human physician takes over your care.
Sources
- 1
- 2Download Lotus Health AI and FAQLotus Health AI
- 3
- 4Lotus Health AI ServicesLotus Health AI
- 5Lotus Health AI PhysiciansLotus Health AI
- 6Boundless Life Podcast: KJ Dhaliwal on Lotus Health AIBen Greenfield Life
- 7The CEO behind the AI Doctor ($41m raised)Terra API Iron Foundry Podcast
- 8How Do We Get Every American Healthcare? (KJ Dhaliwal clip)Lotus Health AI YouTube Channel
- 9
- 10Lotus Health AI on the US App StoreApple App Store
- 11FutureClinic on the US App StoreApple App Store
Related articles

The fastest way to a melasma plan: your AI, then a dermatologist
Compare online melasma treatments and costs: Tri-Luma, hydroquinone 4%, azelaic acid, and oral tranexamic acid a FutureClinic physician can prescribe ($40 visit, no subscription required) vs. Musely's Spot Cream.

How to treat psoriasis with AI and a real dermatologist
Compare online psoriasis treatments from creams and pills to biologics, cash prices as of October 2026, and how a $40 FutureClinic physician visit compares with Honeydew and an in-person dermatologist.

High cholesterol: a doctor's plan through your AI
Compare 2026 LDL goals, statins, and clinic waits with a $40 FutureClinic visit where a doctor reads your lipid panel, tracks labs, and prescribes to your pharmacy if it's right for you, with no subscription required.

Migraine treatment online: medicines that stop and prevent attacks, by message
Compare online migraine care across FutureClinic, Neura Health, and Cove, covering rescue triptans and gepants, preventive pills and CGRP shots, cash prices, and a $40 visit where a physician can prescribe by message.
