Your browser needs an update.

FutureClinic works in Chrome 111, Edge 111, Safari 16.4 and Firefox 128, or newer. Update your browser, or use the FutureClinic app.

Download on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

If you can't update, email help@futureclinic.com and we'll help.

A dermatologist answers

How to treat psoriasis with AI and a real dermatologist

Compare online psoriasis treatments from creams and pills to biologics, cash prices as of October 2026, and how a $40 FutureClinic physician visit compares with Honeydew and an in-person dermatologist.

Dr. Usama Syed, MDReviewed October 2026 · 8 min read

The short answer

To treat psoriasis online, you can message a state-licensed physician (MD, DO or MBBS) on FutureClinic from the web or your AI app, and the same doctor can prescribe creams, pills, or home-injected biologics if your doctor decides it's right for you. A best-fit visit is $40 (or typically $20 to $100 for a chosen doctor, with no subscription required), and FutureClinic helps with prior authorizations when your insurance requires one. If you want custom-compounded formulas or an annual dermatology membership bundle, another service is a strong option, while FutureClinic connects you with an expert physician one to one.

Key facts

  • For a $40 best-fit visit (or typically $20 to $100 for a chosen doctor, with no subscription required), a FutureClinic physician (MD, DO or MBBS) can evaluate your history and skin photos by message and prescribe topical steroids, vitamin D creams, Zoryve, Vtama, oral pills like Otezla, Sotyktu, or Icotyde, or home-injected biologics if your doctor decides it's right for you.
  • While new patients waited an average of 36.5 days for an in-person dermatologist in AMN Healthcare's 2025 survey of 15 US metros, a specific FutureClinic doctor replies typically within a few hours, almost always the same day or the next, and includes a live-recorded Human Signature video or voice note with your plan.
  • Your FutureClinic doctor earns nothing extra for any prescription or test, can prescribe any appropriate cream, pill, or home-injected biologic to the pharmacy you choose (with prior authorization help when insurance requires it), and can treat other problems in their specialty, while every FutureClinic doctor you see works from your one medical record.

Plaque psoriasis causes thick, scaly patches on the knees, elbows, lower back, or scalp, and a physician can treat it by message with prescription creams, scalp treatments, pills, or home-injected biologics if your doctor decides it's right for you. In AMN Healthcare's 2025 survey of 15 US metros, new patients waited 36.5 days on average for an in-person dermatologist, and a 2015 study found a medical visit takes 121 minutes on average, travel included.

That wait pushes people online, raising a practical question: do you want another service with all its attached requirements, like multi-month subscriptions or custom compounds, or did you just want an expert doctor of your own? If you want what another company sells beyond the doctor, it is a strong option. If you simply wanted a physician, FutureClinic gives you one with nothing attached.

On FutureClinic, you message a state-licensed physician from the web or your AI app and get a reply typically within a few hours, almost always the same day or the next. Every doctor is a physician with an MD, DO or MBBS degree, never a nurse practitioner or physician assistant. No form is approved in bulk: a specific doctor reads your whole case and answers with a Human Signature, a short live video or voice note. Real care takes hours, not seconds. After your first visit, you stay with the same doctor.

AI psoriasis treatment: why the same doctor matters, and how AI helps

Psoriasis is usually lifelong, with remissions the American Academy of Dermatology (AAD) says most often last 1 to 12 months. Messaging the same doctor time after time builds trust to try treatments together and track progress: checking plaques after four weeks of a steroid, swapping in a vitamin D cream to lower the risk of steroid thinning, or Zoryve or Vtama on skin folds, tapering to prevent a rebound flare, or comparing new labs against last year's for a pill or biologic.

Your doctor's only incentive is to help you. FutureClinic sells no medicines, and your doctor earns nothing extra for any prescription or test, never upselling a medicine or lab panel. With no subscription required, you never stay subscribed monthly to keep your medicine, and your doctor can prescribe any brand or generic to the pharmacy you choose, with no house formulary.

Many people ask ChatGPT or Claude about triggers like strep throat, stress, skin injury, cold weather, lithium, or stopping prednisone. We believe AI is a tool for doctors and the doctor is in charge of every case. Health problems have nuance needing one-to-one attention, and only an expert knows when AI makes a mistake. Behind the scenes, FutureClinic's AI works like a chief resident, gathering your history and photos into a summary you confirm, and never gives medical advice by itself. Connecting your AI app brings your context with you.

The same doctor can help with other problems in their specialty, like eczema, acne, or hair loss. FutureClinic has over 300 doctors. Across more than 60 specialties, you can see primary care doctors and other specialists, and every FutureClinic doctor you see works from one medical record. NIAMS notes psoriasis raises the risk of psoriatic arthritis, heart attacks, strokes, anxiety, and depression.

What psoriasis treatments can a dermatologist prescribe by message?

Psoriasis affects up to 3.2% of the US population (2019 AAD-NPF guideline). Skin cells multiply in days rather than weeks; 80% to 90% have plaques, and it is not contagious. Fragrance-free creams, salicylic acid, and coal tar help mild scale. After reviewing your history, joint or nail symptoms, pregnancy plans, and three sharp photos in bright natural light against a plain background (one with a coin for scale), your doctor can prescribe creams, scalp treatments, pills, or biologics if your doctor decides it's right for you:

  • Steroid and vitamin D topicals: Corticosteroids are the top prescribed treatment, including clobetasol 0.05% cream (up to 2 weeks, ages 12+) and shampoo (up to 4 weeks, adults). To lower the risk of steroid side effects such as thinning skin, the 2021 AAD-NPF guideline advises steroid-sparing agents, alone or alternating with steroids: calcipotriene 0.005% cream, tazarotene cream (contraindicated in pregnancy), or off-label tacrolimus and pimecrolimus for face, folds, and genitals. Calcipotriene-betamethasone ointment combines a vitamin D product with a steroid (ages 12+, up to 4 weeks).
  • Non-steroidal topicals: In week 8 trials of once-daily Zoryve (roflumilast 0.3% cream, ages 2+ including folds; 0.3% foam, ages 12+), 41.5% and 36.7% of cream users cleared or almost cleared on average versus 5.8% and 7.1% on vehicle. In week 12 Vtama (tapinarof 1% cream, adults) trials, 36% and 40% were clear or almost clear on average versus 6% on vehicle.
  • Pills: Otezla (apremilast 30 mg twice daily after titration) needs no baseline labs; 33.1% and 28.8% reached PASI-75 at week 16 on average versus 5.3% and 5.8% on placebo. Once-daily pills include Sotyktu (deucravacitinib 6 mg; 58% and 53% PASI-75 at week 16 on average versus 13% and 9% on placebo) and Icotyde (icotrokinra 200 mg, approved March 2026 for ages 12+, 40 kg+; 55% PASI-90 at week 16 on average versus 4% on placebo). Methotrexate (contraindicated in pregnancy; both partners stop 3 months before conceiving) and acitretin (avoid pregnancy during and 3 years after) require labs.
  • Biologics and biosimilars: A 2025 Cochrane review (204 trials, 67,889 patients) found biologics reached PASI-90 more often on average than non-biologic pills. Home-injected biologics like Skyrizi and biosimilars like adalimumab-fkjp and Otulfi (ustekinumab-aauz) need baseline TB, hepatitis, and blood work at discounted lab prices.

Clinic phototherapy (UVB or excimer laser), cyclosporine (Neoral, needing an exam and blood pressure checks), IV infliximab, and provider-injected Ilumya require in-person care.

What do visits, medicines, and prior authorizations cost?

A visit is $40 for the best-fit doctor, or a chosen doctor's listed price, typically $20 to $100. Most doctors offer an optional membership (typically $25 to $100 a month) for unlimited care with that doctor, cancel any time. Prescriptions go to the pharmacy you choose, including mail-order pharmacies that deliver to your door, with a discount coupon for the best cash price. As of October 2026, Cost Plus Drugs cash prices before shipping ($5.25 standard; $55 cold-chain) are $7.14 for clobetasol 0.05% cream (30 g), $7.70 for methotrexate 2.5 mg (30 tablets), $423.25 for two adalimumab-fkjp 40 mg pens, and $877.50 for one Otulfi 45 mg syringe; GoodRx coupon prices are $939.86 for Zoryve 0.3% cream (60 g), $1,531.71 for Vtama 1% cream (60 g), $3,353.53 for Otezla (60 tablets), $8,417.84 for Icotyde (30 tablets), and $22,820.90 for one Skyrizi pen.

In a 2019 study, 55.2% of dermatology biologics needed prior authorization, and a 2023 study found 27.2- to 29.7-day average approval waits. When insurance needs a prior authorization, FutureClinic helps get it.

How does FutureClinic compare with an in-person dermatologist and Honeydew?

FeatureA dermatologist in personHoneydewFutureClinic
Who treats youDermatologist or staff"licensed dermatologists, dermatology physician assistants, or dermatology nurse practitioners"Physicians only (MD, DO or MBBS)
Price (as of October 2026)Cash price not stated; 2024 Medicare all-specialty averages: billed $267.25 to $410.82, allowed $105.33 to $160.28 (99203, 99204)Free first consult; Basic $39/mo (3-month minimum), $129/4 mos, $299/yr; Accutane $64/mo$40 best-fit visit, or typically $20 to $100
Subscription required?NoYes ($26 early cancel fee)No subscription required
Where medicine comes fromPharmacy you chooseLocal or mail pharmacy, or custom compoundsThe pharmacy you choose, including mail-order
What else they treatDermatology and proceduresMedical dermatology onlyOther problems in their specialty; every FutureClinic doctor you see works from your one medical record
How you reach themOffice (36.5-day average wait)Web chat or video; no AI appfutureclinic.com or ChatGPT, Claude, Codex, Grok Bot, Meta Muse, Instinct
What you get backExam and notesPlan and prior auth help (reply time not stated)Plan, prior auth help, and Human Signature typically within a few hours

In-person care suits phototherapy or office injections. Honeydew is a strong option if you need a state outside FutureClinic's network (Honeydew is in all 50 states and D.C.), video visits, custom-compounded formulas, or a $299 annual dermatology membership.

If you just wanted an expert doctor one to one, FutureClinic gives you a physician on every case with no subscription required. As of October 2026, Honeydew's Basic plan is $117 for three months or $299 a year (medicine extra), with unlimited follow-ups; if you need a visit most months, a flat fee or a FutureClinic membership may cost less. One FutureClinic visit can cover several months of a stable prescription when your doctor judges it safe, at the pharmacy you choose, where insurance or a discount coupon applies.

How to treat psoriasis with AI: connecting your AI app to a physician in 33 states and D.C.

FutureClinic works in 33 states and Washington, D.C.: Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Montana, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming, and Washington, D.C. Your doctor must be licensed in the state you're in; if you don't see your state, try anyway as coverage grows.

Start on futureclinic.com, connect your AI at futureclinic.com/connect-your-ai, or send your AI:

Set up FutureClinic for me: read https://futureclinic.com/llms.txt

Once it's connected, make sure you instruct your AI to use FutureClinic to help find you a doctor. Otherwise, it may not know that this is what you want.

FutureClinic is not for emergencies: call 911 in an emergency, or call or text 988 in a mental-health crisis.

Get care for psoriasis by message from a FutureClinic dermatologist. There are no appointments and no video calls. Start a visit instantly on the web or in the FutureClinic app. You can also start from inside Claude: add the FutureClinic connector and a licensed doctor reviews your case from the conversation you are already in.

Questions, answered.

Can a doctor prescribe psoriasis biologics or pills like Otezla and Sotyktu by message?
Yes, if your doctor decides it's right for you. A FutureClinic physician can review your medical history and skin photos, order any required baseline blood work and tuberculosis screening at discounted lab prices, prescribe oral medications (such as Otezla, Sotyktu, Icotyde, methotrexate, or acitretin) or home-injected biologics and biosimilars, and help with the prior authorization when your pharmacy insurance needs one.
How should I take photos of my psoriasis plaques for an online dermatologist?
Following American Academy of Dermatology guidance, use bright natural light against a plain, single-color background with camera filters turned off. Take three sharp photos: one showing where on your body the plaques are located, one showing the plaques alongside nearby normal skin, and a close-up with a coin or ruler next to a plaque to show size.
Do I need a monthly subscription to keep getting my psoriasis creams or refills on FutureClinic?
No. There is no subscription required on FutureClinic. A visit is $40 for the best-fit doctor, or typically $20 to $100 if you choose a specific doctor at their listed price. For a stable medication, your physician can prescribe several months of refills at once when they judge it safe, sent to the pharmacy you choose. Most doctors also offer an optional membership (typically $25 to $100 a month, cancel any time) if you want unlimited care with that doctor.
Which psoriasis treatments still require an in-person dermatology clinic?
Clinic phototherapy (narrowband UVB or excimer laser given two to five times a week), cyclosporine (Neoral, whose FDA label requires a physical exam and blood pressure measurements on at least two occasions before starting), IV infliximab (Remicade) infusions, and provider-administered Ilumya injections all require in-person care.

Sources

  1. 1
    Psoriasis: OverviewAmerican Academy of Dermatology (AAD)
  2. 2
    PsoriasisNIH National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases (NIAMS)
  3. 3
    Could I have psoriasis?American Academy of Dermatology (AAD)
  4. 4
    Psoriasis: Diagnosis and treatmentAmerican Academy of Dermatology (AAD)
  5. 5
    Are triggers causing your psoriasis flare-ups?American Academy of Dermatology (AAD)
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
    Psoriasis treatment: PhototherapyAmerican Academy of Dermatology (AAD)
  10. 10
    Psoriasis treatment: MethotrexateAmerican Academy of Dermatology (AAD)
  11. 11
    How long will I have to treat my psoriasis?American Academy of Dermatology (AAD)
  12. 12
    Psoriasis clinical guidelineAmerican Academy of Dermatology (AAD)
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15
  16. 16
  17. 17
  18. 18
  19. 19
  20. 20
  21. 21
  22. 22
  23. 23
  24. 24
  25. 25
  26. 26
  27. 27
  28. 28
  29. 29
  30. 30
  31. 31
  32. 32
    Novel Drug Approvals for 2026U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
  33. 33
  34. 34
  35. 35
  36. 36
  37. 37
  38. 38
    Medicare Physician & Other Practitioners - by Geography and ServiceCenters for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)
  39. 39
    Public pricing API, CPD price listMark Cuban Cost Plus Drug Company
  40. 40
  41. 41
  42. 42
  43. 43
  44. 44
  45. 45
    HoneydewHoneydew
  46. 46
  47. 47
    Honeydew FAQHoneydew
  48. 48
  49. 49
  50. 50

Medically reviewed by Dr. Usama Syed, MD

Text a FutureClinic dermatologist about your psoriasis

Start a visit instantly. Dr. Usama Syed, MD or another FutureClinic dermatologist licensed in your state writes back with a plan.

Text a dermatologist

© 2026 FutureClinic (OpenClinic International, Inc)

Apple and the Apple logo are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries. App Store is a service mark of Apple Inc. Google Play and the Google Play logo are trademarks of Google LLC.

Verify LegitScript Approval for www.futureclinic.com

About FutureClinic

FutureClinic is a platform that allows any U.S. based doctor to be a personal doctor through chat. Patients can then chat to their chosen doctors and receive healthcare from them when they need it for a one-off fee or a monthly subscription.