Your browser needs an update.

FutureClinic works in Chrome 111, Edge 111, Safari 16.4 and Firefox 128, or newer. Update your browser, or use the FutureClinic app.

Download on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

If you can't update, email help@futureclinic.com and we'll help.

A dermatologist answers

Happy Head vs FutureClinic: compounded hair formulas or a standard prescription

Compare Happy Head's compounded hair loss formulas ($49 first order, then $63.20 per 25-day refill as of October 2026) with a $40 FutureClinic visit where a physician can prescribe to the pharmacy you choose.

Dr. Usama Syed, MDReviewed October 2026 · 7 min read

The short answer

Happy Head sells custom-compounded hair formulas ($49 first order, then $63.20 per 25-day refill or $79 once as of October 2026) shipped from its partner pharmacies, while a FutureClinic visit costs $40 for the best-fit doctor (or a chosen doctor's price, typically $20 to $100) with no subscription required. On FutureClinic, a specific physician reads your case, records a live Human Signature, and, if your doctor decides it's right for you, sends whichever brand or generic prescription fits to the pharmacy you choose. You can message the same doctor over time to adjust your hair treatment, get help with other problems in their specialty, and every FutureClinic doctor you see works from your one medical record.

Key facts

  • Happy Head prices its custom-compounded topical finasteride plus minoxidil solution and oral SuperCapsule at $49 for the first order, then $63.20 per refill on a default 25-day billing cycle ($744.20 for 12 orders or $870.60 for 14 orders over 350 days as of October 2026) or $79 once, compounded monthly by its partner pharmacies (Curexa and Chemistry Rx) with no local pharmacy option.
  • FutureClinic visits cost $40 for the best-fit doctor or a chosen doctor's listed price (typically $20 to $100) with no subscription required, and your doctor earns nothing extra for any prescription or test, prescribing whichever brand or generic medicine fits to the pharmacy you choose (for comparison, GoodRx listed 30 tablets of generic finasteride 1 mg at $10.20 at Sam's Club to $29.45 at CVS with its standard coupon in October 2026).
  • Every FutureClinic clinician is a licensed physician (MD, DO or MBBS) who answers with a live-recorded Human Signature, stays available as the same doctor in the same chat over time, treats other problems in their specialty, and works from your one medical record.

Happy Head treats hair loss online with custom-compounded bottles and capsules billed on a default 25-day refill cycle ($49 for the first order, then $63.20 per refill or $79 once as of October 2026). FutureClinic connects you one to one with an expert physician for $40 (or a chosen doctor's price, typically $20 to $100) with no subscription required and nothing attached, sending any prescription your doctor decides is right for you to the pharmacy you choose.

On FutureClinic, no form is approved in bulk. A specific doctor reads your whole case and answers with a Human Signature, a live video or voice note recorded for you. Whenever you check back in, you write to the same doctor in that ongoing thread, building trust as you test hair treatments and review progress: comparing crown and hairline photos over months, adjusting a dose if side effects show up, or swapping a topical formula that irritates your scalp. The dermatologist managing your hair loss can also care for other skin concerns in their specialty, like acne or eczema, and every FutureClinic doctor you see works from your one medical record.

How Happy Head and FutureClinic compare side by side

What to compareHappy HeadFutureClinic
Who treats youFAQ: "board-certified Happy Head dermatologist licensed in your state"; terms: "medical doctors, physicians, and other health professionals"Licensed physicians only holding an MD, DO or MBBS degree (no NPs or PAs)
What you pay (as of October 2026)$49 first order, then $63.20 per 25-day refill, or $79 once$40 for the best-fit doctor, or a chosen doctor's price (typically $20 to $100)
Subscription required?25-day default subscription, or $79 onceNo subscription required; optional membership typically $25 to $100/month
Where medicine comes fromCompounded monthly by Curexa or Chemistry Rx; no local pharmacyThe pharmacy you choose, including retail and mail-order delivery
What else the doctor treatsHair loss, dandruff, scalp, beard, brow, and one hair-and-ED formulaOther problems in their specialty; every FutureClinic doctor you see works from your one medical record
How you reach themMessaging on happyhead.com; no MCP server or AI appBy message on futureclinic.com or from your AI app
What you get backMessages and compounded bottles; reply time and video not statedPlan and Human Signature; replies typically within a few hours, almost always the same day or the next

Who treats you?

Founded by board-certified dermatologists (llms.txt), Happy Head covers male and female hair loss, dandruff, scalp health, beard and brow formulas, a laser helmet, a DNA test kit, and one dutasteride-tadalafil formula for hair loss and erectile dysfunction (sitemap). Its FAQ says "you will be assigned a board-certified Happy Head dermatologist licensed in your state," while its Terms & Conditions (updated May 15, 2026) state that Kulanite Specialized Services Inc. and M&D Integrations Inc. employ or contract with "medical doctors, physicians, and other health professionals." Choosing or keeping a clinician is not stated.

FutureClinic connects you with over 300 doctors across the United States. Those physicians span more than 60 specialties, including both generalists and specialists, and every clinician is a state-licensed, background-checked doctor with an MD, DO or MBBS degree, never a nurse practitioner or physician assistant. Because the clinic does not sell drugs, the physician caring for you earns nothing extra for any prescription or test. Their only incentive is to help you: there is no product line pushing an upsell on medications or labs, no recurring plan needed to keep a prescription, and, if your doctor decides it's right for you, they can send whichever brand or generic medicine fits you to any pharmacy, controlled medicines excepted. The dermatologist treating your hair can also treat acne, rosacea, or eczema in their specialty, including oral isotretinoin (Accutane) with iPLEDGE by message from dermatologists who offer it.

First, an AI assistant trained by your doctor asks about your history, medicines, and photos. At FutureClinic, we believe AI is a tool for doctors and the human physician must stay in charge, since only a trained expert can catch when an algorithm makes a mistake. Rather than directing care, our AI works behind the scenes like a chief resident organizing your intake notes, and it never gives medical advice by itself. Once you approve the intake summary, your physician reviews the entire chat, makes every clinical decision, and sends your plan with a Human Signature, replying typically within a few hours and almost always the same day or the next.

What does a year of hair loss treatment actually cost?

As of October 2026, Happy Head prices its Topical Solution (finasteride plus minoxidil) and oral SuperCapsule (finasteride, minoxidil, and vitamin D3) at $49 for the first order (with a free telehealth visit), then $63.20 per refill, or $79 once. Its FAQ states, "Billing and shipping intervals are set at 25 days by default," and you can pause, skip, or cancel through customer service. Twelve orders ($49 plus 11 refills) cost $744.20, while 14 orders on the 25-day schedule cost $870.60 over 350 days. Because Happy Head does not use local pharmacies, you stay subscribed or pay $79 per bottle to keep using it.

On FutureClinic, there is no subscription required. You pay $40 to match with the best-fit doctor, or pick a specific doctor at their listed price, which is typically $20 to $100. If your doctor decides it's right for you, your prescription goes to the pharmacy you choose, including retail chains and mail-order pharmacies that deliver to your door, with a discount coupon for the best cash price. You can use insurance at the pharmacy, and FutureClinic helps get a prior authorization when insurance needs one.

For a stable medicine, your doctor can prescribe several months at once when they judge it safe. As of October 2026, GoodRx lists 30 tablets of finasteride 1 mg at $14.93 in its dosage table (average retail $45.44), with standard coupon prices of $10.20 at Sam's Club, $16.99 at Costco, and $29.45 at CVS. Two $40 visits ($80) for six-month prescriptions plus 12 fills at those coupon prices totals $202.40 to $433.40 for the year for finasteride alone (Happy Head's price also includes minoxidil), or less with insurance. For ongoing access, most physicians also offer an optional membership, typically $25 to $100 a month, giving you unlimited care with that doctor (cancel any time), with your visit fee credited if you join afterward.

When does Happy Head make sense, and when does FutureClinic?

Happy Head is a strong option if you want its specific compounded blends, such as topical finasteride with minoxidil or the SuperCapsule, which retail pharmacies do not stock, and want them bundled from its partner pharmacies (EHT Pharmacy LLC dba Curexa and Madame Rx LLC dba Chemistry Rx, per its Terms & Conditions).

Before signing up, did you want Happy Head's custom-compounded bottles and 25-day refill cycle, or did you simply want an expert doctor of your own?

If what you really wanted was direct, one-to-one access to a physician who can look at your hair alongside your skin or broader health, order labs at discounted prices, and send prescriptions to the pharmacy you choose, FutureClinic fits better. Care is by message only, with no phone, video, or in-person visits, and doctors do not prescribe controlled medicines like testosterone or stimulants. FutureClinic is not for emergencies: dial 911 right away for an emergency, or call or text 988 during a mental-health crisis.

AI access for Happy Head vs FutureClinic, and states covered

Happy Head's llms.txt invites AI summaries, while its robots.txt blocks AI crawlers including Claude-User, GPTBot, and PerplexityBot, and it has no MCP server or AI app.

FutureClinic works from the AI app you already use, including ChatGPT, Claude, Claude Code, Codex, and Grok Bot. Start on futureclinic.com or at futureclinic.com/connect-your-ai, follow our walkthroughs for Claude or ChatGPT, or paste this prompt into your AI chat:

Set up FutureClinic for me: read https://futureclinic.com/llms.txt

Once it's connected, make sure you instruct your AI to use FutureClinic to help find you a doctor. Otherwise, it may not know that this is what you want.

FutureClinic works in 33 states and Washington, D.C., with a doctor licensed in the state you are in: Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Montana, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming, and Washington, D.C. Coverage keeps growing, so if your state is not listed yet, try anyway.

Get care for hair loss by message from a FutureClinic dermatologist. There are no appointments and no video calls. Start a visit instantly on the web or in the FutureClinic app. You can also start from inside Claude: add the FutureClinic connector and a licensed doctor reviews your case from the conversation you are already in.

Questions, answered.

How much does Happy Head cost per month compared with FutureClinic?
As of October 2026, Happy Head's topical finasteride plus minoxidil solution and oral SuperCapsule each cost $49 for the first order (including a free visit), then $63.20 per subscription refill billed every 25 days by default, or $79 for a one-time order. On FutureClinic, there is no subscription required: a visit is $40 for the best-fit doctor or a chosen doctor's listed price (typically $20 to $100), your doctor earns nothing extra for any prescription, and prescriptions go to the pharmacy you choose; for comparison, GoodRx listed 30 tablets of generic finasteride 1 mg at $10.20 (Sam's Club) to $29.45 (CVS) with its standard coupon in October 2026.
Should I choose Happy Head or a doctor on FutureClinic?
It comes down to whether you want Happy Head's custom-compounded formulas on a 25-day refill cycle or direct, one-to-one care from an expert physician. If you specifically want Happy Head's compounded blends shipped from its partner pharmacies (Curexa and Chemistry Rx), it is a strong option. If all you wanted was an expert doctor with nothing attached, a FutureClinic physician evaluates your case one to one, records a live Human Signature, and, if your doctor decides it's right for you, prescribes whichever brand or generic medicine fits to the pharmacy you choose.
Who evaluates my hair loss at Happy Head vs FutureClinic?
Happy Head's FAQ states that you are assigned a board-certified dermatologist licensed in your state, while its Terms & Conditions state that its medical groups employ or contract with medical doctors, physicians, and other health professionals. At FutureClinic, every clinician is a licensed physician with an MD, DO or MBBS degree, never a nurse practitioner or physician assistant, and you can message the same doctor over time in the same chat to track progress and adjust treatment together.
Can the doctor treating my hair loss also treat acne or eczema?
Happy Head's catalog is limited to hair loss, scalp health, dandruff, beard and brow formulas, and one compounded hair-and-ED product. On FutureClinic, the dermatologist you message about hair loss can also help with other conditions in their specialty, such as acne, rosacea, or eczema, and every FutureClinic doctor you see across more than 60 specialties works from your one medical record.

Sources

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8

Medically reviewed by Dr. Usama Syed, MD

Text a FutureClinic dermatologist about your hair loss

Start a visit instantly. Dr. Usama Syed, MD or another FutureClinic dermatologist licensed in your state writes back with a plan.

Text a dermatologist

© 2026 FutureClinic (OpenClinic International, Inc)

Apple and the Apple logo are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries. App Store is a service mark of Apple Inc. Google Play and the Google Play logo are trademarks of Google LLC.

Verify LegitScript Approval for www.futureclinic.com

About FutureClinic

FutureClinic is a platform that allows any U.S. based doctor to be a personal doctor through chat. Patients can then chat to their chosen doctors and receive healthcare from them when they need it for a one-off fee or a monthly subscription.