A doctor answers
Hypothyroidism care through your AI: labs, medicine and a doctor by message
Hypothyroidism care by message covers TSH labs, levothyroxine dosing, and how Paloma Health's $240/year membership compares with a $40 FutureClinic visit.


The short answer
Online hypothyroidism care on FutureClinic connects you one to one with the same state-licensed physician (MD, DO or MBBS) over time by message from your AI app or browser, without a thyroid-only membership. You receive a personalized plan with a live-recorded Human Signature video or voice note, along with discounted TSH labs and levothyroxine sent to the pharmacy you choose if your doctor decides it's right for you. Visits cost $40 for the best-fit doctor or a chosen doctor's listed price, typically $20 to $100, with no subscription required.
Key facts
- Nearly 5 in 100 Americans aged 12 and older have hypothyroidism, most often caused by autoimmune Hashimoto's disease; a FutureClinic physician (MD, DO or MBBS) orders discounted local TSH and free T4 blood tests to confirm the diagnosis, retesting mild subclinical TSH rises over 3 to 6 months since treatment generally starts above 10.0 mIU/L.
- You message the same doctor over time and receive a live-recorded Human Signature video or voice note with your plan, typically within a few hours; your doctor sells no medicine, earns nothing extra for any prescription or test, and can prescribe any brand or generic that fits you.
- According to the American Thyroid Association, synthetic levothyroxine (T4) is the standard of care, with TSH rechecked 4 to 8 weeks after a dose change and again once levels are steady after a product switch; one FutureClinic visit ($40 for the best-fit doctor, or typically $20 to $100 for a chosen doctor) can cover several months of a stable prescription when your doctor judges it safe, sent to the pharmacy you choose; 90 generic tablets cost $7.73 to $9.22 before shipping on Cost Plus Drugs or $10.00 at most strengths on GoodRx as of October 2026.
Managing hypothyroidism by message starts with ordering thyroid blood tests and adjusting levothyroxine without sitting in a waiting room. On FutureClinic, you message a licensed physician from your AI app or browser who can review TSH and free T4 labs, adjust your thyroid hormone dose, and send prescriptions to the pharmacy you choose.
A specific state-licensed doctor reads your history, lab numbers, and questions before writing back a medical plan with a Human Signature, a short video or voice note recorded live for you. No form is approved in bulk. Replies typically arrive within a few hours, and almost always the same day or the next, because real care takes hours rather than seconds. You can message the same doctor time after time in the same chat, however long in between, to track progress and adjust treatment together: comparing this month's TSH against last year's, stepping a dose up or down, rechecking labs after a generic switch, or raising your dose in pregnancy.
Your doctor can also help with other problems in their specialty, and when you see other specialists on FutureClinic, every FutureClinic doctor you see works from one medical record so different kinds of care sit in one place. We believe AI is a tool for doctors and the doctor is in charge of every case, because only an expert knows when an AI makes a mistake. FutureClinic's AI works behind the scenes like a chief resident, gathering history and organizing your case without ever giving medical advice by itself.
How do doctors diagnose and monitor hypothyroidism by message?
Per the NIDDK, hypothyroidism means an underactive thyroid slows how the body uses energy. Nearly 5 in 100 Americans aged 12 and older have it; women are much more likely than men to get it, it is more common after age 60, and autoimmune Hashimoto's disease is the top cause. The American Thyroid Association (ATA) calls a blood test "the only way to know for sure". By message, a FutureClinic doctor orders discounted lab tests locally. Per the USPSTF, TSH has about 98% sensitivity and 92% specificity in referred patients (normal about 0.4 to 4.5 mIU/L), while free T4 separates subclinical from overt disease. Stop biotin 2 to 3 days before testing.
When does a mildly raised TSH need treatment?
In US survey data cited by the USPSTF, overt hypothyroidism affects about 3 per 1,000 people and subclinical disease (high TSH, normal free T4) about 46 per 1,000. Mild subclinical rises are retested over 3 to 6 months: TSH varies up to 50% daily, about 37% normalize untreated over several years, and the 2026 ATA pregnancy guidelines note up to 80% of mild rises in older adults normalize on repeat testing. Treatment generally starts above 10.0 mIU/L. In the 2017 TRUST trial (737 older adults), levothyroxine lowered average TSH to 3.63 versus 5.48 mIU/L on placebo at one year without improving symptom or tiredness scores, matching a 2018 JAMA meta-analysis and 2019 BMJ guideline.
AI hypothyroidism treatment: how levothyroxine and dose changes work
If your doctor decides it's right for you, standard treatment is levothyroxine, synthetic T4 recommended as the preparation of choice in the 2014 ATA guidelines. Because it has a narrow therapeutic index, dosing is adjusted carefully; a TSH below 0.1 mIU/L raises atrial fibrillation and osteoporosis risks in older adults and postmenopausal women, while undertreatment harms lipids. On the Synthroid label, full replacement averages 1.6 mcg per kg daily (100 to 125 mcg for a 70 kg adult), adjusted by 12.5 to 25 mcg; the 2014 ATA guideline says milder cases need lower starting doses, such as 25 to 50 mcg, and the labels start older adults and people with heart disease at 12.5 to 25 mcg. Doctors recheck TSH 6 to 8 weeks after dose changes (4 to 6 weeks per ATA), after product switches, and every 6 to 12 months once stable.
Take levothyroxine fasting 30 to 60 minutes before breakfast or at bedtime 3+ hours after dinner (ATA treatment guide), separated by 4 hours from calcium or iron; coffee, soy, fiber, walnuts, and grapefruit juice reduce absorption. Porcine extracts like Armour Thyroid are FDA-unapproved on DailyMed, vary by batch, and can push T3 high, and a 2021 consensus found 14 trials of levothyroxine plus liothyronine showed no consistent benefit. In pregnancy, the 2026 ATA guidelines advise levothyroxine alone (often raised about 25% on a positive test, checking TSH every 4 weeks through mid-pregnancy), never T3 or extracts. A boxed warning states thyroid hormones are not for weight loss with normal thyroid function.
Do you want a thyroid-only membership, or a doctor one to one?
AMN Healthcare's 2025 survey found an average 31-day new-patient appointment wait in 15 metros (23.5 days in family medicine), and a 2015 study found office visits averaged 121 minutes with travel. In 2024 CMS Medicare data, average submitted charges were $267.25 (code 99203) and $410.82 (code 99204).
If you want cash-pay home thyroid test kits, 30-minute online visits, or PPO visit coverage, Paloma Health is a strong option. As of October 2026, Paloma lists a $240/year membership ($20/month billed annually, visits and labs excluded), member self-pay visits typically $60, a non-member visit at $110, and plans at $50 to $129/month (pricing page). If you wanted an expert doctor directly one to one, FutureClinic gives you that with nothing attached and no subscription required. Every clinician is a state-licensed, background-checked physician (MD, DO or MBBS), never a nurse practitioner or physician assistant. We have over 300 doctors on the platform. Our physicians span more than 60 specialties. Pay $40 for the best-fit doctor, or pick a doctor at their listed price, typically $20 to $100, with optional memberships for unlimited care with that doctor, cancel any time, typically $25 to $100 a month.
FutureClinic sells no medicine, and your doctor earns nothing extra for any prescription or test. With no house formulary, they prescribe any brand or generic that fits you to the pharmacy you choose, including pickup and mail-order delivery. One visit can cover several months of a stable prescription when your doctor judges it safe, using insurance (with prior-authorization help when needed) or a cash discount coupon. As of October 2026, 90 generic levothyroxine tablets (25 to 150 mcg) cost $7.73 to $8.28 ($12.98 to $13.53 shipped) on Cost Plus Drugs, or as low as $10.00 at most strengths on GoodRx (brand Synthroid is about $167 to $169 for 90 tablets at 50 to 175 mcg on GoodRx as of October 2026).
| Feature | Paloma Health | FutureClinic |
|---|---|---|
| Who treats you | Doctors "board-certified in endocrinology, family practice, or internal medicine", plus a PA and NPs (thyroid-doctors); choice not stated | Physicians only (MD, DO or MBBS), never a nurse practitioner or physician assistant |
| What you pay | As of October 2026: $240/year membership (visits/labs excluded), member visits typically $60, non-member $110, plans $50 to $129/month; PPO accepted | $40 for the best-fit doctor, or a chosen doctor's listed price, typically $20 to $100 |
| Subscription required | No for $110 non-member visit; membership $240/year or $50 to $129/month as of October 2026 | No subscription required; optional membership typically $25 to $100/month, cancel any time |
| Where medicine comes from | Some plans include "Your Medication delivered"; pharmacy choice not stated | Sent to the pharmacy you choose, including pickup and mail-order delivery |
| What else the doctor can help with | Hypothyroidism, Hashimoto's, perimenopause, menopause, weight; pricing tile says "Paloma doctors only treat hypothyroidism" | Other problems in their specialty; every FutureClinic doctor you see works from one medical record |
| How you reach them | 30-minute online visits and messaging; FAQ AI assistant; AI app connection not stated | By message on futureclinic.com, or start from your AI app (ChatGPT, Claude, Claude Code, Codex, Grok Bot, Meta Muse or Instinct) at https://futureclinic.com/connect-your-ai |
| What you get back | 30-minute visit and messaging; reply times not stated | Plan and Human Signature video or voice note, typically within a few hours |
How to treat hypothyroidism with AI: when you need in-person care and messaging a doctor
Central hypothyroidism and pediatric thyroid care need in-person evaluation. FutureClinic is not for emergencies: call 911, or call or text 988 in a mental-health crisis.
FutureClinic serves 33 states and Washington, D.C.: Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Montana, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming, and Washington, D.C. Your doctor must be licensed in the state you're in; if your state is not listed, try anyway as coverage grows.
Start on https://futureclinic.com or at https://futureclinic.com/connect-your-ai so your AI pre-fills intake questions from your context for you to confirm, or send Set up FutureClinic for me: read https://futureclinic.com/llms.txt:
Set up FutureClinic for me: read https://futureclinic.com/llms.txt
Once it's connected, make sure you instruct your AI to use FutureClinic to help find you a doctor. Otherwise, it may not know that this is what you want.
Get care for thyroid by message from a FutureClinic doctor. There are no appointments and no video calls. Start a visit instantly on the web or in the FutureClinic app. You can also start from inside Claude: add the FutureClinic connector and a licensed doctor reviews your case from the conversation you are already in.
Questions, answered.
- Can an online doctor order thyroid lab tests and prescribe levothyroxine by message?
- Yes. On FutureClinic, a state-licensed physician (MD, DO or MBBS) can review your history by message, order discounted TSH and free T4 blood tests at a local lab, and prescribe or adjust levothyroxine at the pharmacy you choose if your doctor decides it's right for you.
- How often do thyroid hormone levels need to be checked?
- According to FDA prescribing information and the American Thyroid Association, TSH is rechecked 6 to 8 weeks after starting levothyroxine or changing a dose (4 to 6 weeks in the ATA's 2014 guideline), and again once levels are steady after switching between brand and generic products. Once your dose is stable, labs are typically checked at 6 months and then once a year.
- Why does the American Thyroid Association recommend levothyroxine over desiccated thyroid?
- The ATA recommends synthetic levothyroxine (T4) as standard care because it works, has long experience and a favorable side-effect profile behind it, is easy to take and well absorbed, has a long half-life and costs little. Animal-derived thyroid extracts such as Armour Thyroid are listed on DailyMed as unapproved by the FDA, can vary from batch to batch, can push T3 levels above the normal range, and should not be used during pregnancy.
- Do I need a monthly subscription to manage hypothyroidism on FutureClinic?
- No subscription is required. You can pay $40 for a visit with the best-fit doctor or choose a specific physician at their listed price, typically $20 to $100. For a stable medication, your doctor can prescribe several months at once when they judge it safe, or you can join an optional membership with your doctor, typically $25 to $100 a month, cancel any time.
Sources
- 1Guidelines for the Treatment of Hypothyroidism: Prepared by the American Thyroid Association Task Force on Thyroid Hormone ReplacementAmerican Thyroid Association (Thyroid journal), via PMC
- 2American Thyroid Association 2026 Guidelines for Thyroid Disease in Preconception, Pregnancy, and PostpartumAmerican Thyroid Association (Thyroid journal)
- 3New ATA Guidelines for Thyroid Disease in Preconception, Pregnancy, and PostpartumAmerican Thyroid Association
- 4Thyroid Dysfunction: Screening (final recommendation statement)US Preventive Services Task Force
- 5Hypothyroidism (Underactive Thyroid)NIDDK (NIH)
- 6Hypothyroidism (patient page)American Thyroid Association
- 7Thyroid Hormone Treatment (patient page)American Thyroid Association
- 8
- 9
- 10Armour Thyroid (thyroid, porcine) tablets labelDailyMed (NLM)
- 11
- 12Thyroid Hormone Therapy for Older Adults with Subclinical Hypothyroidism (TRUST)New England Journal of Medicine, via PubMed
- 13
- 14
- 15Cost Plus Drugs public pricing API, CPD mail-order price listMark Cuban Cost Plus Drug Company
- 16
- 17
- 18Opportunity costs of ambulatory medical care in the United StatesAmerican Journal of Managed Care, via PubMed
- 19Medicare Physician & Other Practitioners - by Geography and Service, data year 2024Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)
- 20
- 21Paloma Health hypothyroidism pricingPaloma Health
- 22Paloma Health thyroid doctorsPaloma Health
- 23Paloma Health FAQPaloma Health
Related articles

How to get tretinoin through your AI, no subscription required
Generic tretinoin 0.025% cream is $14.17 on Cost Plus Drugs, while Curology and Agency charge $59.90 to $130 every 60 days (as of October 2026). Compare those subscriptions with a $40 FutureClinic visit.

How to get rosacea treated by a dermatologist through your AI
See how a doctor treats rosacea by message through your AI app for a $40 FutureClinic visit, with no subscription required. Compare prescription creams and pills, cash prices, Honeydew and Curology.

Low iron: how to get tested and treated through your AI
Compare 2026 ASH ferritin cutoffs, daily vs. alternate-day oral iron ($7.16 on GoodRx as of October 2026), and office visits with a $40 FutureClinic physician visit for discounted iron lab orders by message.

Mochi Health vs FutureClinic: a weight-loss membership, or a doctor per visit
Compare Mochi Health's $79/mo membership (as of October 2026), video visits and GLP-1 marketplace with FutureClinic, where a licensed MD, DO or MBBS treats you by message for $40 with no subscription required.
