A doctor answers
AI doctor vs AI-powered doctor: which is right for you?
Compare AI doctors like Doctronic, Counsel Health and Lotus Health AI with FutureClinic's AI-powered human physicians across safety, medical records, continuity and cost.


The short answer
Services like Doctronic, Counsel Health and Lotus Health AI let an AI give you initial medical advice, possible diagnoses or drafted plans on its own before an available clinician joins or signs off. Ask yourself whether you want an autonomous AI service and everything that comes with it, or whether you want to go directly to an expert doctor one to one. On FutureClinic, the AI only takes a detailed history and 100% of cases go to a human physician ($40 for the best-fit doctor, or a chosen doctor's listed price, typically $20 to $100, with no subscription required).
Key facts
- Doctronic, Counsel Health and Lotus Health AI let an AI give initial guidance, possible diagnoses or drafted care plans first, whereas on FutureClinic the AI only takes your history and 100% of cases go to a human physician (MD, DO or MBBS).
- OpenAI and Anthropic policies bar giving tailored, license-requiring medical advice without a qualified professional's review, and peer-reviewed studies show standalone AI models narrow too fast during history-taking, over-order tests and struggle with medical images.
- If you want free, instant AI probabilities before deciding whether to see a clinician, an AI-doctor app is a strong option; if you wanted an expert doctor directly with nothing attached, FutureClinic lets you message the same doctor over time, with doctors across more than 60 specialties.
Services like Doctronic, Counsel Health and Lotus Health AI let an AI give medical advice, possible diagnoses or drafted plans by itself; an available clinician joins when you ask or signs off, or through a booked video visit at Doctronic. Ask yourself: did you want that service and its requirements, or an expert doctor directly, one to one? If you want free, instant AI probabilities first, those apps are a strong option. If you wanted a doctor with nothing attached, FutureClinic gives you an AI-powered human physician.
What is the difference between an AI doctor and an AI-powered doctor?
We believe AI is a tool for doctors, and the doctor is in charge of every case. We also believe the technology isn't safe enough yet for an AI to give medical advice by itself, because most health problems have nuance and only an expert knows when an AI is heading to the wrong answer. Behind the scenes, FutureClinic's AI works like a chief resident: it takes a detailed history and prepares your case so the doctor moves faster, and it never gives medical advice by itself. Once you confirm your summary, 100% of cases go to a human doctor.
A specific doctor reads your whole case and answers you, including with a Human Signature, a short video or voice note recorded live for you. Video works both ways, so you can send a video too. Replies typically come within a few hours, and almost always the same day or the next. No form is approved in bulk. Your doctor can help with other problems in their specialty, and across more than 60 specialties, every FutureClinic doctor you see works from one medical record.
By contrast, Doctronic's free AI gives "possible diagnoses with probabilities and likely treatment plans" (its Utah refill pilot plans 5% to 10% monthly review in later phases), Counsel Health pursues "safe autonomous care" and states "we do not review every Output", and Lotus Health AI founder KJ Dhaliwal told TechCrunch in February 2026 that "AI is giving the advice, but the real doctors are actually signing off on it."
How Doctronic, Counsel Health, Lotus Health AI and FutureClinic compare
| Feature | Doctronic | Counsel Health | Lotus Health AI | FutureClinic |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who treats you | AI chat; "board-certified physicians" if booked | AI chat; "Board-certified doctors" | AI chat; "board-certified physicians", "state-licensed clinicians" | Physicians only (MD, DO or MBBS), never a nurse practitioner or physician assistant |
| Specialists | Emergency, internal, family, pediatrics; specialists by referral | Emergency, family/obesity leaders; no specialist service found | Not stated | Generalists and specialists across more than 60 specialties |
| What you pay (as of October 2026) | AI free; $39 video visit ($40 on one page) or copay; Utah refills free | AI free; $29 per 7-day visit or $300/year | Free (sponsor revenue planned) | $40 best-fit doctor, or listed price, typically $20 to $100 |
| Subscription required? | No subscription required | No subscription required | No subscription required | No subscription required (optional memberships typically $25 to $100/month) |
| Where medicine comes from | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | The pharmacy you choose, including mail-order pharmacies that deliver to your door |
| What else the doctor treats | Excludes complex specialist cases | Primary care, labs, referrals | Primary care, labs, referrals | Other problems in their specialty; every FutureClinic doctor you see works from one medical record |
| How you reach them | Web/app; video; no MCP | Web/app; chat; no consumer MCP | iOS app (CA only per FAQ); chat; no MCP | Message on futureclinic.com or from ChatGPT, Claude, Codex or Grok Bot; start from Instinct or Meta Muse |
| What you get back | AI SOAP note; 15-min wait for video | AI guidance; doctor usually in under 15 min | 24/7 AI; clinician sign-off (median 7.6 hours) | Plan and Human Signature video/voice note; replies typically within a few hours, almost always the same day or the next |
Why do AI makers and studies warn against standalone AI doctors?
AI makers bar autonomous care. OpenAI's Service Terms (October 16, 2026) state its services are "not intended for use in the diagnosis or treatment of any health condition", and OpenAI's usage policies bar license-requiring advice without a licensed professional. Anthropic's Usage Policy (effective November 12, 2026) requires: "A qualified person must meaningfully review a High-risk AI Recommendation". Under the FDA's January 2026 guidance, software giving diagnostic or treatment recommendations to patients "meet the definition of a device", and software analyzing a medical image "remains a device." FDA databases (October 2026) list no clearance for Doctronic, Counsel Health or Lotus Health AI, and Lotus's App Store page notes "Lotus AI is not a medical device."
Studies of general AI models show four risks:
- Narrowing too fast: In Harvard's CRAFT-MD (2025, 2,000 vignettes), GPT-4's four-choice accuracy fell from 82.0% on written cases to 62.7% in conversation. A 2024 Nature Medicine study (2,400 emergency cases) found "a tendency to diagnose before understanding or considering all the facts", and a February 2026 trial (1,298 UK adults) found chatbot users named a relevant condition in under 34.5% of scenarios.
- No full record: A chatbot knows only what you share with it; on FutureClinic, your doctor can see your entire medical records.
- Over-testing and anxiety: In a 2024 study (10,000 emergency visits per task), GPT models were "overly cautious in their clinical recommendations", over-ordering admissions, imaging and antibiotics. In a February 2026 test, ChatGPT Health sent 64.8% of self-care cases to a doctor and under-triaged 51.6% of emergencies. A 2019 meta-analysis (7,373 people) linked health anxiety with online health information seeking (r = 0.34) and with cyberchondria (r = 0.62).
- Image errors: In a June 2026 study (20 nail photo cases), dermatologists named the main diagnosis in 70.6% of cases versus 25.0% for four chatbots, and an August 2026 study found wrong AI skin predictions cut laypeople's accuracy by 21.1 points without misleading doctors.
Why does matching with the same human doctor over time matter?
One AI model reflects one training set, whereas patients and doctors practice differently. FutureClinic matches your symptoms and preferences across over 300 doctors to the right physician for you. You can message the same doctor time after time in the same chat to adjust a dose, swap an irritating cream or compare new labs against last year's. In a 2018 BMJ Open review, 18 of 22 observational studies linked higher continuity with generalist or specialist doctors to lower mortality, and a 2018 Medicare study (1.45 million patients) linked top-fifth continuity with 16.1% lower hospitalization odds and 14.1% lower spending.
For free AI answers in seconds and a video visit in about 15 minutes ($39 or copay, as of October 2026) in 50 states, Doctronic fits; for a $29 7-day chat or $300/year plan in 44 states (as of October 2026), Counsel Health fits; for free California iOS care where clinicians sign off on AI drafts, Lotus Health AI is $0 (as of October 2026), though clinicians in Lotus's May 2026 study rejected 10.2% of AI-drafted prescriptions. On FutureClinic, a visit is $40 for the best-fit doctor (or a chosen doctor's listed price, typically $20 to $100) with no subscription required, or an optional membership gives unlimited care with that doctor, cancel any time, typically $25 to $100 a month. Your doctor earns nothing extra for any prescription or test. If your doctor decides it's right for you, they can prescribe several months of a stable medicine at once when safe to the pharmacy you choose, where insurance or a discount coupon can lower the cost, and FutureClinic helps with prior authorizations. AI speeds up intake and lowers the cost, while a human doctor is with you every step.
Where FutureClinic works and how to start
FutureClinic works in 33 states and Washington, D.C.: Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Montana, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming, and Washington, D.C. Your doctor must be licensed in the state you're in; if you don't see your state, try anyway. FutureClinic is not for emergencies: call 911, or call or text 988 in a mental-health crisis.
Start on futureclinic.com or from your AI app at futureclinic.com/connect-your-ai:
Set up FutureClinic for me: read https://futureclinic.com/llms.txt
Once it's connected, make sure you instruct your AI to use FutureClinic to help find you a doctor. Otherwise, it may not know that this is what you want.
Get care by message from a FutureClinic doctor. There are no appointments and no video calls. Start a visit instantly on the web or in the FutureClinic app. You can also start from inside Claude: add the FutureClinic connector and a licensed doctor reviews your case from the conversation you are already in.
Questions, answered.
- Is an AI doctor safe to use without a human physician?
- We believe the technology isn't safe enough yet for an AI to give medical advice by itself. Frontier AI makers OpenAI and Anthropic both prohibit delivering tailored, high-risk medical diagnoses or treatment plans without meaningful review by a licensed professional, and peer-reviewed studies show standalone models often narrow on a diagnosis before gathering a complete history.
- How does FutureClinic use AI differently from Doctronic, Counsel Health and Lotus Health AI?
- Doctronic, Counsel Health and Lotus Health AI let their AI give you initial guidance, diagnostic probabilities or drafted care plans first, with an available clinician joining when you pay for a visit or signing off on the AI's drafts. On FutureClinic, the AI works behind the scenes like a chief resident: it only takes a detailed history, and 100% of cases go to a human physician who reads your case and replies with a written plan and a live-recorded Human Signature video or voice note.
- Can I see a specialist and keep the same doctor on FutureClinic?
- Yes. FutureClinic has over 300 doctors across more than 60 specialties, including both generalists and specialists, and every doctor holds an MD, DO or MBBS degree. After your first visit, you can message the same doctor time after time in the same chat, your doctor can help with other problems in their specialty, and every FutureClinic doctor you see works from one medical record.
- How much does FutureClinic cost compared with AI doctor apps?
- As of October 2026, Doctronic charges $39 (or an insurance copay) for a booked video visit, Counsel Health charges $29 per 7-day chat visit or $300 a year, and Lotus Health AI is free in California on iOS. On FutureClinic, a visit is $40 for the best-fit doctor, or a chosen doctor's listed price, typically $20 to $100, with no subscription required. If your doctor decides it's right for you, they can send several months of a stable prescription at once to the pharmacy you choose, where you can use insurance or a cash discount coupon.
Sources
- 1Resource Center (FAQ)Doctronic
- 2Doctronic Final Agreement (Utah Office of Artificial Intelligence Policy)Utah Department of Commerce
- 3Home page (with FAQ)Counsel Health
- 4Terms of UseCounsel Health
- 5Newsroom: A refreshed visual identityCounsel Health
- 6
- 7
- 8Lotus Health AI on the App StoreApple App Store
- 9Service termsOpenAI
- 10Usage policiesOpenAI
- 11Usage PolicyAnthropic
- 12
- 13
- 14
- 15
- 16
- 17
- 18
- 19
- 20
- 21
- 22
- 23
Related articles

A family doctor inside your AI app
When blood pressure, blood sugar and cholesterol creep up together, a family doctor looks at the whole picture. See how a $40 visit works from your AI app and how to keep the same physician over time.

No insurance? See a doctor from the AI app you already use
Need a doctor without insurance or stuck with a high deductible? Reach a licensed US physician by message from the AI app you already use for $40 upfront, with no subscription required.

A doctor in the Claude app on your phone
Do a quick one-time setup at claude.ai or in Claude Desktop, then use the Claude app on iPhone or Android to send your story and photos to a licensed physician, with no subscription required.

How to add a doctor to Grok Bot
Add FutureClinic to Grok Bot with one MCP command, or let your bot open futureclinic.com in its own browser. Because your bot already knows your weight loss history, it drafts the intake for you to verify.
