Your browser needs an update.

FutureClinic works in Chrome 111, Edge 111, Safari 16.4 and Firefox 128, or newer. Update your browser, or use the FutureClinic app.

Download on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

If you can't update, email help@futureclinic.com and we'll help.

A doctor answers

Tamiflu isn't over the counter: how to get it from a doctor online

Tamiflu and other flu antivirals require a prescription in the US. Learn who benefits most within the 48-hour window, what generic oseltamivir and Xofluza cost, and how to message a physician online.

Dr. Usama Syed, MDReviewed November 2026 · 8 min read

The short answer

In the United States, Tamiflu (oseltamivir) and other flu antivirals require a prescription because, in the CDC's words, "Antiviral drugs are not sold over the counter." If you want a single-issue service with a membership, several telehealth platforms offer quick visits, but if you want direct, one-to-one care from an expert physician (MD, DO or MBBS) with no subscription required, FutureClinic lets you message the best-fit doctor for $40 (or a chosen doctor at their listed price, typically $20 to $100) and send a prescription to the pharmacy you choose if your doctor decides it's right for you. Replies typically arrive within a few hours, almost always the same day or the next, and that same doctor can care for other problems in their specialty.

Key facts

  • All four CDC-recommended flu antivirals, including Tamiflu (oseltamivir) and Xofluza (baloxavir), are prescription-only in the US and work best when started within 48 hours of symptom onset, though starting later can still help higher-risk or severely ill patients.
  • As of October 2026, a 10-capsule adult course of generic oseltamivir 75 mg costs $12.88 before shipping ($18.13 with standard shipping) on Cost Plus Drugs, while single-dose Xofluza is available for a $50 self-pay flat fee through Genentech's program at select pharmacies or as little as $35 with a manufacturer coupon.
  • Instead of tying you to a subscription or a single-condition checklist, FutureClinic connects you one to one with a physician (MD, DO or MBBS) for $40 (or a chosen doctor's price, typically $20 to $100), who sends a Human Signature with your plan and can treat other concerns in their specialty.

In the United States, Tamiflu (oseltamivir) and other flu antivirals require a prescription. On its flu treatment page (read October 2026), the CDC states: "Antiviral drugs are not sold over the counter," and "You can only get them from a pharmacy if you have a prescription." Every FDA oseltamivir and baloxavir label (as of October 2026) reads "HUMAN PRESCRIPTION DRUG."

In its antiviral summary for clinicians (dated March 10, 2026, read October 2026), the CDC notes that "Clinicians can utilize telemedicine in place of office visits" for acute respiratory illness. On FutureClinic, every clinician is a state-licensed physician with an MD, DO or MBBS degree, never a nurse practitioner or physician assistant. A specific doctor reads your whole case and answers with a written plan and a Human Signature, a short video or voice note recorded live for you. No form is approved in bulk. Replies typically come within a few hours, and almost always the same day or the next, so start when symptoms begin. FutureClinic is not for emergencies: for emergency warning signs, go in person to an emergency room or call 911, or call or text 988 in a mental-health crisis.

Is it another service with its extra requirements you want, or a doctor who answers you? On FutureClinic, the same doctor can help with other problems in their specialty, and every FutureClinic doctor you see works from one medical record.

Who should take a flu antiviral and why the 48-hour window matters

Flu brings sudden fever or chills, cough, sore throat, runny nose, body aches, headaches and fatigue. Mild flu usually resolves in under two weeks without antivirals, and antibiotics never treat viruses.

The CDC recommends four FDA-approved, non-controlled antivirals: oral oseltamivir (Tamiflu and generic), oral baloxavir (Xofluza), inhaled zanamivir (Relenza, from age 7, not for asthma or COPD), and IV peramivir (Rapivab, an in-person infusion). Under CDC guidance and IDSA guidelines, treatment should start as soon as possible for patients who are hospitalized, have severe or worsening illness, or are at higher risk for flu complications: adults 65 and older, children under 5 (especially under 2), pregnant people (up to 2 weeks post-pregnancy), nursing-home residents, and those with asthma, chronic lung, heart, kidney, liver, blood, metabolic or neurologic conditions, diabetes, a BMI of 40 or higher, or weakened immunity. The CDC states treatment in priority groups "should not wait for laboratory confirmation of influenza virus infection."

Healthy outpatients can also be considered for treatment within 48 hours of symptom onset, including by telemedicine. Starting within two days works best and can "shorten the time you are sick by about a day," per the CDC. In adult trials on the Tamiflu FDA label (ages 18 to 65, started within 40 hours), median time to improvement was 1.3 days shorter than with placebo. Still, the CDC notes "starting them later can still be helpful" for higher-risk, worsening or hospitalized patients.

Generic Tamiflu vs Xofluza: doses, side effects and October 2026 cash prices

In a March 20, 2026 update, the CDC called oral oseltamivir "the default option for most patients with flu," including in pregnancy. Approved from age 2 weeks, the adult and teen (13+) treatment dose is 75 mg twice daily for 5 days (10 capsules), with weight-based children's dosing and renal adjustments. Baloxavir (Xofluza) is a single tablet (40 mg for 20 to under 80 kg; 80 mg for 80 kg or more) approved from age 5, though not recommended alone for pregnant or breastfeeding, immunocompromised, worsening or hospitalized patients. On the Xofluza FDA label, healthy patients 12 and older reached symptom relief in a median of 54 hours on Xofluza or oseltamivir versus 80 hours on placebo. Avoid taking Xofluza with dairy, calcium-fortified drinks, mineral antacids or laxatives, or calcium, iron, magnesium, selenium or zinc supplements.

In adult Tamiflu trials, nausea (10% vs 6% on placebo), vomiting (8% vs 3%) and headache were the top side effects; food helps, and nausea usually passes in two days. Rare serious skin reactions and rare delirium or abnormal behavior (mostly in children) appear on the label. In Xofluza trials (ages 12+), diarrhea (3%), bronchitis (3%), nausea (2%), sinusitis (2%) and headache (1%) were no more common than with placebo.

As of October 2026, cash prices are:

  • Generic oseltamivir: On the Cost Plus Drugs price list (as of October 2026), ten 75 mg capsules cost $12.88 before shipping ($18.13 shipped); 45 mg costs $8.25 ($13.50 shipped) and 30 mg costs $8.33 ($13.58 shipped).
  • Brand Xofluza: Cost Plus Drugs lists one 40 mg or 80 mg tablet at $183.93 before shipping ($189.18 shipped) as of October 2026. Through Genentech's self-pay program and Xofluza coupon page (as of October 2026), eligible uninsured self-pay patients pay a $50 flat fee via select pharmacies (Alto Pharmacy, Cost Plus Drugs, and Costco for members), or as little as $35 (up to $70 off) with a coupon at most pharmacies for commercially insured or cash-paying patients (excluding Medicare, Medicaid and TRICARE).

If your doctor decides it's right for you, FutureClinic sends prescriptions to the pharmacy you choose, including local or mail-order pharmacies that deliver to your door, with a cash discount coupon, or you can use insurance at the pharmacy. FutureClinic also helps get prior authorizations when insurance requires one.

Comparing online doctor visits for flu treatment

AMN Healthcare's 2025 survey (read October 2026) found a 23.5-day average wait for a new-patient family medicine appointment in 15 metro areas, FAIR Health's 2025 report (read October 2026) found a $227 average urgent care charge (code 99213), and Zocdoc's guide (updated October 2026) cites $40 to $300 (averaging $171) for an uninsured primary care visit.

On FutureClinic, a real doctor reads every case and decides, you keep the same doctor, and no subscription is required. As of October 2026, GoodRx Care is $19 per visit with a Companion membership ($14.99/month or $119.88/year) or $39 to $70 without one, Amazon One Medical is $29 by message or $49 by video, Sesame starts at $34 for prescription visits and $37 for telehealth, and Doctronic offers free AI chat and $39 video visits. If you hold a GoodRx membership or want a $29 single-issue visit on Amazon, those services fit well.

On FutureClinic, you pay $40 for the best-fit doctor, or a chosen doctor's listed price, typically $20 to $100, with no subscription required. Over 300 doctors practice on FutureClinic. They cover more than 60 specialties, generalists and specialists alike. Your doctor earns nothing extra for any prescription or test, and for a stable medicine, that same doctor can prescribe several months at once when they judge it safe. Most doctors also offer an optional membership, typically $25 to $100 a month, for unlimited care with that doctor, cancel any time.

FeatureGoodRx CareDoctronicSesameAmazon One MedicalFutureClinic
Who treats youLicensed providersAI chat; doctors for videoDoctors, NPs, PAsMDs, DOs, PAs, NPsPhysicians only (MD, DO or MBBS)
Price (Oct 2026)$19 w/ membership; $39-$70 withoutFree AI; $39 videoFrom $37 visit; $34 script$29 message; $49 video$40 best-fit, or typically $20 to $100
Subscription?Optional ($14.99/mo)Not requiredNot requiredNot requiredNo subscription required (optional membership)
PharmacyNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedThe pharmacy you choose
Broader careNot statedNot statedNot statedVaries by stateOther problems in their specialty; every FutureClinic doctor you see works from one medical record
AccessText, phone, videoAI chat, videoVideoMessage, videofutureclinic.com or your AI app
What you getVisit + scriptInstant AI; videoVideo visitPlan + 14d chatPlan + Human Signature

How to treat the flu with AI and a real doctor

At FutureClinic, we believe AI is a tool for doctors, and the doctor is in charge of every case. Because health problems have nuance and only an expert can tell when an AI has made a mistake or is heading to the wrong answer, FutureClinic's AI works behind the scenes like a chief resident: it gathers your history and prepares the case so the doctor can move faster, and it never gives medical advice by itself.

Start from ChatGPT, Claude, Claude Code, Codex or Grok Bot at futureclinic.com/connect-your-ai, or send: Set up FutureClinic for me: read https://futureclinic.com/llms.txt

Once it's connected, make sure you instruct your AI to use FutureClinic to help find you a doctor. Otherwise, it may not know that this is what you want.

Use FutureClinic to connect me with a doctor for my flu symptoms.

Or start on futureclinic.com. FutureClinic works in 33 states and Washington, D.C., where your doctor must be licensed in the state you're in: Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Montana, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming, and Washington, D.C. If you don't see your state, try anyway, as the list is growing.

Get care for flu by message from a FutureClinic doctor. There are no appointments and no video calls. Start a visit instantly on the web or in the FutureClinic app. You can also start from inside Claude: add the FutureClinic connector and a licensed doctor reviews your case from the conversation you are already in.

Questions, answered.

Can you buy Tamiflu over the counter at CVS, Walgreens or Costco?
No. In the United States, Tamiflu (oseltamivir) and all other FDA-approved flu antivirals are prescription-only medications. As the CDC states, antiviral drugs are not sold over the counter and a pharmacy can dispense them only with a prescription from a doctor or other licensed healthcare provider.
Can an online doctor prescribe Tamiflu or Xofluza without a flu test?
Yes, if your doctor decides it's right for you based on your symptoms and medical history. In its March 2026 clinician guidance, the CDC states that clinicians can use telemedicine in place of office visits for acute respiratory illness and should not wait for laboratory confirmation of flu before starting antiviral treatment in priority groups; for other patients, it says clinicians can consider early treatment within two days of onset "based upon clinical judgment, including without an office visit".
Is it too late to take Tamiflu after 48 hours?
Antiviral treatment provides the greatest benefit when started within 48 hours of the first symptoms, shortening illness by about a day on average. However, the CDC notes that starting oseltamivir after 48 hours can still help, particularly for people at higher risk of flu complications, pregnant patients, hospitalized patients, or outpatients whose symptoms are severe or worsening.
How much do generic Tamiflu and Xofluza cost without insurance?
As of October 2026, a 10-capsule adult course of generic oseltamivir 75 mg costs $12.88 before shipping ($18.13 with standard shipping) on Cost Plus Drugs. Brand-name Xofluza (a single-tablet course) lists for $183.93 before shipping on Cost Plus Drugs, but Genentech offers a $50 self-pay flat fee without insurance via select pharmacies (including Alto Pharmacy, Cost Plus Drugs, and Costco for Costco members) and a manufacturer coupon for as little as $35 at most pharmacies.

Sources

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
    XOFLUZA (baloxavir marboxil)FDA label via DailyMed (Genentech)
  8. 8
    Public pricing API, CPD price listMark Cuban Cost Plus Drug Company
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
    Pay-per-visit pageOne Medical / Amazon
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15
  16. 16
  17. 17

Medically reviewed by Dr. Usama Syed, MD

Text a FutureClinic doctor about your flu

Start a visit instantly. Dr. Usama Syed, MD or another FutureClinic doctor licensed in your state writes back with a plan.

Text a doctor

© 2026 FutureClinic (OpenClinic International, Inc)

Apple and the Apple logo are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries. App Store is a service mark of Apple Inc. Google Play and the Google Play logo are trademarks of Google LLC.

Verify LegitScript Approval for www.futureclinic.com

About FutureClinic

FutureClinic is a platform that allows any U.S. based doctor to be a personal doctor through chat. Patients can then chat to their chosen doctors and receive healthcare from them when they need it for a one-off fee or a monthly subscription.