A doctor answers
How to treat depression with AI and a real doctor
How online depression treatment works: PHQ-9 screening, SSRI and SNRI medicines, October 2026 prices across six services, and how a FutureClinic physician cares for you by message for $40 a visit.


The short answer
Depression treatment online starts with a clinical evaluation and screening such as the PHQ-9, followed by evidence-based psychotherapy, a non-controlled antidepressant such as an SSRI, SNRI, bupropion or mirtazapine if your doctor decides it's right for you, or both. While many online mental health platforms charge monthly medication subscriptions, FutureClinic offers one-to-one care from a physician with no subscription required. On FutureClinic, an AI assistant gathers your history behind the scenes while a state-licensed physician (MD, DO or MBBS) reads your whole case, records a video or voice Human Signature, and follows up as the same doctor for $40 a visit (or a chosen doctor's listed price, typically $20 to $100).
Key facts
- US guidelines from the ACP (2023, updated through March 2026) and VA/DoD (2022) recommend cognitive behavioral therapy or second-generation antidepressants such as SSRIs, SNRIs, bupropion or mirtazapine as first-line treatments for major depression; antidepressants usually take 4 to 8 weeks to work and carry an FDA boxed warning on suicidal thoughts and behaviors for patients under 25.
- According to the NIMH, 21.0 million US adults (8.3%) had a major depressive episode in 2021; diagnosis uses tools such as the PHQ-9 (where scores of 5, 10, 15, and 20 mark mild, moderate, moderately severe, and severe depression) and rules out causes like low thyroid or vitamin B-12 deficiency.
- On FutureClinic, a visit is $40 for the best-fit doctor (or a chosen doctor's listed price, typically $20 to $100), 100% of cases are decided by a human physician (MD, DO or MBBS) who records a personal Human Signature, and prescriptions go to the pharmacy you choose, where 30 tablets of generic sertraline 50 mg cost $5.69 before shipping on Cost Plus Drugs as of October 2026.
Treating depression online with a physician involves a clinical evaluation and PHQ-9 symptom screening, followed by a non-controlled antidepressant such as an SSRI, SNRI, bupropion, or mirtazapine if your doctor decides it's right for you, or therapy your doctor can suggest. FutureClinic is not for emergencies: call 911, or call or text 988 (the free, confidential 24/7 Suicide and Crisis Lifeline) in a mental-health crisis or if you might hurt yourself or someone else.
Do you want a monthly medication subscription and its requirements, or the same doctor at every follow-up? On FutureClinic, a specific doctor reads your whole case and answers you with a Human Signature, a short video or voice note recorded live for you. No form is approved in bulk. You see physicians only (MD, DO or MBBS), never a nurse practitioner or physician assistant.
Your doctor can also help with other problems in their specialty, such as sleep or thyroid labs. FutureClinic has over 300 doctors. Generalists and specialists practice across more than 60 specialties, and every FutureClinic doctor you see works from one medical record, so different kinds of care sit in one place.
How do AI and a real doctor work together for depression?
We believe AI is a tool for doctors, and that the technology is not safe enough yet to give medical advice by itself. Depression has nuance and needs one-to-one attention, because only an expert knows when an AI makes a mistake.
On FutureClinic, the doctor is in charge of every case (100% go to a human doctor). FutureClinic's AI works behind the scenes like a chief resident: it gathers your history and prepares a summary you confirm before the doctor reads your case, the whole conversation, and decides. It never gives medical advice by itself. Replies typically come within a few hours, almost always the same day or the next, because real care takes hours, not seconds.
How is depression recognized and what treatments come first?
According to the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH), major depressive disorder affects how you feel, think, and handle daily activities; in 2021, 21.0 million US adults (8.3%) had a major depressive episode, and 61.0% got treatment. The US Preventive Services Task Force (June 2023) recommends screening all adults, often with the PHQ-9, which scores nine DSM-5 symptoms from 0 to 3 (5, 10, 15, and 20 mark mild, moderate, moderately severe, and severe depression; 10+ had 88% sensitivity and specificity in a 6,000-patient study) and asks about suicidal thoughts. Diagnosis requires five or more symptoms over two weeks and ruling out causes like low thyroid or vitamin B-12 deficiency (2022 VA/DoD guideline), which your doctor can check with discounted lab tests.
The American College of Physicians (2023 guideline, updated March 2026) suggests cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) for mild depression, and CBT or a second-generation antidepressant (or both) for moderate to severe depression. The 2022 VA/DoD guideline recommends therapy or medicine by preference, and suggests both when severe (PHQ-9 above 20), chronic, or recurrent. FutureClinic is not a therapy service, though your doctor can suggest therapy. If your doctor decides it's right for you, they can prescribe a non-controlled first-line antidepressant by message: SSRIs such as sertraline (Zoloft, 50 to 200 mg), escitalopram (Lexapro, 10 to 20 mg), fluoxetine (Prozac), paroxetine (Paxil), and citalopram (Celexa, 20 to 40 mg; 20 mg max over 60 for QT risk); SNRIs such as venlafaxine ER (Effexor XR), duloxetine, and desvenlafaxine (Pristiq); or bupropion XL (Wellbutrin XL, 150 to 300 mg; avoided in seizure or eating disorders), mirtazapine (Remeron, 15 to 45 mg), trazodone, vilazodone (Viibryd), and vortioxetine (Trintellix).
How long do medicines take, and when is in-person care needed?
NIMH notes antidepressants usually take 4 to 8 weeks to work, often improving sleep and energy before mood. The VA/DoD guideline recommends continuing the full dose for at least six months after remission, and drug labels advise tapering gradually when stopping. Every antidepressant label carries an FDA boxed warning on increased suicidal thoughts and behaviors under age 25 in short-term trials (5 more cases per 1,000 at ages 18 to 24, versus 1 fewer at 25 to 64). Doctors screen for bipolar disorder first and monitor closely early on. Messaging the same doctor on FutureClinic lets your doctor track your PHQ-9 scores and adjust your dose over time.
While AMN Healthcare's 2025 survey found a 31-day average wait for a new-patient physician visit across 15 US metros (23.5 days in family medicine), some cases need in-person or specialist care. VA/DoD guidance directs acute safety risks to emergency or inpatient care, and psychosis, catatonia, or multiple failed trials to specialty care. In-person care is required for rTMS, ECT, and esketamine nasal spray (Spravato, Schedule III). FutureClinic doctors never prescribe controlled medicines, including benzodiazepines (Xanax, Klonopin), stimulants, Spravato, or zuranolone (Zurzuvae, Schedule IV).
How do online depression services compare in 2026?
All prices and details below were checked as of October 2026.
| Feature | Cerebral | Talkiatry | Brightside | Hims and Hers | Lemonaid | FutureClinic |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who treats you | "licensed prescriber"; therapists ("LCSW", "LPC", "LMFT") | "board-certified psychiatrists (MD/DO)" and "PMHNPs" | "Psychiatrists, physicians, or psychiatric-mental health nurse practitioners"; therapists | "an independent physician" or licensed provider | "doctors, nurse practitioners and pharmacists" | Physicians only (MD, DO or MBBS), never a nurse practitioner or physician assistant |
| What you pay (as of October 2026) | Meds $180/3 mos ($60/mo); therapy $150/session ($175 older page); or insurance | Insurance only (most copays $30 or less); no self-pay | Self-pay $95/mo psychiatry, $299/mo therapy, $349/mo both; or insurance | Plans "from $49/mo"; no insurance | $95/mo ($25 first month); no insurance | $40 for the best-fit doctor, or a chosen doctor's listed price, typically $20 to $100; optional membership typically $25 to $100/mo |
| Subscription required? | Yes for self-pay meds; per session for therapy | No (per visit to insurance) | Yes for self-pay plans | Yes (monthly plans) | Yes ($95/mo, cancel anytime) | No subscription required |
| Where the medicine comes from | CerebralRx (included) or local pharmacy ($15 rebate) | Not stated | Local pharmacy (copay extra) | Shipped free on plans | Lemonaid Pharmacy (included) or local pharmacy | The pharmacy you choose (pickup or mail-order delivery) |
| What else the doctor can help with | Anxiety, depression, insomnia, PTSD (no controlled meds) | Outpatient psychiatry: anxiety, depression, ADHD, bipolar, OCD, PTSD (prescribes controlled meds) | Psychiatry and therapy for anxiety, depression and complex conditions (no benzodiazepines) | Anxiety and depression (no controlled substances) | Depression and anxiety, ages 25 to 63 (no benzodiazepines) | Other problems in their specialty; every FutureClinic doctor you see works from one medical record (no controlled meds) |
| How you reach them | RingCentral video and messaging | 60-min video intake, 30-min follow-ups, portal | Video (30-min consult) and messaging | Online assessment and messaging | Messaging, phone or video | By message on futureclinic.com or from ChatGPT, Claude, Codex or Grok Bot; start from Instinct or Meta Muse |
| What you get back | Video visits; message replies up to 2 business days | Video visits and portal messages | Video visits and messaging | Evaluation and messaging; therapy not stated | Phone, video or message consults; no CBT | Written plan and Human Signature, typically within a few hours, almost always the same day or the next |
If you want live video therapy, Brightside ($299/month therapy or $349/month combined, or insurance, as of October 2026) and Cerebral ($150/session from October 6, 2026, or insurance) offer therapy. If you want insurance-billed video psychiatry or a controlled medicine like clonazepam when appropriate, Talkiatry accepts 100+ plans. If you want medicine bundled into a subscription, Hims and Hers ("from $49/mo" as of October 2026), Cerebral ($180/3 months with CerebralRx, as of October 2026), and Lemonaid ($95/month after a $25 first month, as of October 2026) bundle medicine.
Compare the year's cost. Staying subscribed for 12 months to keep getting refills costs at least $588 at Hims and Hers, $720 at Cerebral, or $1,070 at Lemonaid. On FutureClinic, there is no subscription required: pay $40 for the best-fit doctor, or a chosen doctor's listed price, typically $20 to $100. Your doctor earns nothing extra for any prescription or test and sends prescriptions to the pharmacy you choose, including pickup or mail-order pharmacies that deliver to your door, where you can use insurance (with prior authorization help when needed) or a discount coupon. On Cost Plus Drugs as of October 2026, 30 tablets of generic sertraline 50 mg cost $5.69 before shipping ($10.94 shipped), escitalopram 10 mg is $6.25 ($11.50 shipped), and bupropion XL 150 mg is $5.99 ($11.24 shipped). For a stable medicine, your doctor can prescribe several months at once when safe, so three or four $40 visits a year ($120 to $160) plus 12 months of generic sertraline ($68.28 to $131.28) totals $188 to $291. Most doctors also offer an optional membership: unlimited care with that doctor, cancel any time, typically $25 to $100 a month.
Seeing a FutureClinic doctor for depression from your AI app
FutureClinic works in 33 states and Washington, D.C.: Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Montana, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming, and Washington, D.C. Your doctor must be licensed in the state you're in, and if you do not see your state listed, try anyway as coverage grows.
Start at futureclinic.com, or connect your AI app at futureclinic.com/connect-your-ai with this line:
Set up FutureClinic for me: read https://futureclinic.com/llms.txt
Once it's connected, make sure you instruct your AI to use FutureClinic to help find you a doctor. Otherwise, it may not know that this is what you want.
Get care for depression by message from a FutureClinic doctor. There are no appointments and no video calls. Start a visit instantly on the web or in the FutureClinic app. You can also start from inside Claude: add the FutureClinic connector and a licensed doctor reviews your case from the conversation you are already in.
Questions, answered.
- Can a FutureClinic doctor prescribe depression medication by message?
- Yes, if your doctor decides it's right for you after reviewing your history, symptoms, and screening answers. FutureClinic physicians (MD, DO or MBBS) can prescribe non-controlled antidepressants such as SSRIs, SNRIs, bupropion, mirtazapine, trazodone, vilazodone, or vortioxetine to the pharmacy you choose.
- Does FutureClinic prescribe Xanax, Klonopin, Adderall, or Spravato?
- No. FutureClinic doctors never prescribe controlled medicines, including benzodiazepines (Xanax, Klonopin), stimulants (Adderall), esketamine nasal spray (Spravato, Schedule III, which requires in-person clinic monitoring under a restricted REMS program), or zuranolone (Zurzuvae, Schedule IV).
- Does FutureClinic offer psychotherapy or crisis care?
- No. FutureClinic provides physician care by message and is not a therapy service, though your doctor can suggest therapy when it would help. FutureClinic is not for emergencies or a mental-health crisis: call or text 988 (the Suicide and Crisis Lifeline) or call 911.
- Do I need a monthly subscription to get depression treatment on FutureClinic?
- No subscription is required. You pay $40 per visit for the best-fit doctor, or pick a specific physician at their listed price, typically $20 to $100. Most doctors also offer an optional membership for unlimited care with that doctor, cancel any time, typically $25 to $100 a month.
Sources
- 1Depression (health topic)NIH, National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)
- 2
- 3Depression and Suicide Risk in Adults: Screening (final recommendation statement)US Preventive Services Task Force
- 4The PHQ-9: validity of a brief depression severity measure (PMID 11556941)Journal of General Internal Medicine (via PubMed)
- 5Nonpharmacologic and Pharmacologic Treatments of Adults in the Acute Phase of Major Depressive Disorder: A Living Clinical Guideline From the American College of Physicians (PMID 36689752)Annals of Internal Medicine (ACP guideline via PubMed)
- 6Update Alert 4 (Version 1) to the ACP depression guideline (PMID 41802255)Annals of Internal Medicine (via PubMed)
- 7
- 8
- 9ZOLOFT (sertraline) FDA labelFDA label via DailyMed
- 10WELLBUTRIN XL (bupropion) FDA labelFDA label via DailyMed
- 11SPRAVATO (esketamine) nasal spray FDA labelFDA label via DailyMed
- 12Public pricing API, CPD price listMark Cuban Cost Plus Drug Company
- 13
- 14
- 15Talkiatry llms.txtTalkiatry
- 16Brightside Health FAQBrightside Health
- 17Hims Mental HealthHims & Hers Health
- 18Lemonaid Health Depression and Anxiety ServiceLemonaid Health
Related articles

What a doctor visit costs without insurance in 2026
Compare 2026 self-pay prices for primary care, urgent care, retail clinics, emergency rooms and telehealth, plus how a $40 FutureClinic message visit connects you to a licensed physician with no subscription.

Online prescription refill: how to renew a medicine you already take, and what it costs
A FutureClinic doctor can renew a medicine by message ($40 for the best-fit doctor, no subscription required), with the same doctor next time. Five other services charge $33 to $129 a cash visit as of October 2026.

AI dermatologist apps vs a real dermatologist by message
Compare consumer AI dermatologist apps with messaging a dermatologist on FutureClinic: what app disclaimers say, FDA status, accuracy on phone photos and darker skin, and October 2026 prices.

How to treat a UTI with AI and a real doctor
Online UTI treatment with nitrofurantoin, TMP-SMX or fosfomycin ($5.23 to $16.50 before shipping on Cost Plus Drugs as of October 2026), when you need a urine culture, and how 7 telehealth services compare.
