Your browser needs an update.

FutureClinic works in Chrome 111, Edge 111, Safari 16.4 and Firefox 128, or newer. Update your browser, or use the FutureClinic app.

Download on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

If you can't update, email help@futureclinic.com and we'll help.

A dermatologist answers

Online dermatologists: how the services differ, and how to message one through your AI

Do you want a skin subscription and its requirements, or an expert doctor one to one? Compare Curology, Honeydew, Miiskin, DermatologistOnCall, Hims & Hers, and FutureClinic as of October 2026.

Dr. Usama Syed, MDReviewed October 2026 · 7 min read

The short answer

Before choosing an online skin service, ask whether you want a subscription bundle and everything that comes with it, or direct, one-to-one care from an expert physician. Services like Curology and Musely are strong options if you want their compounded formulas priced into a subscription, while Honeydew, Miiskin, and DermatologistOnCall focus on skin-only visits. If all you wanted was a licensed physician (MD, DO or MBBS) with nothing attached, FutureClinic lets you message the same doctor over time and receive a live recorded Human Signature for $40 (or a chosen doctor's price, typically $20 to $100, with no subscription required), on futureclinic.com or from your AI app.

Key facts

  • The first question to ask is whether you want a company's compounded subscription (such as Curology at $29.95 a month as of October 2026, a strong option if you want its formula shipped on a schedule) or direct, one-to-one care from an expert physician with nothing attached.
  • On FutureClinic, every clinician is a licensed physician (MD, DO or MBBS) who earns nothing extra for any prescription or test and replies with a live recorded Human Signature, typically within a few hours and almost always the same day or the next, compared with a 36.5-day average wait for an in-person dermatology visit across 15 large US metros (AMN Healthcare, May 2025).
  • After a FutureClinic visit ($40 for the best-fit doctor, or typically $20 to $100 for a chosen doctor, no subscription required), you can keep messaging the same doctor to adjust treatments together, your prescription goes to the pharmacy you choose, and every FutureClinic doctor you see, among over 300 doctors in more than 60 specialties, works from one medical record.

New patients wait an average of 36.5 days to see a dermatologist in person across 15 large US metros (up to 291 days in Portland, Oregon), according to AMN Healthcare's May 2025 survey. An American Journal of Managed Care study found office visits average 121 minutes with travel and clinic time. Before choosing an online service, ask yourself: do you want a subscription and its requirements, or an expert doctor one to one?

If you want a brand's own compounded formula priced into a subscription, that company is a strong option. If all you wanted was an expert doctor directly, FutureClinic gives you that with nothing attached. Every clinician is a licensed physician (MD, DO or MBBS), never a nurse practitioner or physician assistant. A specific doctor reads your whole case and photos, writes your plan, and includes a Human Signature: a short live-recorded video or voice note. No form is approved in bulk.

After your first visit, you can message the same doctor time after time in the same chat, however long in between, to build trust, try treatments together, and track progress: swapping an irritating cream, adjusting a dose, checking lab tests during an isotretinoin course, or deciding when to step up or step down. The dermatologist treating your hair loss can also treat your acne, eczema, or other problems in their specialty. FutureClinic has over 300 doctors. Across more than 60 specialties, you can see other specialists too, and every FutureClinic doctor you see works from one medical record.

How online dermatology services compare side by side

Prices below were checked as of October 2026.

FeatureCurologyHoneydewMiiskinDermatologistOnCallHims & HersFutureClinic
Who treats you"board-certified physician, physician assistant, or nurse practitioner""licensed dermatologists, dermatology physician assistants, or dermatology nurse practitioners""exclusively with independent, board-certified dermatologists""board-certified dermatologists and mid-level providers""licensed" providers (MDs, DOs, NPs)Physicians only (MD, DO or MBBS), never an NP or PA
What you pay (as of October 2026)Custom formula $29.95/mo; hair $44.95/moBasic $39/mo or $299/yr; Accutane $64/moTypically $59-$79 new, $39-$49 renewal; Accutane $69/mo$95 per visitFinasteride from $22/mo; oral minoxidil from $29/mo$40 best-fit doctor, or chosen doctor, typically $20 to $100
Subscription required?Yes (or $24.97 Walmart kit)Yes (3-mo minimum)No ($69/mo for Accutane)No subscription foundYes, for prescriptionsNo subscription required (with most doctors, an optional membership, typically $25 to $100/mo)
Where medicine comes fromPersonalized Skin Solutions (topicals); local or InnovaScript (pills)Local or mail-order pharmacies; compounded formulasAny pharmacy; Foothills for custom formulasPharmacy of your choiceNot statedThe pharmacy you choose (local or mail-order)
What else they help withAcne, rosacea, aging, some hair loss; no eczema, psoriasis, or isotretinoinDermatology only (acne, eczema, psoriasis, rosacea, hair loss)Dermatology only (no biologics)One skin, hair, or nail condition per visitHair, skin, weight, mental health, labs, ED, menopauseOther problems in their specialty; every FutureClinic doctor you see works from one medical record
How you reach themMessaging; no MCP or AI appMessaging, video when needed; no MCP or AI appMessages, some video; no MCP or AI appMessaging; no MCP or AI appMessaging (and video when required); own app AI, no MCPBy message on futureclinic.com or your AI app
What you get backTypical reply in 2-3 daysReplies 7 days/weekReply in 24-48 hours (18.6h avg)Plan within 48 hours (usually 24h)Plan by message (time not stated)Plan, Human Signature, reply typically in a few hours (same or next day)

Do you want a compounded skincare subscription or a doctor one to one?

Curology, Musely, and Nurx focus on recurring refills, and Hims & Hers require a subscription for prescriptions. As of October 2026, Curology's custom formula is $29.95 a month ($59.90 per 60 days) for the provider review and compounded topical; Musely charges a $20 visit fee plus compounded creams such as The Spot Cream ($36 a month or $103 once); and Nurx charges a $40 consult, a $3 monthly fee, and cash generics from $15 a month. They suit people seeking a brand's own formula or medicine priced into a subscription: Curology treats ages 13 and up, sells a $24.97 Walmart kit, and offers a credit of up to $400 to 70 people a month in financial need; Musely offers a 60-day first-order medicine refund guarantee; and Nurx bills private insurance for medicine.

On FutureClinic, a licensed physician treats you, whereas Curology and Nurx use physicians, physician assistants or nurse practitioners, and Hims & Hers' provider lists name MDs, DOs and NPs, and Curology does not treat eczema or psoriasis or prescribe isotretinoin. FutureClinic sells no products, and your doctor earns nothing extra for any prescription or test, prescribing any brand or generic medicine with no house formulary. While $29.95 to $44.95 a month on Curology runs about $360 to $540 a year to keep getting medicine, FutureClinic has no subscription required: a visit is $40 for the best-fit doctor, or a chosen doctor's price, typically $20 to $100. For a stable medicine, when the doctor judges it safe and if your doctor decides it's right for you, one visit can cover several months of refills at the pharmacy you choose, including local and mail-order pharmacies that deliver to your door, using insurance or our texted cash discount coupon.

How do dermatology-only portals work?

Honeydew, Miiskin, and DermatologistOnCall treat skin, hair, and nails only and use outside pharmacies. As of October 2026, Honeydew is $39 a month (3-month minimum, $26 early-exit fee) or $299 a year ($25 a month), and medicines and labs can use insurance, including Medicare and Medicaid drug benefits. Miiskin is typically $59 to $79 for a new consult ($39 to $49 renewals) with independent, board-certified dermatologists you choose, and DermatologistOnCall is $95 per visit for one condition. All three cover all 50 states, and Honeydew and some Miiskin dermatologists offer video when needed.

FutureClinic has no three-month minimum. Your doctor can help with other problems in their specialty, order lab tests at discounted prices, and help with prior authorizations when insurance needs one. Dermatologists who choose to offer isotretinoin (Accutane) manage it by message, iPLEDGE included. Most doctors also offer an optional membership (typically $25 to $100 a month) for unlimited care with that doctor, cancel any time.

How does AI fit into your care?

Curology states it never prescribes by AI, Miiskin uses machine learning in intake, and Musely uses an in-app "AI powered eNurse Bot" for general tips. None of these services offer an MCP server or connect to ChatGPT or Claude.

At FutureClinic, we believe AI is a tool for doctors, and the human doctor is in charge of every case. We believe most health problems have nuance and need one-to-one attention, and that only an expert can tell when an AI has made a mistake or is heading to the wrong answer. Our AI works behind the scenes like a chief resident: it gathers your history, medicines, and photos, lets you confirm a summary before it reaches the doctor, and never gives medical advice by itself. Real care from a doctor takes hours, not seconds; replies typically come within a few hours, and almost always the same day or the next.

Care is by message only, with no video visits or in-office procedures, and FutureClinic doctors do not prescribe controlled medicines (opioids, stimulants, benzodiazepines, testosterone, or phentermine). FutureClinic is not for emergencies: call 911 in an emergency, or call or text 988 in a mental-health crisis.

Where FutureClinic works and how to start from your AI app

FutureClinic works in 33 states and Washington, D.C.: Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Montana, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming, and Washington, D.C. Your doctor must be licensed in the state you're in. If you don't see your state, try anyway, as coverage grows.

Start on futureclinic.com or from your AI app (ChatGPT, Claude, Claude Code, Codex, Grok Bot or Meta Muse) at https://futureclinic.com/connect-your-ai so intake uses what your AI already knows. From Instinct, you get a text with a short note in your words and a link to FutureClinic's web chat. Or send this line to any AI app that reads the web:

Set up FutureClinic for me: read https://futureclinic.com/llms.txt

Once it's connected, make sure you instruct your AI to use FutureClinic to help find you a doctor. Otherwise, it may not know that this is what you want.

Use FutureClinic to help find me a doctor for my skin concern.

Get care for skin by message from a FutureClinic dermatologist. There are no appointments and no video calls. Start a visit instantly on the web or in the FutureClinic app. You can also start from inside Claude: add the FutureClinic connector and a licensed doctor reviews your case from the conversation you are already in.

Questions, answered.

Do I need a monthly subscription to see an online dermatologist on FutureClinic?
No, there is no subscription required. You pay $40 for the best-fit doctor, or a chosen doctor's price, typically $20 to $100. For a stable medication, if your doctor decides it's right for you and judges it safe, they can prescribe several months at once. Most doctors also offer an optional membership for unlimited care with that doctor, typically $25 to $100 a month, cancel any time.
Will I be treated by a physician or a nurse practitioner?
On FutureClinic, every clinician is a licensed physician (MD, DO or MBBS), never a nurse practitioner or physician assistant. Services like Curology, Honeydew, Nurx, DermatologistOnCall, and Hims & Hers use a mix of physicians and nurse practitioners or physician assistants, while Miiskin and Musely partner exclusively with board-certified doctors.
Can an online dermatologist prescribe Accutane (isotretinoin) by message?
On FutureClinic, isotretinoin is prescribed only by dermatologists who choose to offer it, and they manage it by message, iPLEDGE included. Honeydew and some dermatologists on Miiskin also offer isotretinoin plans, while Curology and Nurx do not.

Sources

  1. 1
  2. 2
    Opportunity costs of ambulatory medical care in the United StatesAmerican Journal of Managed Care (via PubMed)
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11

Medically reviewed by Dr. Usama Syed, MD

Text a FutureClinic dermatologist about your skin

Start a visit instantly. Dr. Usama Syed, MD or another FutureClinic dermatologist licensed in your state writes back with a plan.

Text a dermatologist

© 2026 FutureClinic (OpenClinic International, Inc)

Apple and the Apple logo are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries. App Store is a service mark of Apple Inc. Google Play and the Google Play logo are trademarks of Google LLC.

Verify LegitScript Approval for www.futureclinic.com

About FutureClinic

FutureClinic is a platform that allows any U.S. based doctor to be a personal doctor through chat. Patients can then chat to their chosen doctors and receive healthcare from them when they need it for a one-off fee or a monthly subscription.