Your browser needs an update.

FutureClinic works in Chrome 111, Edge 111, Safari 16.4 and Firefox 128, or newer. Update your browser, or use the FutureClinic app.

Download on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

If you can't update, email help@futureclinic.com and we'll help.

A doctor answers

Is Hims worth it? What the subscription pays for, and what a doctor by message costs

Compare Hims finasteride (from $22/mo) and weight-loss subscriptions, partner pharmacies, and provider lists with a $40 FutureClinic doctor visit by message and prescriptions at the pharmacy you choose.

Dr. Usama Syed, MDReviewed November 2026 · 7 min read

The short answer

Hims is a strong option if you want a recurring monthly subscription that bundles partner pharmacies and specific compounded formulas, with oral finasteride starting at $22 per month as of October 2026. At FutureClinic, no subscription is required: you pay $40 for the best-fit physician (or a chosen doctor's listed price, typically $20 to $100) and receive a personalized plan with a live-recorded Human Signature from a licensed MD, DO or MBBS doctor. That doctor can also treat other problems in their specialty, and your prescriptions go to the pharmacy you choose.

Key facts

  • Hims requires a subscription for prescriptions (such as oral finasteride from $22/month, as of October 2026) and does not accept insurance; FutureClinic has no subscription required ($40 for the best-fit doctor, or typically $20 to $100 for a chosen doctor) and sends prescriptions to the pharmacy you choose, where you can use insurance with prior-authorization help.
  • In Hims's own published provider lists (updated July 23, 2026), by our count about half of the clinicians (out of about 1,459 listed providers) are nurse practitioners; FutureClinic's network of over 300 doctors consists exclusively of physicians with an MD, DO or MBBS degree across more than 60 specialties, and every care plan includes a live-recorded Human Signature.
  • On FutureClinic, you can message the same doctor time after time to build trust, try treatments together, and track progress; your doctor sells no medicine, earns nothing extra for any prescription or test, can help with other problems in their specialty, and every FutureClinic specialist you see works from your one medical record.

A Hims prescription requires a recurring subscription that bundles the online consult, provider messaging, and auto-refills from partner pharmacies, including proprietary compounded formulas, with oral finasteride starting at $22 per month as of October 2026. FutureClinic works without a required subscription: you pay $40 for the best-fit physician (or a chosen doctor's listed price, typically $20 to $100) and send prescriptions to the pharmacy you choose.

On FutureClinic, a specific doctor reads your whole case and answers with a written plan and a Human Signature, a short video or voice note recorded live for you. No form gets approved in bulk. You can message the same doctor time after time, however long in between, to build trust, try treatments together, and track progress: checking hair photos after months on finasteride, swapping an irritating acne cream, or adjusting a dose. That doctor can also treat other problems in their specialty, like eczema or rosacea, and every FutureClinic doctor you see works from one medical record.

How do Hims and FutureClinic compare?

FeatureHimsFutureClinic
Who treats youIndependent group (NPs, MDs, DOs)Over 300 doctors; physicians only (MD, DO or MBBS)
Price (as of October 2026)Finasteride from $22/mo; weight loss $39 month 1, then $149/mo + drug$40 best-fit doctor, or chosen doctor's price, typically $20 to $100
Subscription required?Yes, for prescriptionsNo subscription required
PharmacyPartner/owned pharmacies and LillyDirect; includes compounded drugsThe pharmacy you choose, including local and mail-order delivery
InsuranceNot accepted (HSA/FSA for weight loss)Cash-pay visit; insurance for drugs at your pharmacy, with prior-auth help
Scope of careConditions on the Hims menuOther problems in their specialty; every FutureClinic doctor you see works from your one medical record
How you reach themHims app/site (messaging, some video); no MCP or outside AI app foundfutureclinic.com, ChatGPT, Claude, Claude Code, Codex, Grok Bot, Meta Muse, Instinct
What you get backPlan and refills; reply time and keeping same clinician not statedPlan and Human Signature; replies typically within a few hours

What does Hims include, and who treats you?

Per the Hims help center, prescriptions require a subscription bundling the consult, messaging, and fills from partner pharmacies like XeCare Pharmacy and Apostrophe Pharmacy LLC. You must cancel at least 48 hours before your next order date; refunds are not guaranteed once processed. Hims clinicians belong to an independent group certified in family medicine, internal medicine, psychiatry, and more. In Hims's provider credential lists (updated July 23, 2026), our count of about 1,459 providers found roughly half are nurse practitioners: about 757 NPs, 538 MDs, and 165 DOs.

FutureClinic has over 300 doctors. They span more than 60 specialties, generalists and specialists alike. Every clinician is a state-licensed, background-checked physician with an MD, DO or MBBS degree, never a nurse practitioner or physician assistant. FutureClinic sells no medicine, and your doctor earns nothing extra for any prescription or test, prescribing any non-controlled brand or generic without a house formulary. Real care takes hours, not seconds: replies typically come within a few hours, almost always the same day or the next.

In September 2026, Hims launched AI-native care for weight-loss members, where an "AI clinical engine" gives non-clinical direction or escalates to a provider; Hims says, "The AI informs. The clinician decides. Always." At FutureClinic, we believe AI is a tool for doctors and the doctor is in charge of every case. Health problems have nuance needing one-to-one attention, and only an expert knows when an AI has made a mistake or headed to the wrong answer. Our AI works behind the scenes like a chief resident, gathering your history to confirm, and never gives medical advice by itself.

How does a year of Hims compare with a pharmacy fill?

A low monthly price assumes you stay subscribed to keep getting the medicine. FutureClinic has no subscription required: pay $40 for the best-fit doctor, or pick a chosen doctor at their listed price, typically $20 to $100. Most doctors also offer an optional membership, typically $25 to $100 a month, for unlimited care with that doctor, cancel any time.

As of October 2026, Hims offers oral finasteride from $22 per month ($264/year) and does not accept insurance. On FutureClinic, if your doctor decides it's right for you, one $40 visit can cover a six-month script for a stable medicine when the doctor judges it safe, sent to the pharmacy you choose. Per GoodRx as of October 2026 for 30 finasteride 1 mg tablets (zip 11201), a fill is $10.20 at Sam's Club, $16.99 at Costco, or $29.45 at CVS ($14.93 on GoodRx's table): about $202/year at Sam's Club or $284/year at Costco with two $40 visits, or less with insurance.

For weight loss, Hims's program fee as of October 2026 is $39 month one and $149/month thereafter ($1,678 in year one), plus brand GLP-1 cash prices from $149/month, and medicine requires a membership. Any licensed doctor can prescribe to NovoCare or LillyDirect without a membership: as of October 2026, self-pay prices start at $149/month for the 1.5 mg Wegovy pill via NovoCare or $299/month for the 2.5 mg Zepbound KwikPen or vial via LillyDirect. With commercial insurance, FutureClinic helps with prior authorizations, and Wegovy's savings card lowers eligible copays to as little as $25/month (up to $100/month savings).

Who does Hims suit better, and what does FutureClinic do instead?

Hims suits you better if you want its compounded oral hair loss tablet (finasteride, minoxidil, and vitamins; not FDA-approved), medicines bundled into a subscription, access in all 50 states, or controlled testosterone via live video. FutureClinic is message-only and does not prescribe controlled medicines (testosterone, stimulants, benzodiazepines, opioids, or phentermine). Instead, FutureClinic sends prescriptions to the pharmacy you choose, including mail-order pharmacies that deliver to your door, orders discounted labs, and offers message-based isotretinoin (Accutane) care, iPLEDGE included, from participating dermatologists.

The choice comes down to a straightforward question: do you actually want Hims's ongoing subscription, partner pharmacies, and proprietary compounded formulas, or did you just want your own expert doctor by message? If you want what Hims packages beyond the clinician, it is a strong option; if you came for a physician of your own without subscription commitments, FutureClinic gives you that doctor with nothing extra attached.

What have regulators alleged about Hims?

On July 29, 2026 (Utah announcement), the FTC, California, and Utah sued Hims & Hers, alleging unauthorized subscription billing, difficult cancellation, and sharing health data with advertisers; these are allegations, not findings. On September 9, 2025, the FDA sent a warning letter to Hims over website claims implying compounded semaglutide products were the same as FDA-approved Ozempic and Wegovy.

How do you message a FutureClinic doctor instead of subscribing to Hims?

FutureClinic operates in 33 states and Washington, D.C.: Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Montana, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming, and Washington, D.C. Your doctor must be licensed in your state; if you don't see yours, try anyway as coverage grows.

Start on futureclinic.com, or from the AI app you already use (ChatGPT, Claude, Claude Code, Codex, Grok Bot, Meta Muse or Instinct) at https://futureclinic.com/connect-your-ai, or send: Set up FutureClinic for me: read https://futureclinic.com/llms.txt

Set up FutureClinic for me: read https://futureclinic.com/llms.txt

Once it's connected, make sure you instruct your AI to use FutureClinic to help find you a doctor. Otherwise, it may not know that this is what you want.

FutureClinic is not for emergencies: call 911, or call or text 988 in a mental-health crisis.

Get care by message from a FutureClinic doctor. There are no appointments and no video calls. Start a visit instantly on the web or in the FutureClinic app. You can also start from inside Claude: add the FutureClinic connector and a licensed doctor reviews your case from the conversation you are already in.

Questions, answered.

Does Hims accept health insurance for visits or prescriptions?
No. According to the Hims help center, Hims does not accept insurance, though weight loss plans are eligible for HSA or FSA reimbursement. On FutureClinic, the doctor visit is cash-pay ($40 for the best-fit doctor, or typically $20 to $100 for a chosen doctor), and your prescription goes to the pharmacy you choose, where you can use your health insurance and receive help with prior authorizations.
Are Hims clinicians all medical doctors?
Hims contracts with an independent provider group that includes MDs, DOs, and nurse practitioners. In Hims's own published credential lists updated July 23, 2026, by our count about half of the clinicians (roughly 757 of the 1,459 listed providers) are nurse practitioners. On FutureClinic, every clinician is a licensed physician with an MD, DO or MBBS degree, never a nurse practitioner or physician assistant.
Can I get a prescription without a monthly subscription?
Hims requires an active subscription for all prescriptions, and you must cancel at least 48 hours before your next order date to avoid being billed. At FutureClinic, there is no subscription required: you can pay for a single visit, and for a stable medication your doctor can prescribe several months of refills at once when they judge it safe.
Can the same doctor help me with more than one health issue over time?
On Hims, prescriptions require a subscription, and Hims does not state a way to pick or keep the same clinician across categories. On FutureClinic, you can message the same doctor time after time to build trust, try treatments together, and track progress; that doctor can help with other problems in their specialty, and every FutureClinic specialist you see works from one medical record.

Sources

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
    Utah Sues Hims & HersUtah Department of Commerce
  10. 10
    Warning Letter: Hims & Hers Health Inc. dba HimsU.S. Food and Drug Administration
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13

Medically reviewed by Dr. Usama Syed, MD

Text a FutureClinic doctor today

Start a visit instantly. Dr. Usama Syed, MD or another FutureClinic doctor licensed in your state writes back with a plan.

Text a doctor

© 2026 FutureClinic (OpenClinic International, Inc)

Apple and the Apple logo are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries. App Store is a service mark of Apple Inc. Google Play and the Google Play logo are trademarks of Google LLC.

Verify LegitScript Approval for www.futureclinic.com

About FutureClinic

FutureClinic is a platform that allows any U.S. based doctor to be a personal doctor through chat. Patients can then chat to their chosen doctors and receive healthcare from them when they need it for a one-off fee or a monthly subscription.