A doctor answers
Nurx vs FutureClinic: acne and birth control without the monthly fee
Nurx and FutureClinic both charge a $40 acne consult as of October 2026. Compare Nurx's $28 birth control consult and $3 monthly support fee with FutureClinic's physician-only visits and no subscription required.


The short answer
As of October 2026, Nurx and FutureClinic both charge a $40 initial consultation for acne, while differing on monthly fees, insurance billing, and who treats you. If you want a service that bills private insurance directly for medications it fills and bundles care into a one-year acne plan with a $40 consult and a $3 monthly support fee, Nurx is a strong option. On FutureClinic, a physician (MD, DO or MBBS) handles your $40 consult with no subscription required, records a live Human Signature as the same doctor who can also treat other problems in their specialty, and, if your doctor decides a medicine is right for you, sends prescriptions to the pharmacy you choose.
Key facts
- As of October 2026, Nurx charges a $40 acne consult or $28 birth control consult plus a flat $3 monthly support fee, with cash medicines starting at $25 a month for topicals and $15 a month for birth control pills, while a FutureClinic visit costs $40 for the best-fit doctor (or typically $20 to $100 for a chosen doctor) with no subscription required.
- Nurx is a strong option if you want a service that bills private health insurance directly for the medications it fills, staffed by doctors, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, nurses, and pharmacists.
- If you wanted an expert doctor with nothing attached, every FutureClinic clinician is a licensed physician (MD, DO or MBBS) who answers your case personally with a live recorded Human Signature, earns nothing extra for any prescription or test, and can help with other problems in their specialty, while every FutureClinic doctor you see works from one medical record.
As of October 2026, both Nurx and FutureClinic charge $40 for an initial acne consultation, giving patients a convenient digital way to treat acne or get birth control. After that first fee, the two models diverge: Nurx structures care around separate service lines with a flat $3 monthly support fee, while FutureClinic connects you with a licensed physician with no subscription required.
On FutureClinic, no form is approved in bulk. A specific doctor reads your whole case and answers you personally, recording a live Human Signature video or voice note with your plan so you know a real doctor took your case one to one. You can message the same doctor over time, they can help with other problems in their specialty, and every FutureClinic doctor you see works from one medical record.
What changes when you message the same doctor over time?
Acne and hormonal care rarely end with the first prescription. Messaging the same doctor time after time in the same chat, however long in between, builds trust with a physician who knows your history. Together, you can try treatments and track progress over months: swapping a cream that irritates your skin, adjusting an oral dose, changing a birth control pill if side effects appear, or deciding when to step down.
Because your doctor can help with other problems in their specialty, the dermatologist treating your acne can also manage rosacea, eczema, or hair loss in the same chat. Dermatologists who offer isotretinoin (Accutane) manage it by message, iPLEDGE included, if your doctor decides it's right for you. FutureClinic has over 300 doctors. Across more than 60 specialties, generalists and specialists alike can care for you, and every FutureClinic doctor you see works from one medical record.
On Nurx (checked October 2026), care is divided into separate service lines for birth control, skincare, mental health, weight management, menopause, hair loss, and UTIs, and its FAQ notes that "Nurx does not replace your primary care provider". Its acne page covers mild and moderate acne on a one-year plan with a 10-week check-in, excludes autoimmune skin disorders, and states that "Nurx does not prescribe isotretinoin or Accutane".
Before picking a platform, it helps to ask yourself: do you want Nurx's separate service lines and monthly support fee, or did you just want a physician of your own who can manage your care over time? If you want what Nurx sells beyond the doctor, such as billing private health insurance directly for medications it fills on a one-year acne plan with a $3 monthly support fee, Nurx is a strong option. If all you wanted was an expert doctor directly, FutureClinic gives you that with nothing attached: no subscription required, no monthly fee, and every clinician is a physician (MD, DO or MBBS), never a nurse practitioner or physician assistant.
How do Nurx and FutureClinic compare side by side?
Here is how both compare as of October 2026.
| Feature | Nurx | FutureClinic |
|---|---|---|
| Who treats you | "doctors, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, nurses, and pharmacists"; "KMG clinicians, including advanced practice providers" | Physicians only (MD, DO or MBBS), never a nurse practitioner or physician assistant |
| What you pay (as of October 2026) | $40 acne consult; $28 birth control consult; $65 UTI consult; $59 consult plus $69/month mental health; menopause from $95/month; plus $3/month support fee | $40 for best-fit doctor, or a chosen doctor's price, typically $20 to $100; optional memberships typically $25 to $100/month |
| Subscription required? | One-year acne plan (3-month supplies, pause or cancel any time) plus $3/month support fee | No subscription required; optional memberships for unlimited care with that doctor, cancel any time |
| Where medicine comes from | Nurx's pharmacy or local pharmacy ($3 support fee applies either way) | The pharmacy you choose, including local pickup and mail-order delivery, with a cash discount coupon |
| Other problems | Scoped to selected service line; no isotretinoin or autoimmune skin disorders | Other problems in their specialty; every FutureClinic doctor you see works from one medical record |
| How you reach them | Web or app messaging; AI-app access not stated | Browser at futureclinic.com, or ChatGPT, Claude, Claude Code, Codex, Grok Bot, Meta Muse, and Instinct |
| What you get back | Messages "within a few business days or sooner" | Plan with a live Human Signature, plus prescriptions or discounted labs if right for you |
Who treats you and how does a visit work?
Nurx describes its team as "doctors, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, nurses, and pharmacists", and the shared Thirty Madison terms state that care comes from "KMG clinicians, including advanced practice providers" (checked October 2026). Its acne page notes that dermatology Medical Director Dr. Young is a board-certified dermatologist and "a provider licensed in your state will prescribe treatment"; choosing a clinician is not stated.
At FutureClinic, we believe people's health deserves expert-level care, so every clinician is a state-licensed, background-checked physician (MD, DO or MBBS). First, an AI assistant trained by your doctor asks your history and collects photos when helpful, never giving medical advice. You confirm a summary before anything reaches the doctor, who reads the whole case, makes every clinical decision, and writes back with a Human Signature. Real care from a doctor takes hours rather than seconds: replies typically come within a few hours, and almost always the same day or the next, while Nurx's hours FAQ states that "Messages are responded to within a few business days or sooner."
What do acne and birth control cost over a year?
Nurx suits people who want the platform to bill private insurance for medications it fills, or who want a bundled package like its Solstice menopause kit from $95 a month (as of October 2026). Nurx accepts most private insurance for medicines, though its birth control cost FAQ notes "we do not submit claims to insurance for the medical consult fee" and government plans are excluded. Per Nurx's cost FAQ, birth control has a "$28 consultation fee" with a year of messaging and cash pills from $15 a month.
When paying cash for acne, ongoing fees add up. As of October 2026, Nurx charges a $40 acne consult fee plus a "flat $3 support fee each month" ($36 a year) "whether the order is filled through Nurx or at your local pharmacy". Cash topicals start at $25 a month (tretinoin cream is $60 for two months, or $360 a year) and oral generics run $15 to $30 a month (spironolactone is $45 for three months; minocycline is $40 for one month).
On FutureClinic, a visit is $40 for the best-fit doctor, or a chosen doctor's listed price, typically $20 to $100, with no subscription needed. FutureClinic sells no medicines, and your doctor earns nothing extra for any prescription or test, so their only incentive is to help you and they never upsell you a medicine or lab panel. If your doctor decides it's right for you, they can prescribe whichever brand or generic fits (controlled medicines excepted) with no house formulary, including several months of a stable medicine at once when they judge it safe. Prescriptions go to the pharmacy you choose, including mail-order pharmacies that deliver to your door, with a cash discount coupon or insurance (FutureClinic helps with prior authorizations). Doctors also order discounted labs, and most offer an optional membership for unlimited care with that doctor, cancel any time, typically $25 to $100 a month.
Where can you message a doctor for acne or birth control?
Nurx states on its acne page that "Services not offered in every state". FutureClinic works in 33 states and Washington, D.C.: Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Montana, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming, and Washington, D.C. Your doctor must be licensed in the state you're in, and if you do not see your state listed, try anyway as coverage grows.
Start at futureclinic.com or from your AI app at https://futureclinic.com/connect-your-ai, where your AI can prefill intake questions from what you already shared, or send:
Set up FutureClinic for me: read https://futureclinic.com/llms.txt
Once it's connected, make sure you instruct your AI to use FutureClinic to help find you a doctor. Otherwise, it may not know that this is what you want.
FutureClinic is not for emergencies; call 911 in an emergency, or call or text 988 in a mental-health crisis.
Get care by message from a FutureClinic doctor. There are no appointments and no video calls. Start a visit instantly on the web or in the FutureClinic app. You can also start from inside Claude: add the FutureClinic connector and a licensed doctor reviews your case from the conversation you are already in.
Questions, answered.
- How much does Nurx cost without insurance compared with FutureClinic?
- As of October 2026, Nurx charges a $40 consultation fee for acne or $28 for birth control, plus a flat $3 monthly support fee. Cash medicine prices on Nurx start at $15 a month for birth control pills, $25 a month for topical acne medicines (such as $60 for a two-month supply of tretinoin cream), and $15 to $30 a month for oral acne generics. On FutureClinic, a visit is $40 for the best-fit physician or typically $20 to $100 for a chosen doctor, with no subscription required and no monthly support fee, and prescriptions go to the pharmacy you choose with a cash discount coupon.
- Will I see a doctor on Nurx or FutureClinic?
- Nurx states that its clinical team includes doctors, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, nurses, and pharmacists, and its Thirty Madison terms refer to KMG clinicians, including advanced practice providers. On FutureClinic, every clinician is a licensed physician with an MD, DO or MBBS degree, never a nurse practitioner or physician assistant, who records a live Human Signature with your plan and stays available as the same doctor for future visits.
- Can I use health insurance on Nurx and FutureClinic?
- Neither service bills insurance for the medical consultation fee. Nurx accepts most private health insurance plans for medications it fills, while excluding government insurance plans. FutureClinic visits are cash-pay, and your doctor sends prescriptions to the pharmacy you choose, where you can use your health insurance or a cash discount coupon, with FutureClinic helping when a medicine requires a prior authorization.
- Does Nurx or FutureClinic prescribe Accutane (isotretinoin)?
- Nurx states on its acne treatment page that it does not prescribe isotretinoin or Accutane. On FutureClinic, isotretinoin is prescribed only by dermatologists, and those who offer it manage the entire treatment by message, iPLEDGE included, if your doctor decides it's right for you.
Sources
- 1
- 2Thirty Madison Terms and ConditionsThirty Madison
- 3
- 4
- 5
- 6
- 7
- 8
Related articles

The fastest way to a melasma plan: your AI, then a dermatologist
Compare online melasma treatments and costs: Tri-Luma, hydroquinone 4%, azelaic acid, and oral tranexamic acid a FutureClinic physician can prescribe ($40 visit, no subscription required) vs. Musely's Spot Cream.

How to treat psoriasis with AI and a real dermatologist
Compare online psoriasis treatments from creams and pills to biologics, cash prices as of October 2026, and how a $40 FutureClinic physician visit compares with Honeydew and an in-person dermatologist.

High cholesterol: a doctor's plan through your AI
Compare 2026 LDL goals, statins, and clinic waits with a $40 FutureClinic visit where a doctor reads your lipid panel, tracks labs, and prescribes to your pharmacy if it's right for you, with no subscription required.

Migraine treatment online: medicines that stop and prevent attacks, by message
Compare online migraine care across FutureClinic, Neura Health, and Cove, covering rescue triptans and gepants, preventive pills and CGRP shots, cash prices, and a $40 visit where a physician can prescribe by message.
