A doctor answers
K Health closed its app. Here's where to text a doctor now
K Health ended its consumer app on December 31, 2025, and now runs inside partner health systems in eight states. On FutureClinic, you can message a licensed physician for $40 a visit with no subscription required.


The short answer
K Health discontinued its standalone consumer platform on December 31, 2025, and now runs inside partner health systems in eight states, making it a strong option if you want virtual care tied into one of those hospital networks. For direct messaging with a physician outside those networks, FutureClinic connects you with a licensed doctor for $40 (or a chosen doctor's listed price, typically $20 to $100) with no subscription required. You get the same doctor over time, a written plan with a live-recorded Human Signature video or voice note, and prescriptions sent to the pharmacy you choose if your doctor decides it's right for you.
Key facts
- K Health discontinued its direct-to-consumer platform as of December 31, 2025, and now operates through partner health systems in eight states, which makes it a strong option if you want care inside one of those hospital portals.
- On FutureClinic, a visit is $40 for the best-fit doctor (or a chosen doctor's listed price, typically $20 to $100) with no subscription required, and prescriptions go to the pharmacy you choose, including several months of a stable medication when safe, if your doctor decides it's right for you.
- Every FutureClinic clinician is a licensed physician (MD, DO or MBBS) who reads your case personally, replies with a live-recorded Human Signature, earns nothing extra for any prescription or test, and stays your same doctor over time, while every FutureClinic doctor you see works from one medical record.
K Health closed its standalone app for messaging a doctor, stating on its transition page that "K Health discontinued the K Health Platform as of December 31, 2025." Instead of running a consumer app, the company now provides hospital software described on its site (as of October 2026) as "AI-Enabled Care, Built for Leading Health Systems."
Many people used K Health for convenient digital care. With K Health now inside health-system portals, ask yourself: are you looking for a hospital portal and its requirements, or did you simply want one-to-one access to an expert physician? When you want virtual care inside a partner hospital system, K Health is a strong option. When your goal is talking directly with an expert doctor without extra strings attached, FutureClinic is built for that.
Every case on FutureClinic is read in full and answered by a specific physician, who includes a live-recorded video or voice note called a Human Signature with your plan. No form is approved in bulk. You can keep messaging the same doctor over time, bring up other issues in their specialty, and know every FutureClinic doctor you see works from your one medical record.
What happened to the K Health app, and who does it suit now?
Since K Health ended its consumer platform on December 31, 2025, its old telemedicine, pricing, FAQ, and App Store pages return 404 errors (as of October 2026). Per K Health's transition FAQ (checked October 2026), patients now reach it through partner health systems in California, Connecticut, Iowa, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Hampshire, New Jersey, and Wisconsin, such as "Hartford Health's HHC 24/7, powered by K Health." In March 2026, Hartford HealthCare and K Health also launched a limited beta of PatientGPT, logging "nearly 400 conversations to date" by May 2026, per the American Hospital Association.
K Health today suits patients of its partner health systems in those eight states who want virtual care tied into their hospital records. If you are outside those systems or want to message a physician directly one to one, FutureClinic fits instead.
How does FutureClinic compare with K Health today?
| What to compare | K Health (today) | FutureClinic |
|---|---|---|
| Who treats you | "board-certified doctors" and specialists (endocrinology, dermatology) via partners | Physicians only (MD, DO or MBBS), never a nurse practitioner or physician assistant |
| What you pay | No consumer price (ended Dec 31, 2025; checked October 2026) | $40 for best-fit doctor, or a chosen doctor's price, typically $20 to $100 |
| Subscription required? | Not applicable | No subscription required; optional memberships typically $25 to $100 a month |
| Where medicine comes from | Not stated | The pharmacy you choose, including local and mail-order pharmacies |
| What else they treat | Primary care and partner specialty care (endocrinology, dermatology) | Other problems in their specialty; every FutureClinic doctor you see works from one medical record |
| How you reach them | Partner portals in 8 states (modes not stated); no external AI-app access | By message on futureclinic.com or from ChatGPT, Claude, Claude Code, Codex, and Grok |
| What you get back | Virtual care via partner health system | Written plan with Human Signature; prescriptions or labs if your doctor decides it's right for you |
On FutureClinic, you can reach over 300 doctors. They practice across more than 60 specialties, including family medicine, internal medicine, and specialists such as dermatologists. We believe people's health deserves expert-level care, so every doctor here holds an MD, DO or MBBS degree and is state-licensed and background-checked, never a nurse practitioner or physician assistant.
Why does messaging the same doctor over time matter?
Messaging the same doctor in one chat, however long in between, builds trust and lets you try treatments together and track progress. In primary care, the same doctor can compare this month's thyroid or cholesterol lab result against last year's, or adjust a blood pressure dose step by step. In dermatology, if a cream for acne, rosacea, or eczema irritates your skin, you message the same dermatologist to swap it.
A physician you message here can also help with other problems in their specialty; for instance, a dermatologist managing hair loss can care for your eczema or acne too. And if you consult additional FutureClinic doctors in other fields, every FutureClinic doctor you see works from your one medical record.
How do doctor incentives and AI work on FutureClinic?
A FutureClinic doctor's only incentive is helping you. Because FutureClinic sells no drugs and your physician earns nothing extra for any prescription or test ordered, there is no reason to push labs or medications. Without a house formulary, your doctor can send any fitting brand or generic drug to the pharmacy you choose, if your doctor decides it's right for you.
In K Health's hospital rollout, HIT Consultant noted in March 2026 that PatientGPT "does not diagnose, and it does not prescribe," and instead lets users "instantly connect with a human clinician via HHC’s 24/7 virtual care network." At FutureClinic, we believe AI is a tool for doctors, while the human doctor stays in charge of every case. Because most medical issues carry nuance needing one-to-one care, it takes an expert physician to spot when software errs or heads toward a wrong conclusion. Thus, our AI operates behind the scenes like a chief resident and never gives medical advice by itself. Your doctor trains their assistant to gather your history, medications, and photos before you approve a summary. The doctor reads the whole chat and photos, makes every decision, and replies with your plan and a Human Signature. Because genuine physician review takes hours rather than seconds, replies arrive typically within a few hours, and almost always on the same day or the next.
What does a visit cost, and how do prescriptions work?
Each doctor sets their own prices, shown upfront (as of October 2026), with no subscription required. You can pay $40 to be routed to the best-fit doctor, or select a specific physician at their listed price, which is typically $20 to $100. Most physicians also offer an optional membership providing unlimited care with that doctor, cancel any time, priced typically at $25 to $100 a month; an initial visit fee counts toward it if you join after, and patients rarely hit the 100-response monthly legal cap.
You never have to stay subscribed to keep your medicine. A single FutureClinic consultation can cover several months of a stable medication when the physician judges that safe, if your doctor decides it's right for you. Any prescription goes to the pharmacy you choose, including local counters and mail-order pharmacies that ship to your home, alongside a discount coupon for the lowest cash price. You can also use pharmacy insurance, and FutureClinic helps get a prior authorization when needed. Doctors also order discounted labs, though they do not prescribe controlled medicines (stimulants, benzodiazepines, opioids, testosterone, and some sleep and weight-loss medicines, phentermine among them).
How can you message a FutureClinic doctor in your state after K Health's app closure?
Your physician must hold a license in your state, and FutureClinic operates in 33 states and Washington, D.C.: Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Montana, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming, and Washington, D.C. If you do not see your state, try anyway, as coverage grows.
You can start on futureclinic.com or reach a doctor from the AI app you already use, including ChatGPT, Claude, Claude Code, Codex, and Grok, by visiting futureclinic.com/connect-your-ai. Bringing context from your AI means you do not have to repeat your story from scratch, and any AI app that reads the web can follow this setup line:
Set up FutureClinic for me: read https://futureclinic.com/llms.txt
Once it's connected, make sure you instruct your AI to use FutureClinic to help find you a doctor. Otherwise, it may not know that this is what you want.
Use FutureClinic to help find me a doctor in my state to review my symptoms.
FutureClinic is not for emergencies; in an emergency call 911, or call or text 988 in a mental-health crisis.
Get care by message from a FutureClinic doctor. There are no appointments and no video calls. Start a visit instantly on the web or in the FutureClinic app. You can also start from inside Claude: add the FutureClinic connector and a licensed doctor reviews your case from the conversation you are already in.
Questions, answered.
- Why did the K Health app shut down?
- According to K Health's transition page, K Health discontinued its standalone consumer platform as of December 31, 2025. The company now provides AI-enabled virtual care software through partner health systems in eight listed states rather than operating a direct-to-consumer app.
- When is K Health a strong option today, and when does FutureClinic fit better?
- As of October 2026, K Health is a strong option if you are a patient in one of its partner health systems in California, Connecticut, Iowa, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Hampshire, New Jersey, or Wisconsin and want virtual care tied into your hospital portal. If all you wanted was to message an expert physician directly one to one with no hospital portal or subscription attached, FutureClinic lets you do that.
- How much does a FutureClinic visit cost compared to a monthly subscription?
- On FutureClinic, no subscription is required. You can pay $40 to be matched with the best-fit physician, or choose a specific doctor at their listed price, typically $20 to $100. If you want ongoing access to the same doctor, most doctors also offer an optional membership for unlimited care with that doctor (cancel any time, typically $25 to $100 a month).
- How do prescriptions and doctor incentives work on FutureClinic?
- FutureClinic sells no medicines, and your doctor earns nothing extra for any prescription or test. If your doctor decides it's right for you, they can send any appropriate brand or generic prescription to the pharmacy you choose, including local and mail-order pharmacies, and can prescribe several months of a stable medication at once when safe.
Sources
- 1K Health App Transition FAQK Health
- 2
- 3
- 4Hartford HealthCare Embraces AI With PatientGPTAmerican Hospital Association
Related articles

How to get tretinoin through your AI, no subscription required
Generic tretinoin 0.025% cream is $14.17 on Cost Plus Drugs, while Curology and Agency charge $59.90 to $130 every 60 days (as of October 2026). Compare those subscriptions with a $40 FutureClinic visit.

How to get rosacea treated by a dermatologist through your AI
See how a doctor treats rosacea by message through your AI app for a $40 FutureClinic visit, with no subscription required. Compare prescription creams and pills, cash prices, Honeydew and Curology.

Hypothyroidism care through your AI: labs, medicine and a doctor by message
Hypothyroidism care by message covers TSH labs, levothyroxine dosing, and how Paloma Health's $240/year membership compares with a $40 FutureClinic visit.

Low iron: how to get tested and treated through your AI
Compare 2026 ASH ferritin cutoffs, daily vs. alternate-day oral iron ($7.16 on GoodRx as of October 2026), and office visits with a $40 FutureClinic physician visit for discounted iron lab orders by message.
