Your browser needs an update.

FutureClinic works in Chrome 111, Edge 111, Safari 16.4 and Firefox 128, or newer. Update your browser, or use the FutureClinic app.

Download on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

If you can't update, email help@futureclinic.com and we'll help.

A doctor answers

How much of an AI doctor's work does a real doctor check?

Compare doctor oversight at Doctronic, August, Nolla, Lotus, and FutureClinic: 5% to 10% Utah spot-checks, two-minute sign-offs, and 20,000-patient panels.

Dr. Usama Syed, MDReviewed November 2026 · 7 min read

The short answer

Outside Utah's pilots, Lotus and Nolla say a clinician approves every prescription, though Lotus Health AI's CEO has described two-minute doctor sign-offs and a 20,000-patient panel per doctor, while Utah filings from Doctronic, August, and Nolla Health move in later stages to retrospective physician spot-checks of 5% to 10% of prescriptions. If you want free instant AI triage or automated pilot refills, those services are a strong option, whereas FutureClinic connects you directly with a specific physician who reads your whole case, records a live Human Signature video or voice note, and stays with you over time with nothing attached.

Key facts

  • In Utah's AI prescription pilots, later stages move from 100% human authorization to physician spot-checks of 5% of decisions at August, 5% to 10% of renewals monthly at Doctronic, and at least 10% of prescriptions monthly after 500 patients at Nolla Health (as of October 2026), while Lotus Health AI CEO KJ Dhaliwal said in a clip Lotus posted on YouTube in February 2026 that one doctor has a 20,000-patient panel, and in a July 2026 podcast that the doctor's side of a case takes about two minutes.
  • On FutureClinic, a specific physician (MD, DO or MBBS) across more than 60 specialties reads your whole case and answers with a live recorded Human Signature video or voice note, and every FutureClinic doctor you see works from one medical record.
  • On FutureClinic, you can message the same doctor over time with no subscription required ($40 for the best-fit doctor, or typically $20 to $100 for a chosen doctor), and your doctor sells no medicine, earns nothing extra for any prescription or test, and can prescribe any fitting brand or generic to the pharmacy you choose.

State filings, a company study, and founder interviews as of October 2026 show that human physician oversight on AI doctor apps for a rash, refill, or lingering symptom ranges from two-minute clinician sign-offs to planned 5% to 10% retrospective spot-checks.

On FutureClinic, a specific doctor reads your whole case and answers with a Human Signature: a live video or voice note recorded for you. No form is approved in bulk. You can message the same doctor over time in the same chat and get help with other problems in their specialty, like a dermatologist treating both acne and eczema, while every FutureClinic doctor you see works from one medical record.

We believe AI is a tool for doctors, with the doctor in charge of every case. Most health problems have nuance and need one-to-one attention, and only an expert can tell when an AI has made a mistake or is heading to the wrong answer. FutureClinic's AI works behind the scenes like a chief resident to gather your history and organize your case, never giving medical advice by itself.

What do Utah's AI prescription filings say?

In Utah's regulatory sandbox as of October 2026, Doctronic's agreement for routine non-controlled refills requires practitioner authorization for every Phase 1 request, then moves to a "Monthly review of 5-10% of all processed renewals" (terms allow refills "whether or not that physician reviews an individual renewal"). Co-CEO Dr. Adam Oskowitz told Health Tech Nerds (January 7, 2026, 10:05, YouTube's automatic captions) that next-phase doctors will independently review AI renewal decisions for 10% of patients, and CMO Dr. Byron Crowe told Offcall (March 12, 2026, 18:03, YouTube's automatic captions) the final stage shifts over time to full autonomy with after-the-fact review.

August's Utah refill pilot ($4 per refill as of October 2026; approved October 2, 2026, not started) reviews the first 250 refills beforehand; at its end state, "physicians spot-check 5% of decisions". Nolla Health's Utah acne pilot (active October 5, 2026; $4.99/month, normally $9.99 as of October 2026) has two physicians approve each prescription for the first 100 patients, lets AI prescribe directly up to 500 patients, and then has physicians "review a sample of at least 10% of prescriptions every month". CEO Luis Wenus said in a Fox News interview Nolla posted on YouTube (October 12, 2026, 2:41, YouTube's automatic captions) that after 100 cases, the AI prescribes autonomously while doctors review retroactively.

How many patients does one doctor oversee?

Outside Utah's pilots, Lotus and Nolla say a clinician approves every prescription. Lotus Health AI's download page states "Lotus uses medical AI to make doctors 10x more productive". On Lotus's YouTube channel (February 12, 2026, 0:22, YouTube's automatic captions), founder and CEO KJ Dhaliwal stated as a current fact that with a 10x gain, one doctor has a 20,000-patient panel. On Boundless Life (July 16, 2026, 18:27, 20:41), he said "the physician is there to review what the AI is coming up with and sign off on it," which "on the doctor's side, happens within about two minutes." On Iron Foundry (October 14, 2026, 42:07), asked if doctors are needed only for legal approval, Dhaliwal said, "mostly from a patient safety perspective and a regulatory perspective, yes, that's why the physician is there," adding it brings trust and humanity. In Lotus's study (1,678 AI actions, 244 patients), "clinicians approved 98% of proposals that reached a final non-pending verdict", and "Prescriptions had the highest rejection rate at 10.2%".

Counsel Health CEO Dr. Muthu Alagappan told Fitt Insider (January 26, 2026, 7:09 to 7:48, YouTube's automatic captions) that Counsel doctors currently see 15 to 20-plus patients hourly using software where they approve or deny a plan in one click, targeting single-click visits. On Offcall (September 3, 2026, 32:17, YouTube's automatic captions), Counsel CMO Dr. Rishi Khakhkhar described a 2036 target of 100,000-person panels, and a16z partner Julie Yoo (a Counsel investor) wrote on Substack (September 18, 2025), naming no company, that AI-native care is "enabling effective panel sizes of 10,000+ patients per doctor." In a March 25, 2026 post, Doctronic co-CEOs Matt Pavelle and Dr. Adam Oskowitz wrote their clinic runs "6-7x more efficiently than a traditional practice, and we expect to hit 10x by year-end," adding that requiring "'only with a physician reviewing every single case,' then we've decided the physician shortage is permanent and acceptable. We don't accept that."

How do the five services compare?

FeatureDoctronicAugustNollaLotusFutureClinic
Clinicians"board-certified physicians""board-certified MD physicians"; "MDI clinician" (terms)"licensed U.S. medical provider" (terms allow NPs)"board-certified physicians"; "state-licensed clinicians"Physicians only (MD, DO or MBBS), never an NP or PA
Doctor reviewPaid visits; Utah refills: 100% Phase 1, 5-10% laterPaid consults; Utah end state: 5% spot-checkOutside Utah: 100%; Utah after 500: 10%+ monthlyApproves every prescriptionSpecific doctor reads every case
Price (as of October 2026)AI free; visit $39 ($40 one page) or insurance; Utah refills freeAI free; consult $39 ($19 members); membership $29-$39/mo; Utah refills $4Review $39; Derm from $9.99/mo ($4.99 Utah); compounded $49.99Free$40 best-fit doctor, or chosen doctor's price, typically $20 to $100
Subscription?No subscription requiredNo for $39 consultYes for Derm; not stated for $39 reviewNo subscription requiredNo subscription required (optional membership typically $25-$100/mo)
Medicine sourceNot statedNot statedCompounded treatments ($49.99, home delivery); not stated otherwiseNot statedThe pharmacy you choose, including mail-order
Other carePrimary, urgent, pediatrics; no specialistsPrimary care; no specialistsSkin focus, beta general care; no live specialistsPrimary care; specialties not statedOther problems in their specialty; every doctor you see works from one medical record
AccessVideo; no MCP serverChat; no MCP server (US)Message; no MCP serveriOS chat; no MCP serverfutureclinic.com or your AI app via MCP server
OutputAI probabilities; ~15-min video waitInstant AI; clinician chatAI diagnosis; clinician messageClinician-approved AI plan (median 7.6h)Written plan plus live Human Signature

Do you want an AI service, or a doctor one-to-one?

If you want what these companies offer beyond the doctor, they are a strong option: Doctronic suits people seeking free AI answers in seconds, a video call in about 15 minutes, or insurance billing across 50 states; Lotus Health AI fits California iOS users wanting free primary care with clinician sign-off; August suits people wanting a $39 chat consult ($19 for members as of October 2026); and Nolla Health fits Utah adults wanting its $4.99 monthly acne pilot.

If all you wanted was an expert doctor directly, FutureClinic has over 300 doctors. They cover more than 60 specialties, including generalists and specialists, and every physician holds an MD, DO or MBBS degree, never a nurse practitioner or physician assistant. Because a physician reads your case and records a Human Signature, replies typically arrive within a few hours, and almost always the same day or the next.

Messaging the same doctor time after time, however long in between, lets you build trust, try treatments together, and track progress over months: adjusting a medication dose, swapping a cream that irritates your skin, reading this month's lab result against last year's, or deciding when to step up or down. Your doctor's only incentive is to help you. FutureClinic sells no medicine, and your doctor earns nothing extra for any prescription or test. You never have to stay subscribed to keep your medicine, and if your doctor decides it's right for you, they can prescribe whichever brand or generic fits you (controlled medicines excepted) to the pharmacy you choose, including mail-order delivery.

Visits cost $40 for the best-fit doctor, or a chosen doctor's listed price, typically $20 to $100, with no subscription required. One FutureClinic visit can cover several months of a stable medication when the doctor judges it safe, where insurance or a discount coupon may apply at the pharmacy, and FutureClinic helps with prior authorizations. Most doctors also offer an optional membership (typically $25 to $100/month) for unlimited care with that doctor, cancel any time.

FutureClinic works in 33 states and Washington, D.C.: Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Montana, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming, and Washington, D.C. Your doctor must be licensed in your state; if yours is not listed, try anyway. Start at futureclinic.com or from ChatGPT, Claude, Claude Code, Codex, Grok Bot, Meta Muse, or Instinct at https://futureclinic.com/connect-your-ai:

Set up FutureClinic for me: read https://futureclinic.com/llms.txt

Once it's connected, make sure you instruct your AI to use FutureClinic to help find you a doctor. Otherwise, it may not know that this is what you want. FutureClinic is not for emergencies: call 911, or call or text 988 in a mental-health crisis.

Get care by message from a FutureClinic doctor. There are no appointments and no video calls. Start a visit instantly on the web or in the FutureClinic app. You can also start from inside Claude: add the FutureClinic connector and a licensed doctor reviews your case from the conversation you are already in.

Questions, answered.

Does a doctor check every AI prescription?
Outside Utah's pilots, Lotus and Nolla say a clinician approves every prescription. In Utah's pilots, Doctronic, August, and Nolla plan to move after early stages to doctors reviewing 5% to 10% or more of cases.
How long do clinicians spend reviewing AI-drafted plans on AI doctor apps?
It depends on the service. Lotus Health AI CEO KJ Dhaliwal said on the Boundless Life podcast in July 2026 that a physician's review and sign-off on its AI's work takes about two minutes, while Counsel Health CEO Dr. Muthu Alagappan said on the Fitt Insider podcast in January 2026 (YouTube's automatic captions) that Counsel doctors can see 15 to 20 or more patients per hour by approving or denying AI-served plans in a single click.
How does FutureClinic use AI differently from AI doctor apps?
We believe AI is a tool for doctors and that a human physician should be in charge of every case. On FutureClinic, the AI works behind the scenes like a chief resident to ask intake questions and organize your history, never giving medical advice by itself, and a licensed physician (MD, DO or MBBS) reads your whole case and replies with a live recorded Human Signature video or voice note.
What does a FutureClinic visit cost and do I need a subscription?
A visit on FutureClinic is $40 for the best-fit doctor, or you can pick a specific doctor at their listed price, typically $20 to $100, with no subscription required. Most doctors also offer an optional membership, typically $25 to $100 a month, for unlimited care with that doctor, cancel any time.

Sources

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15
  16. 16

Medically reviewed by Dr. Usama Syed, MD

Text a FutureClinic doctor today

Start a visit instantly. Dr. Usama Syed, MD or another FutureClinic doctor licensed in your state writes back with a plan.

Text a doctor

© 2026 FutureClinic (OpenClinic International, Inc)

Apple and the Apple logo are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries. App Store is a service mark of Apple Inc. Google Play and the Google Play logo are trademarks of Google LLC.

Verify LegitScript Approval for www.futureclinic.com

About FutureClinic

FutureClinic is a platform that allows any U.S. based doctor to be a personal doctor through chat. Patients can then chat to their chosen doctors and receive healthcare from them when they need it for a one-off fee or a monthly subscription.