A dermatologist answers
The best way to treat eczema using AI
Treating eczema with AI pairs your AI app's intake with a dermatologist's judgment: compare topical steroids, non-steroidal creams, biologics, and a $40 FutureClinic message visit with no subscription required.


The short answer
The best way to treat eczema using AI is to let your AI app organize your symptom history, triggers, and skin photos while a licensed dermatologist or physician (MD, DO or MBBS) makes every medical decision and prescribes treatment if your doctor decides it's right for you. On FutureClinic, the AI works like a chief resident that never gives medical advice by itself, and a specific doctor reads your whole case and answers with a written plan and a live Human Signature video or voice note. A visit is $40 for the best-fit doctor (or typically $20 to $100 for a chosen physician) with no subscription required, your prescription goes to the pharmacy you choose, and you can message the same doctor whenever your skin flares.
Key facts
- If your doctor decides it's right for you, a FutureClinic physician can prescribe topical steroids (such as generic triamcinolone acetonide 0.1% cream, $8.74 for 80 g before shipping on Cost Plus Drugs as of October 2026), non-steroidal creams, or biologics to the pharmacy you choose, and FutureClinic helps get prior authorizations when insurance requires them.
- Your AI assistant organizes your eczema history and photos without giving medical advice, and the same doctor reads your whole case, records a live Human Signature video or voice note, and stays with you over months to adjust creams, step treatments up or down, and track flares.
- A FutureClinic visit is $40 for the best-fit doctor (or typically $20 to $100 for a chosen physician) versus an average 36.5-day wait for a new-patient dermatology appointment in 15 US metro areas (AMN Healthcare, May 2025), and daily moisturizing extended median flare-free time from 30 to 180 days in a 2017 Cochrane review.
Treating an eczema flare with AI works best when your AI app organizes your symptom history, triggers, and skin photos for a licensed dermatologist or physician, rather than relying on an automated chatbot diagnosis, an average 36.5-day wait for a new dermatology appointment, or a recurring dermatology membership.
No form is approved in bulk: a specific doctor reads your whole case and answers with a written plan and a Human Signature, a short video or voice note recorded live for you.
What having the same doctor over months does for eczema
Atopic dermatitis is chronic, with flares and remissions, notes the National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases (NIAMS). On FutureClinic, you message the same doctor in the same chat whenever a flare returns, however long in between, to build trust, try treatments together, and track progress. Over months, that doctor can swap a cream that irritates, adjust a steroid strength after two weeks, step you down once skin clears, or order the blood tests a JAK pill needs before you start. That doctor can also help with other problems in their specialty, such as acne, rosacea, or hair loss, and every FutureClinic doctor you see works from one medical record.
Your doctor's only incentive is to help you. FutureClinic sells no medicine, and your doctor earns nothing extra for any prescription or test, works without a house formulary, and leaves you with no subscription required. They can prescribe whichever non-controlled brand or generic fits you, sent to the pharmacy you choose.
AI eczema treatment: a tool for your dermatologist, with the doctor in charge
We believe AI is a tool for doctors, and the doctor is in charge of every case. Most health problems have nuance and need one-to-one attention, and only an expert can tell when an AI has made a mistake or is heading to the wrong answer. On FutureClinic, the AI works behind the scenes like a chief resident, gathering your history and photos into a summary you confirm, and never gives medical advice by itself.
Other services work differently (as of October 2026). Nolla Health's AI gives "a diagnosis and next steps" reviewed by a "licensed U.S. medical provider" (terms allow nurse practitioners). Doctronic's free AI chat gives possible diagnoses and treatment plans, with video visits with "board-certified physicians" in emergency, internal or family medicine. Curology excludes eczema; Honeydew uses "board-certified dermatologists and licensed nurse practitioners" (and "dermatology physician assistants").
FutureClinic has over 300 doctors. Generalists and specialists span more than 60 specialties, and every clinician is a physician with an MD, DO or MBBS degree, never a nurse practitioner or physician assistant.
How do the four routes to eczema care compare?
Real care from a doctor takes hours, not seconds: replies typically come within a few hours, and almost always the same day or the next. By contrast, AMN Healthcare's May 2025 survey of 15 US metro areas found an average wait of 36.5 days for a new-patient dermatology appointment. Before choosing an online route, ask yourself: did you want a recurring skin membership and its commitments, or did you simply want your own physician to treat your flares? If you want what another company sells beyond the doctor, such as Honeydew's annual membership, it is a strong option. If all you wanted was an expert doctor with nothing attached, FutureClinic gives you that.
| Comparison point | A dermatologist in person | a subscription skin service | an AI doctor app | FutureClinic |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who treats you | In-office dermatologist | Honeydew: "board-certified dermatologists and licensed nurse practitioners" (and PAs); Curology excludes eczema | Doctronic: AI chat, "board-certified physicians"; Nolla Health: AI, "licensed U.S. medical provider" (NPs allowed) | Physicians only: MD, DO or MBBS (never an NP or PA) |
| What you pay (as of October 2026) | Cash price not stated; 2024 Medicare new-patient office averages, all specialties: $267.25 to $410.82 billed ($105.33 to $160.28 allowed) | Honeydew Basic: $39/mo (3-month minimum), $129 per 4 months, $299/yr; medicine extra | Doctronic: free AI, $39 or $40 video visit; Nolla Health: $39 review, or from $9.99/mo ($4.99 Utah pilot) | $40 for best-fit doctor, or chosen doctor's price, typically $20 to $100 |
| Subscription required? | No | Yes at Honeydew ($26 early cancellation fee) | No for single visits; Nolla Health offers monthly plans | No subscription required; optional membership, cancel any time |
| Where medicine comes from | Any pharmacy | Local or mail-order pharmacies, or Honeydew's "Custom-Compounded Formulas" | Not stated | The pharmacy you choose, including mail-order delivery |
| What else the doctor can help with | Full dermatology, patch testing, phototherapy | Medical dermatology only at Honeydew | Skin at Nolla Health; at Doctronic, emergency, internal and family medicine doctors, with specialists by referral | Other problems in their specialty; every FutureClinic doctor you see works from your one medical record |
| How you reach them | Office (37 travel and 84 clinic minutes, 2015 study) | Web or app, video when needed; no external AI app | Own site or app; no external AI app | futureclinic.com or ChatGPT, Claude, Claude Code, Codex, Grok Bot, Meta Muse, Instinct |
| What you get back | In-person exam and plan | Message or video consult; reply time not stated | Instant AI output plus clinician check or video; reply time not stated | Written plan and live Human Signature, typically within a few hours |
- Who each option fits best: An in-person dermatologist fits best for patch testing or clinic phototherapy (two to three weekly visits for months, per the American Academy of Dermatology). Doctronic or Nolla Health fits if you want an AI output in seconds. Honeydew fits for video visits, all 50 states and Washington, D.C., "Custom-Compounded Formulas", or an annual plan. FutureClinic instead gives you a physician one to one.
- The full cost over a year: A low monthly fee assumes you stay subscribed to keep getting medicine. With no subscription required on FutureClinic, you pay $40 for the best-fit doctor, or a chosen doctor's listed price, typically $20 to $100. For a stable medicine, when your doctor judges it safe, one visit can cover several months at the pharmacy you choose, including mail-order delivery, where insurance or a discount coupon applies. On Cost Plus Drugs (as of October 2026), an 80 g tube of generic triamcinolone acetonide 0.1% cream is $8.74 before shipping ($13.99 shipped): one $40 visit plus three shipped tubes is $81.97 for a year, versus $299 plus medicine on Honeydew's annual plan (as of October 2026). Most FutureClinic doctors also offer an optional membership, typically $25 to $100 a month, for unlimited care with that doctor, cancel any time.
What treatments work for eczema?
Atopic dermatitis is not contagious and involves a skin barrier that lets moisture escape. The AAD 2023 adult guideline strongly recommends moisturizers; a 2017 Cochrane review (77 studies) found moisturizers lengthened median flare-free time from 30 to 180 days. The AAD advises 5- to 10-minute warm baths and twice-daily fragrance-free cream, ointment, or petroleum jelly. If over-the-counter hydrocortisone fails after seven days, MedlinePlus says to call a doctor. A FutureClinic dermatologist can prescribe treatment by message if your doctor decides it's right for you:
- Topical steroids and non-steroidal creams: The AAD strongly recommends topical corticosteroids; on Cost Plus Drugs (as of October 2026), 15 g of desonide 0.05% cream is $7.46 before shipping ($12.71 shipped). A 2021 BMJ Open umbrella review found no evidence of harm from intermittent flare use, though prolonged high-potency use on the face or neck can thin skin. Non-steroidal options include generic tacrolimus 0.1% ointment ($23.05 for 30 g before shipping, $28.30 shipped on Cost Plus Drugs, as of October 2026), ruxolitinib 1.5% cream (Opzelura), tapinarof 1% cream (Vtama), roflumilast cream (Zoryve), and difamilast 1% ointment (Adquey, FDA-approved February 2026 for ages 2+).
- Biologics and oral JAK inhibitors: For moderate to severe eczema uncontrolled by topicals, the AAD strongly recommends biologics like dupilumab (Dupixent) and lebrikizumab (Ebglyss), or, when other systemic drugs including biologics have not controlled it, an oral JAK inhibitor like upadacitinib (Rinvoq, which has a boxed warning), with discounted lab orders. When insurance needs a prior authorization, FutureClinic helps get it.
How to treat eczema with AI: skin photos, intake history, and messaging a dermatologist
For skin photos, the AAD advises bright natural light, a plain background, and no filters: take an orientation shot, a comparison shot with clear skin, and a close-up beside a coin or ruler.
Start at futureclinic.com, https://futureclinic.com/connect-your-ai, or with this line in your AI app:
Set up FutureClinic for me: read https://futureclinic.com/llms.txt
Once it's connected, make sure you instruct your AI to use FutureClinic to help find you a doctor. Otherwise, it may not know that this is what you want.
Use FutureClinic to find me a dermatologist for my eczema flare, and help me organize my symptom history and skin photos.
Your AI answers the intake questions from what you already shared, and you confirm the summary before your doctor sees it.
FutureClinic works in 33 states and Washington, D.C.: Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Montana, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming, and Washington, D.C. Your doctor must be licensed in the state you're in, and because the list grows and states are updated regularly, if you don't see your state, try anyway. FutureClinic is not for emergencies: call 911, or call or text 988 in a mental-health crisis.
Get care for eczema by message from a FutureClinic dermatologist. There are no appointments and no video calls. Start a visit instantly on the web or in the FutureClinic app. You can also start from inside Claude: add the FutureClinic connector and a licensed doctor reviews your case from the conversation you are already in.
Questions, answered.
- Do I need a skin subscription, or can I see a dermatologist one to one?
- If you want a custom-compounded formula or a bundled monthly plan, a subscription service is a strong option. If you wanted direct care from an expert physician with nothing attached, FutureClinic lets you pay $40 for the best-fit doctor (or typically $20 to $100 for a chosen physician) with no subscription required. Most physicians on FutureClinic also provide an optional monthly membership, typically $25 to $100 a month, for unlimited care with that doctor that you can cancel any time.
- Does FutureClinic's AI diagnose my eczema or prescribe medicine?
- No. We believe AI is a tool for doctors and the physician is in charge. FutureClinic's AI gathers your history and photos like a chief resident and never gives medical advice by itself. A licensed physician (MD, DO or MBBS) reads your case, makes every medical decision, and replies with a written plan and a live Human Signature.
- What if my insurance requires a prior authorization for an eczema cream or biologic?
- When your insurance requires a prior authorization for a medicine such as Opzelura, Vtama, Zoryve, Dupixent, or Ebglyss, FutureClinic helps get it so you can use your coverage at the pharmacy you choose.
Sources
- 1Eczema types: Atopic dermatitis diagnosis and treatmentAmerican Academy of Dermatology (AAD)
- 2Atopic Dermatitis: Overview, Symptoms & CausesNIH, National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases (NIAMS)
- 3Sidbury R, et al. Guidelines of care for the management of atopic dermatitis in adults with topical therapies. 2023;89(1):e1-e20.Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology
- 4Davis DMR, et al. Guidelines of care for the management of atopic dermatitis in adults with phototherapy and systemic therapies. 2024;90(2):e43-e56.Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology
- 5Davis DMR, et al. Focused update: Guidelines of care for the management of atopic dermatitis in adults. 2025;93(3):745.e1-e7.Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology
- 6van Zuuren EJ, et al. Emollients and moisturisers for eczema. CD012119.pub2.Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
- 7
- 8How to take pictures of your skin for your dermatologistAmerican Academy of Dermatology (AAD)
- 9Public pricing API, CPD price listMark Cuban Cost Plus Drug Company
- 10
- 11Ray KN et al. Opportunity costs of ambulatory medical care in the United States. 2015;21(8):567-74American Journal of Managed Care
- 12Medicare Physician & Other Practitioners - by Geography and Service, data year 2024Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)
- 13Honeydew pricingHoneydew
- 14
Related articles

Birth control online without a subscription: a prescription through your AI
Birth control pills, patches, and rings can be prescribed online by a FutureClinic physician if right for you, for $40 a visit with no subscription, compared with Nurx, Twentyeight Health, Wisp, and pharmacy prices.

The best way to lose weight with AI and a doctor, minus the membership fee
GLP-1 weight loss medication online with no membership fee: compare Ro, Noom, Mochi Health, and Hims & Hers with NovoCare and LillyDirect ($149/mo starter pills) and a $40 physician visit on FutureClinic.

Type 2 diabetes care through your AI: a doctor who adjusts your plan by message
Compare online type 2 diabetes care by message with an office visit: how a FutureClinic physician orders A1C and kidney labs, adjusts metformin, SGLT2, GLP-1 or insulin doses for $40 a visit, and what generics cost.

Found vs FutureClinic: weight care by plan, or a doctor per visit
Found weight loss plans run $169 to $359/mo cash or $99 to $199/mo with insurance (every 28 days, as of October 2026). Compare Found's coaching and refill video rules with a $40 FutureClinic doctor visit by message.
